whats best image file format

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• whats best image file format

Some advice for an absolute novice please. Is it best to use jpeg of gif images? Which will load quicker and have better quality at the same time? What is the resonable average time for a home page to load allowing for those still with dial up?
    Thanks in advance!

Re: whats best image file format

1- jpeg generally has better quality and compression (smaller file)

2-It is generally best to keep the graphics tight. By that I mean small file size (few kb each) and not to populate the page with too many. This will go a long way in providing a quick load time for all users.

Use a picture optimizer to get the best results. I have cable as an ISP and it is pretty fast. However- I have signed up with a free dial-up ISP to test my pages for load times.

Andy
    PHP- is a blast!

Comment

I am finding that in hand painted illustration type photos, GIF is working much better for quality than Jpeg. But my photo images look better as Jpegs. So I think it has to do with what type of "photo" or graphic you are using. You will have to try it several ways to see what looks best to you.

Being a dialup user myself, (not by choice!) your customers will greatly appreciate if you keep your pages as fast as possible....i just won't wait for slow pages unless I know what I'm waiting for. I do not know the "size" number yet, but I would like to know, also, I'm just beginning to build my pages now that my illustrations are ready to go.
      still working on website!

Comment

Hi there,

You know, I guess I never really thought about dial-up as I was building my website.

I was wondering if anyone here with dial-up would give my site a click and let me know if it loads too slow.

If no on can, that's ok too.

I'm just a bit worried now that it was brought up.

Thanks,
        Tom
        http://www.local1166.us
        http://local1166.us

Comment