Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help, Have a question about search engines

Hello
    Very keen to sign up for vodahost, but I am new to it all, and very confused!!

I have already downloaded and made pages for my site with Bluevoda web builder, and I love it!!

I have also registered a domain name, once I have signed up to be hosted with you, I am confused as to what happens next....

How do I get on the search engines???, and do I have to pay to be on Google or Yahoo etc.

To those of you who understand it all, I am sure this seems like a stupid question, but it has been a little too much information all at once for me.

I NEED HELP.
    Can someone help me understand this please.

Many thanks in advance.
    A very grateful newbie.

Regards
    Marie

Re: Please Help, Have a question about search engines

It is not a stupid question but there is no easy answer either. The search engines are always "spidering" the internet world looking for everything out there. Links to a site - even in posts here - will be found and take the se's to your site. They will index it - and the more links and ways they find your site, the better they will rank it. They will also look at the site internally and rank many things on it - including what it's about, how relevant it is, if it sounds authoritative, and even spelling and grammar. Everything about it counts or detracts. Then when people use search terms, they remember everything they've spidered and pull up what they believe are the most relevant sites for the terms.

Now, for some se's how long your site has been up will also factor into whether or not they give you an entry on the early pages in the search - or back in later pages. Remember, there will be thousands, sometimes millions of sites that will come up, in some way, on all searches.