Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Problem with meta tag title. Search results poor.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Problem with meta tag title. Search results poor.

Hi,

My site name is www.siroccos.net. My client ID is 10683. I own an italian restaurant in Ireland and have put all key words in meta tags on each "page properties". When I do a search with only the key word "siroccos", the site comes up straight away. if I search results for example in Google and "ireland only", there are no results shown. Also if I search siroccos restaurant, the seach does not show any results.

I am a complete novice at this, but have checked my vodahits account and it says that the TITLE does not contain restaurant. As far as I can see, every title I have put everywhere possible contains the word restaurant.

HELP

Paula

Re: Problem with meta tag title. Search results poor.

It takes a long time to come up organically in the searches for your terms BUT - you have not put a title at all on your home page - it simply says index. Those HAVE to be great titles that fit each page - not the same on them all.

Your home page has NO text - nothing for the se's to find or ever list you - so don't expect to move up the rankings any time soon. The entire home page is a picture - and it doesn't even have any alt tags.

Meta tags are meant to help se's - but they pretty much ignore the keyword meta - except to maybe consider penalizing spammers - And the rule is to not put anything in the meta keywords that isn't on the page. Since you have no text on your page, you really shouldn't have anything in those keywords.

I hope you're understanding this in the vein it's meant. If you want the se's to find you- you need to re-think the design of your site.

Then, adjust your title, meta key words and description - so each fits each page - do not just copy them all onto every page. Every page is different and should be treated as such.