Home page showing gibberish/text

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Home page showing gibberish/text

I have not been able to publish directly from my hard drive, but was able to upload my files through my control panel. Originally, only the directory appeared when I went to my URL. I went back and saved my index page with a .html, which I didn't realize I needed (I did realize I needed this on all of my other pages, and saved them that way from the beginning).

Anyway, now all that appears when I type in the URL is gibberish and the text that I placed on my page. If it's not already obvious, I'm new at this. I emailed Blue Voda for a phone number to get a live person on the other end to help talk me through this, but haven't heard back yet.

Domain: www.what-is-going-on.com

Thanks to anyone who could share his or her knowledge and help me out of this fix.

Re: Home page showing gibberish/text

What text did you use for the page?

And depending on how you saved the index page - you shouldn't have to put .html after the index page to publish - it will be added to it automatically.
    Beth
    A Child's Palace - Pinata Palace - Moxie Enterprises

SEO and Marketing Tools
    SEO - The Basics

Comment

I used the insert text button on the drop down list at the top of the BlueVoda application. Should I go back and save the index page as simply "index" as opposed to index.html, then upload?

Comment

I would try that.

What I meant by what text - was what was the text called? ariel, tahoma, etc? Is it a web friendly text?
        Beth
        A Child's Palace - Pinata Palace - Moxie Enterprises

SEO and Marketing Tools
        SEO - The Basics

Comment

When I take the .html off of the file name for the index page, the URL goes right to my directory and lists only my uploaded files. The font is Ariel, 10-point. Not sure if that is a friendly text or not.

Comment