PHP or Hyperlink?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PHP or Hyperlink?

I'm building a site that will have approx. 10 pages - all linked.

Each page will be identical to (i.e. a copy of the index page) the home (index) page, with one exception, each page will have a different text article.

Google adsense html blocks and other components such as images etc. will be the same for ALL pages. (Please answer in terms of what is best to use in conjunction with Google AdSense, if this matters at all and is the simplest method for a beginner)

My questions are;

1) Would this be a classic and/or necessary use of .PHP? And if so how do I do it?

2) Or, should I just copy each page - change the article - re-name the page and use the hyperlink function?

3) And in the case of question # 2 - will I have to re-do all the html blocks (adsense stuff) on a page per page basis?

I am very new to this so please take this into account.

Re: PHP or Hyperlink?

1. Yes, you can use php in conjunction with a database where the articles will be stored, and a DB browsing script that will present the articles in the same page. This way, the ads code could only be in one page. A solution suggested only if you expect to have MANY articles, in which case a management tool is needed, and the database solution is the best.
    2 - 3. You can also do this. The html code for the ads can be in the basic page template, so you don't need to copy it from page to page: create the page layout, paste the ads code, save as Template, then recall it for each of your articles pages, place the article and use the Save as to save it as "article_page_1", "article_page_2" and so on.

The same result can be obtained using a Iframe in your page, and creating separate article pages, that will be presented in the frame. You can use arrows or "next - previous" or numbers "Article 1 2 3 ...." in the articles pages, to navigate through them.
    Navaldesign