Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• problem with email config

Hi all,

I hope someone out there can help me solve the problem I'm having with my email. I set up an email account in the cpanel and clicked the autoconfig for outlook express. My domain name is virtualbusinesssupport.net and the email I set up is info@virtualbusinesssupport.net. I can send email from this address to my personal email, also set up in outlook express, but I can not receive email to this address. This is my first time having web hosting etc so it's all new to me. I've spent the last 4 days reading the forums trying to find an anwer to my problem. I have read the "Help, I cannot set up my email post" but it didn't help me. I changed the smtp from mail.virtualbusinesssupport.net to smtp.myispdomain.ie as mentioned in the "Help..." post because when I checked my isp's website their instructions for setting up email in outlook express states I should put their domain name in the smtp ougoing mail box as smtp.theirdomain.ie. I have made lots of changes to the settings and sent lots of test emails. They must be going somewhere as I only received one failure notice today from my isp, regarding a test email I had sent on the 18th June, with the following message:

<info@virtualbusinesssupport.net>: host
    virtualbusinesssupport.net[74.86.118.27] said: 451 Temporary local problem
    - please try later (in reply to RCPT TO command)

I haven't a clue what means. There were no msgs in the inbox of my webmail either. Can anyone shed any light on this problem for me. I will be eternarlly grateful!

Re: problem with email config

Hello your pop3 and smtp should both be mail.virtualbusinesssupport.net

Try changing your user name to info+virtualbusinessssupport.net (change the @ to +)

Outlook and Outlook Express can be a pain sometimes. Someone advised me years ago that if an email is not playing. Delete from the list and start again. And yes it did work.