Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• blog, text on page, pdf?

Hi folks,
    Another very very green newbie here. First thanks to all the very generous members contributing here. I'm trying to do a lot of homework.
    I'll put my questions in a numbered list here:

1. I would like to put a novel on my site in installments. I'm wondering the best way to do that and add chapters on a weekly basis.

2. Is there a way that people would not be able to copy and print it? Read only?

3. I'm wondering if I just write articles on an article page, then have a contact page where people could write and critique an article or the novel, or would it be better to have a blog?

4. I've studied naval's article on the fixed menu that could be added to each page. Is it important to do it with css or is it ok to do it from the web building tools here. I'm paying attention to SE for the future.

Ok, appreciate advice. I don't want to go 40 miles down a dead end and start over if it can be avoided.

Peace to all, Shoemaker

Re: blog, text on page, pdf?

Hi Shoemaker

First of all.........welcome to the voda family.

Its good that you are looking for a plan and that you are doing some homework.....thats a good start.

If you do (1)
    then (2) is going to be the problem.

You could publish some interesting/juicy extracts from each chapter each week and then let readers download a protected pdf file.

Result: (1) and (2) resolved, or at least one posible solution.

(3) Why not do both and get the best of both worlds......changing content is what the SEO's are looking for.

(4) Start with the tools available and learn as you go along.....after all, you did say, one chapter per week.......so not that many pages will need to be changed in 4 to six weeks of learning new tips and tricks.

Good luck and I look forward to your 1st instalment..............lol
    Have fun
    Regards..... David

Step by Step Visual Tutorials for the complete beginner
    Newbies / Beginners Forum