X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soho or Joomla for an artist site?

Hello everyone.

I know Vasili promotes Joomla and Karen M is an expert on Soho. I have used Soho a bit and will use it more for my own new site. But I have a friend who is an artist. He wants an easy simple site, but I do not want to use BV for this. I need to give my friend administrator rights so that he can upload / manage his own photos, indicate the prices and indicate easily what has been sold already, etc. Here in South Africa we cannot really use Paypal for customers to pay us. After 3 years in business the local bank will allow credit card payments. Planning for the future, I know Soho has the cart feature, but what about Joomla- must I purchase additional add-ons for a cart?

I realy need some quick advice on the admin rights and cart issues as I'm no expert on any of Soho or Joomla. I have also lost base here since its been a very long time away from this forum as I'm just quite busy with other things right now.

What do you recommend, Soho or Joomla and why?
    Much appreciated.
    Bless you
    Tom

Re: Soho or Joomla for an artist site?

Trust me, Tom .... no one here is an "expert" but there simply are differences in the levels of expertise, experience, and capabilities using the various technologies available to us all, and the preferences some of us make to address posts in certain 'specialized' areas, that's all. The only real Soho "expert" I know of is Ben at TemplateZapper.com (he's a certified Soho developer), and it is only after I began suggesting him as a referral these years (since I developed my first Soho site in 2006) has his name begun to be used by others .....
    You can see from many of the posts that we all keep learning from each other as we go.