general advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• general advice

Hello, My dame is David, I am new to building websites. I have began the process and have some general questions.

My website will not be for commercial use, It's basicaly for family and friends and sharing my music and my wifes photographs and such.

Here is what I want to do...

Stream and be able to download High quality original MP3's (from 128k to 250k)

Stream and download music and other type of tutorial vids (from 10mb to perhaps 1 gig)

Share pictures and some study books on various things that I have never published ( in a text form, maybe later in adobe pdf).

So here's my questions...

1. I'm thinking the music files and the vids should be put into a seperate folder and uploaded to the ftp for faster downloading. Correct?

2. Should I go ahead and publish, now that I have the basic idea of what I want my site to look like,and tweak and polish it from there?

3. What is the best way to aproach streaming the vids and music files? For ex. Do I also need to put links to certain players and upgrades of those players?

Any help on the mp3 and video files would be helpful.

Dave.

Re: general advice

Dave,
    1. Under http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/blu...shortcuts.html you will find a Tip covering adding music.
    2. Good idea to publish and make sure your links work the way you want them to. Also and if you want to, ask for feedback in the Promote Your Website section, very useful tips. You can always go back and setup an "under construction" page until your page is ready.

Good luck.
    Bill
    www.blueearthtea.com
    www.ftaaconsulting.com
    www.iaval.com
    www.theemeraldbay.com

Comment

djrocker-
      Welcome to BV. I have a personal / family site as you described. I have some video on it and provide video tutorials in the computer section. I will also have a bit of music on here in the near future.