PDA

View Full Version : Links



Bruce Hewitt
07-27-2006, 03:26 PM
Is there any way to have your site not have to reload the links every time, with i-frames perhaps?

ez-ez
07-27-2006, 03:31 PM
Hi Bruce.. what do you mean by 'reload the links'..?

Bruce Hewitt
07-27-2006, 04:04 PM
My site has an I-frame that holds the content with links on the outside of this frame. I have constructed my site so each link will load different info in this i-frame, in order to accomplish this I have made *******s of my index page to maintain the links and to load different info into different i-frames linked to those *******'s. I just want to know if there is a way to accomplish this without having the links reload on the varuious pages each time.
I don't think there is, just thought somebody may have done something like this and could advise!

nick1346
07-27-2006, 04:31 PM
Can you post a link so we can have alook?

Bruce Hewitt
07-27-2006, 04:53 PM
Sorry bout the delay guys, was just publishing a link quickly.
Now that that's done I see it's not such a biggie.
The link buttons load slower than the hyperlinks and labels, but it does so pretty quickly and the latter loads fast, would be nice if it could not reload at all though and remain static.
Link: http://www.panzoomproperties.com
Only the "buyers" link is published at this stage and the home button works!

Thanks for your time and trouble.

ez-ez
07-27-2006, 05:08 PM
Bruce.. If I understand you correctly, you've duplicated your 'Links' page into several pages so that each time someone clicks a link the relevant info will appear in the I-Frame positioned in that page. You should not need to do that.. The whole idea of I-Frames is that you are able call information from other locations to be displayed in your I-Frame. I do not believe that I-Frames will support only one location.. If that's the case, then that would be the biggest Bug I've ever seen. If every time you are going to load the I-Frame and the Page hosting the I-Frame, I would ask, what's the point in having the I-Frame..?

I'm not an expert on BV, but I'm sure I'll be able to find something for this.. I'm expirementing as we speak.. I'll keep you informed.

In the meantime, I would suggest that you stop duplicating the index page, I have a feeling you will only need one.

ez-ez
07-27-2006, 05:46 PM
My site has an I-frame that holds the content with links on the outside of this frame. I have constructed my site so each link will load different info in this i-frame, in order to accomplish this I have made *******s of my index page to maintain the links and to load different info into different i-frames linked to those *******'s. I just want to know if there is a way to accomplish this without having the links reload on the varuious pages each time.
I don't think there is, just thought somebody may have done something like this and could advise!

Bruce.. Check out this thread, it might be what you're looking for..

http://www.milonic.com/mfa/2004-June/004476.html

Bruce Hewitt
07-27-2006, 06:40 PM
Thanks Carlos
Will go through it, looks like it might be my solution.

Bruce Hewitt
07-27-2006, 07:44 PM
Went through the info.
Got me thinking in the line of multi-linking, looked this up in another forum and can use link buttons to bring up various info in various frames.

Can you construct your site so that when thisa link is activated the relevant i-frame is loaded over the existing one or not?

Thanks
Bruce

ez-ez
07-27-2006, 08:02 PM
That is possible.. However, what's the difference between 2 I-Frames (one on top of the other) and One I-Frame changing content..?!!.. As matter of fact..one I-Frame works better and faster.. I think, for your purpose, we should think of I-Frame as a Media Player, and your links as the Playlist, when you click a song, it plays, then you click another song, and it plays in the same player.. and so on.. Obviously, once you succeeded in creating one dynamic I-Frame (an I-Frame that displays a range of pages on demand by clicking links..) then you can repeat that more than once on the same page.

I-Frames are like other elements on the page, so they can overlap and block other elements underneath them..

Also, calling an I-Frame to appear from no where to replace (go over) another one is possible in various ways, but remember that the I-Frame element itself is only a space (border, scrolls ... etc) and it is like shapes and images.. therefore, to get an I-Frame to pop into the page, the I-Frame itself must be prepared and hidden somewhere, then be displayed whenever required, what's involved here is preparing a linked I-Frame with a Style attribute "display: hidden", the I-Frame will have an 'ID' and then be called by its ID when it's needed, this is known as 'getElementbyId'.

You will find that in order to achieve that, you will need to modify some HTML in BV as this is purely a scripting task.

Andy128
07-27-2006, 09:29 PM
Well said ez-ez!

Andy

Bruce Hewitt
07-28-2006, 05:34 AM
Thanks ez-ez.
Went searching on the forum and found my mistake.
One I-frame is the ticket, with the links being targeted to it.

Works like a dream

Andy, I think you were part of the thread I got hold of - Thanks mate!

captrac
12-29-2006, 06:33 AM
I have a similar issue (I Think) One of my pages after I published it, some links appeared where they shouldn't be. What's causing that?
Take a look: http://www.capitaltrace.com/loanaudits.html if you scroll down to the bottom on the left box under "SERIVCES" it duplicated the link of the page itself.

milos
12-29-2006, 02:25 PM
Does anybody knows how to link my pages together?

VodaHost
12-29-2006, 02:35 PM
Does anybody knows how to link my pages together?

click the below....

http://www.vodahost.com/tut_bluevoda.htm

LadyEye
12-29-2006, 02:44 PM
Does anybody knows how to link my pages together?


Hi Milos ... (Just for the next time, you can start your own thread, and then all the answers will be for you, excuse me captrac while I answer Milos, I do not see what you are implying Captrac??)

Milos ... you should brush up on the tutorials too, but when it comes to linking pages together, there are several ways ....

Let's say you have a three page website .....

index
sales
promotions

These will be the three pages

Your landing page for your domain name will be saved as index, published as index and will be the page that comes up when someone types in your domain name address.

From all of your pages, I would recommend having a link to and from each other.

Linking can be done in a variety of ways, via the navigation bars provided in your web builder, the menu bars, a text link or even an image link.

Let's say you choose a text link ....

The word Sales is what you want to link ... you highlight this word, go to insert in your top tool bar, and choose link, and you then type in the full address ... in this case it would be http://www.yourdomainname.com/sales.html
You save this page as sales, publish it as sales and link to it as above. You do not add the .html when you are naming and saving your page, blue voda does this automatically for you, you only type the .html when retrieving or linking to this ....

You use the same procedure for all of your links for all of your pages, whether you use text or images. http://www.yourdomainname.com/promotions.html

And when linking to your index page you simply link as http://www.yourdomainname.com

Pretty well the same when using a nav bar or a menu bar, other than the fact a larger pop up will come up for you to fill in the information.

That's it ... Good Luck!!


P.S.

Naming and saving and then publishing that page is different than giving your page a title, try to keep that issue clear in your line of thinking ...

To give your page a title, you right click anywhere on the page and go to page properties, here you can Title your page to your liking, best to title it to the topic of the page .....

Remember when saving and publishing - all small letters, no symbols or spaces, or if you do use a space it the words must be joined together with the use of the underscore in between, like this sales_today

Good Luck!!