PDA

View Full Version : Don't know how to publish JAlbum



larazovich
08-09-2006, 11:35 PM
I am having trouble using JAlbum. I know it is supposed to be easy, but I can't seem to make it work.
I watched their tutorials but seem to have some kind of mental block about the whole thing.
On a rudimentry level:
What is the output directory? Is that where I want it to be stored? Should this be a seperate folder, just for this album?
Do I check those little boxes - process subdirectory, output to image directory, make slides?
What is image linking about?
Okay then I click make album, then what?
NOw, I want the album to go on a webpage I am making.
So, I insert an iframe, then double click it and then ....
I imagine you can see I am almost brain-dead. It seems the more I try to do this, the more I get screwed up.
I did manage to make an album one time, but surrendered when it somehow named itself jalbumsettings (?), and when I tried to publish it...ayyyy..another can of worms..
got all the blanks filled in except the remote directory, whatever that is..
Any chance anyone can give me simple nobrainer directions?

I am eternally grateful for help, here..
Liz
www.sebastopolparty.com

beegud2
08-09-2006, 11:49 PM
Hi ,

Read the following thread for Jablum answers:

http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/adding-elements-your-website/9152 (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/9152-help-jalbum-please.html?highlight=Jablum)


If you still need help afterwards...just drop a line.

bzzzz

larazovich
08-09-2006, 11:55 PM
this is what I get trying to follow that link..

Invalid Forum specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator (http://www.support.vodahost.com/)

beegud2
08-09-2006, 11:57 PM
Correct link...sorry...try again...lol
http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/adding-elements-your-website/9152-help-jalbum-please.html (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/9152-help-jalbum-please.html)

beegud2
08-09-2006, 11:58 PM
Hmmm..not sure what's up with that...but just type in Jablum into the search box at top and it will take you to it...

larazovich
08-10-2006, 12:23 AM
I read that bzz, thanks, but I still have some of the same questions.

Initially when creating the project (album) what is the output directory? Is that on my compyuter or in CP somewhere?

then, on the publishing part -
at the remote directory blank - you say to put what you call your album folder--what album folder? on my computer where I saved the album? or do I need to create an album folder in cp inthe public_html directory?

then, how do I get it onto my web page?

lord I feel like a moron. I swear I am normally quite competent..

thanks
Liz
www.sebastopolparty.com

beegud2
08-10-2006, 04:32 AM
I read that bzz, thanks, but I still have some of the same questions.

Initially when creating the project (album) what is the output directory? Is that on my compyuter or in CP somewhere?

then, on the publishing part -
at the remote directory blank - you say to put what you call your album folder--what album folder? on my computer where I saved the album? or do I need to create an album folder in cp inthe public_html directory?

then, how do I get it onto my web page?

lord I feel like a moron. I swear I am normally quite competent..

thanks
Liz
www.sebastopolparty.com (http://www.sebastopolparty.com)

No morons...Liz..I think of as techie challenged...lol.

OK...Ouput Directory is where your Album is going to be or think of it as what you are going to call your Album...on my beezworld - travels page- I have an album called My Travel Life - all sub directories (mini-albums are under this)- think of thme as several albums arranged in one big one.

Remote directory is where your album will uplaod to - you can call it wahtever you want - I find it simple to call it by the same created Album name.

When you go to publish, Jablum will locate it in public_html if you have it created already BUT will create it for you if you have not created it as yet.
By the way...quicker to use blue_ftp to upload to server than publish with Jablum as it takes forever...

Ok ...I hope that helps..hope I have not confused you even more...let me know and I'll check back to see how you are doing...don't loose it...you'll get there soon enough.

bzzz

larazovich
08-11-2006, 04:34 AM
hi Beezzz
well I managed to successfully publish 2 albums, but at the moment I am not quite sure how I did it..
you know..tried so many things, finally something worked..
But, right now I am trying to make another, and Jalbum just hangs up on the album generation part, and says something about processing or reading image metatags, then it goes no further.
any ideas?
I tried aborting the whole deal, then deleting all internet temp files, etc, then rebooting and starting fresh.
Same thing.
any ideas?
I was thinking maybe I would go to bed and look at it fresh tomorrow morning..
In any case, thank you so much for your help. This really is fun, albeit challanging.
'night
Liz
www.sebastopolparty.com

beegud2
08-11-2006, 04:37 AM
It's aquirky little program even though it is great...have you downloaded the new version....

I never had that problem but I think you did right and try again in the morning...that will be a fresh start and maybe your computer jsut needs a rest...lol

beegud2
08-11-2006, 04:40 AM
By the way checked the sitea nd the pictures loaded well and fast...no problem....did you want people to be able to download the pictures...you used the fotoplayer skin...?

larazovich
08-11-2006, 03:28 PM
well Beezzz I didn't really think about it, yeah I guess so. I resized the pictures so they would load faster per the tutorial, and figured the quality in a download would not be so good, .
it would be a nice thing if they could, I suppose.
what is a fotoplayer skin?

larazovich
08-12-2006, 04:06 PM
Hey Beeezzz the problem I was having with making another album turned out to be with three of the photo's/
I am still not sure what it was, but noticed that when I deleted them, the whole thing worked. Go figure.
Thank you so very much for all your help, most likely would have become VERY VERY old by the time I figured it out on my own, if I ever would have!

Still hanging with one question, though.

What is a fotoplayer skin?

Tomissan
08-25-2006, 01:00 AM
[quote=beegud2]It's aquirky little program even though it is great...have you downloaded the new version....


2 Questions please
1...Is the new version the one offered from Vodahost 'downloads' or from the JAlbum website?
2...It seems all the links to JAlbum, help, etc., aren't working, are there new ones for information on how to use & publish it?
........thanks

beegud2
08-25-2006, 01:05 AM
Still hanging with one question, though.

What is a fotoplayer skin?

Just one of the skins or type of albums offered by JABLUM...no big...I was jsut curious.



...Is the new version the one offered from Vodahost 'downloads' or from the JAlbum website?.........thanks


YEs I think VH has the latest but you can go to the Jablum site and download the latest. Lots of new 'skin' or albums available on new version. Yell if you need any assistance.

Tomissan
08-25-2006, 01:18 AM
YEs I think VH has the latest but you can go to the Jablum site and download the latest. Lots of new 'skin' or albums available on new version. Yell if you need any assistance.[/quote]

Thanks beegud for that super quick response.
Do you know if & how to insert links to individual slide shots?

I'm trying to develop a site that includes house plans, from the slide show can one link to specific plans & details? thanks again

beegud2
08-25-2006, 01:19 AM
YEs I think VH has the latest but you can go to the Jablum site and download the latest. Lots of new 'skin' or albums available on new version. Yell if you need any assistance.

Thanks beegud for that super quick response.
Do you know if & how to insert links to individual slide shots?

I'm trying to develop a site that includes house plans, from the slide show can one link to specific plans & details? thanks again[/quote]

Hmm interesting ...and I would think you should be able to...let me check somthing and be back in a minute.

beegud2
08-25-2006, 01:23 AM
Ok the way I see it is ...all you would have to do is get the url for the picture you want displayed and use it to link in the iframe...you cna gett he url from your folder in cpanel where you published.

See if that works and let me know.

Tomissan
08-25-2006, 01:28 AM
ok..I'll let you know when I get to that point...

One other question...If I download the newer version from Jalbum site will I lose a previous slide show made in the version from VH downloads ?

cheers...