PDA

View Full Version : Updating website Info?



It Takes The Biscuit
08-20-2006, 04:48 PM
How long does it take to update details on my website after publishing?

FPRob
08-20-2006, 05:17 PM
Changes should occur immediately but if you only just bought the domain and it is the first time that you have published the site then some refreshing time maybe required. upto 24 hours but I dont think it will actually take that long.

:)

Bethers
08-20-2006, 06:25 PM
If you aren't seeing the update immediately after you publish - click to refresh the page - your computer is probably showing the page it saved in it's cache.

It Takes The Biscuit
08-21-2006, 06:47 PM
It only appears to be a couple pages that aren't updating, the others have been updated with no problems, I have clicked the refresh button but still nothing, I've republish several times still with no joy

ez-ez
08-21-2006, 06:54 PM
Can you provide the url so we can have a look?

It Takes The Biscuit
08-21-2006, 07:53 PM
www.ittakesthebiscuit.co.uk (http://www.ittakesthebiscuit.co.uk)

its the order info page that won't update, also I have removed all the photo's from the bottom of all the pages except the homepage yet they are still showing!

kyagulanyi
08-31-2006, 07:43 AM
I appear to be having the same problem. There is a photo I wanted changed on the services html but even when I went to the Cpanel File folder and deleted the old services html from the public folder as well as the photo (it is no longer there) and re-published the services page several times, the same services page still shows the old photo when I check on the URL - even from another computer. The URL is www.felsconsultants.biz (http://www.felsconsultants.biz)

navaldesign
08-31-2006, 08:25 AM
www.ittakesthebiscuit.co.uk (http://www.ittakesthebiscuit.co.uk)

its the order info page that won't update, also I have removed all the photo's from the bottom of all the pages except the homepage yet they are still showing!

Home page apart, the other pages don't have any pics, so i guess they have been succesfully updated. It must be a cache problem on your side.

navaldesign
08-31-2006, 08:28 AM
For testing purposes, both of you add the date and time of the last update at the bottom of your pages and publish again, so we can have a look and tell you if the page has indeed been updated. This way we can see if it actually is a cache problem on your side or a failed publishing.

kyagulanyi
08-31-2006, 01:46 PM
I have attached time and date and started republishing page at about 1243Hrs GMT.

navaldesign
08-31-2006, 02:05 PM
I have attached time and date and started republishing page at about 1243Hrs GMT.

I can see the date in your services page, (not time just date) in red, even though it is under your lower menubar. But i think that is the date of the picture. If i'm correct, then there is no date and time in your Services page. If BV gives you a "Succesfully Published" message, then check WHERE you are publishing.

kyagulanyi
08-31-2006, 02:32 PM
That is a photo date. I tried to republish the index page with the nav bar button for services changed to point to services_clone page which I wanted to publish, but did not see any change on the index page after publishing.Could be like you said a publishing problem?

Where I am publishing? I am using the stored everything password and username. But let me check all the same.

kyagulanyi
08-31-2006, 02:38 PM
I am using the data from the welcome e-mail which worked fine before.

kyagulanyi
08-31-2006, 02:44 PM
And also to public_html

navaldesign
08-31-2006, 03:14 PM
You have not mentioned if you get the "Succesfully Published" message

kyagulanyi
09-01-2006, 07:59 AM
Yes, I do get the successfully published message.

navaldesign
09-01-2006, 08:19 AM
Ok, try this: connect with BlueFTP, and delete the services page. Now, in IE go to your site and click on the Services page. You should get a 404 Error, Page not found. If you can see the page, refresh IE by clicking F5 sometimes.
Try again to see if the page is visible. It should not, since you have deleted it.

Now Publish again the page and try again with IE. If the page comes up, it means that it has been succesfully published, and should be the latest version saved on your computer.

kyagulanyi
09-02-2006, 11:02 AM
Thanks a lot Naval Design, it works when worked like you suggested.