PDA

View Full Version : Search engine submission check



KP123
08-21-2006, 09:14 PM
Hi all

I have done the search engine submission and I have checked the readiness of the site. Everything is good except this:

17. JavaScript Blocks

WARNING: The page uses JavaScript blocks.

The use of JavaScript blocks affects the proximity and density of your search terms. If you have JavaScript embedded in your page, all the search terms that fall below the JavaScript block will have less proximity and the more JavaScript on the page, the more diluted the density of your search terms are.

There is an easy workaround for this issue. Simply place your JavaScript code in remote files. An example is as follows:

<script language="JavaScript" src="yourscript.js"></script>

Then place the JavaScript in the 'yourscript.js' file.

I have found this is the bosy tag and it says this:

</STYLE>
<SCRIPT type="text/javascript">
<!--
function SwapImage()

I do not understand what this means or what to do about it.

Can you anyone shed some light on this please????

thanking you in advance!!

kp

Karen Mac
08-22-2006, 11:57 PM
kp

Search engines cant read javascripted menu bars or content within the java script itself. What they are saying is to make a Script folder to host the script part and then call for the script with an html tag. However, if it refers to your menu bar, the search engines still wont be able to read it. The best work around is to put links to your pages in your footer so that the search engines can index all your pages and/or add a site map for them.

Karen

KP123
08-23-2006, 03:35 AM
ok, I might be being really think here - but I am afraid that I did not understand what you said!!

What is it that I need to do and how can I find out which is the javascript on my website?

Thank you!!

Karen Mac
08-23-2006, 07:25 AM
kp

Well, frankly, I dont know which part is the java script because you didnt post a site for me to look at. Im just guessing in that its probably a navigation menu. I dont know what you are using to build. So, without something to look at I cant specifically tell you what is javascript and what isnt, or how to fix it.

Karen

KP123
08-23-2006, 01:50 PM
oops, sorry, website is www.pooleyenterprises.com (http://www.pooleyenterprises.com)

Thanks

Karen Mac
08-24-2006, 02:47 AM
kp,

The script that I see is a swap image script to switch the mouseover images on your navigation or menu buttons. Even tho you have alt tags on the actual images, the search engine still wont read them because they dont run the script, and your links and alt tags are INSIDE the script.

What i do is make a footer, with html links to all my pages, and then the search engine can still find your pages. Look at www.grannyscountrynook.com (http://www.grannyscountrynook.com) and you will see what i mean. SOHO does it automatically, but I do it on all my commercial sites.

What they are telling you to do is to copy and paste the script to an html file that isnt actually written in the home page, and then CALL for the script, so that the search engine can read your links. If you do the footer thing, you dont need to do that. You already have a footer started with the copyright line, so below that just add html links to all your pages. You'll be ok.

Karen

KP123
08-24-2006, 01:40 PM
Thank you so much Karen - I will do add the menu bars at the bottom.

Really appreciate your help - I get so confused when it comes to the scripts.

Thanks again

Karen Mac
08-24-2006, 05:40 PM
NOOOOOOOOoo dont add more bars, just make a link

<a href="www.yourstore.com/whaterver.html">Whateverpage</a>

substitute your info, you dont want MORE buttons, LOL

Karen

KP123
08-24-2006, 05:42 PM
I have not added buttons, just the name, eg About Us and made the link.

If you go to my homepage now you see them. Is that what you meant?

Karen Mac
08-24-2006, 06:09 PM
kp

YES! You scared me for a sec. I think they would serve you better if they were white instead of black. You dont want to appear to be HIDING text!

Karen

lorimpatton@centurytel.ne
07-18-2007, 10:31 PM
I am having the same issue, but already had the links at the bottom on our page. Can you take a look and offer suggestion?

eleganthomesbuilder.com