PDA

View Full Version : Linking a PDF file



sjbolt
08-23-2006, 01:33 AM
I am having trouble linking a PDF file. I've done everything properly (I think) at the FTP site, but when trying to get to the link on the web page, I just get "Page Cannot Be Displayed". What did I do wrong, and how can it be fixed? the page is at www.kzoocoping.com/registration (http://www.kzoocoping.com/registration)

bill2006
08-23-2006, 06:04 PM
Your page should be: http://www.kzoocoping.com/registration.html

Open it again in BV, save and re-publish.

sjbolt
08-24-2006, 12:09 AM
ok, I re-published as www.kzoocoping/registration.html (http://www.kzoocoping/registration.html) still no link to the PDF. I'm sure it's some little thing I haven't done, but I can't figure it out.

sjbolt
08-24-2006, 02:55 AM
OK!! now i got it! i was using a wrong address to link the pdf. got it fixed and it's working fine now! thanks for the help

jimchicago
08-26-2006, 08:28 AM
I've been studying this thread and the other one about linking to .pdf's on a (Vodahost) FTP server, but still am stumped.

The page where I want the links is www.jhwm.net/samples.html. On that page, below the photo, you'll see I have a small piece of text I want hyperlinked to "Your Choice Auto print ad, with sky.pdf" which is on (the R-hand side of) my FTP Manager, inside a folder named "Samples of work". Both of these URLs take me to a standard "Page Cannot be Displayed" page:

http://www.jhwm.net/Your Choice Auto print ad, with sky.pdf

http://www.jhwm.net/Samples of work/Your Choice Auto print ad, with sky.pdf

I've also had no luck trying to create the URL in an ftp format, that is: ftp://74.##.##.194/Samples of work/Your Choice Auto print ad, with sky.pdf

Thanks for any advice you can offer!

navaldesign
08-26-2006, 01:53 PM
Take the blankc and the comma off your foldername and filename, then recreate the link. You can use underscores if you like instead of blank spaces

jimchicago
08-26-2006, 05:16 PM
Thanks, Naval, I replaced the spaces in the pdf name with underscores, but:

When I go into BlueFTP and connect to my server, I can right-click on the folder icon ("Samples of work" in the R-hand pane) that has the spaces in it, and type in a new folder name with underscores, or hyphens, or no spaces, but it won't "keep" the new filename. As soon as I click on an area away from the newly typed folder name, the name switches back to the old name.

I'm thinking maybe I should just take the files in the "Samples of work" folder out of that folder, but I don't know how. Advice?

jimchicago
08-28-2006, 04:07 AM
Hey, Navaldesign, or someone else out there: Could you PLEEEEEZE give me some advice on getting the spaces out of that folder name I put on my FTP server? I would really appreciate it!!

navaldesign
08-28-2006, 04:35 AM
Yes, BlueFTP is does that from time to time. Go in CP, File manager, select your folder, and on the top right corner you will see options to delete, rename, change permissions etc. Rename it from there.

jimchicago
08-28-2006, 08:34 AM
Thank you for replying! I had no trouble going to my CP > File Manager, and selecting the Samples of work folder, but I don't see any options to delete, rename, change permissions in the upper-R corner (or anywhere else). I will e-mail you (separate from this post) a screen shot to show you what I'm seeing. I'm sure we can figure it out.

navaldesign
08-28-2006, 09:12 PM
Have a look:

http://www.navaldesign.info/Tips/cprename.JPG

You must first select a folder so that the options will become available.

jimchicago
08-28-2006, 09:49 PM
OK, first the good news: I was able to rename the folder and eliminate the spaces--it's now named SamplesofWork. And I know how to hyperlink the text I want linked to the .pdf. But when I test the link in BV's preview mode, I still get "The page cannot be displayed" every time.

The two hyperlinks I've tried since renaming the folder are:
(NOTE: The Forum seems to be truncating these two URLs, I did not put those "..." in them):

http://www.jhwm.net/SamplesofWork/Your_Choice_Auto_print_ad_with_sky.pdf

ftp://74.52.61.194/SamplesofWork/Your_Choice_Auto_print_ad_with_sky.pdf

Please enlighten me (further)! Thank you.

navaldesign
08-28-2006, 10:20 PM
Sorry but i can'tenlight you more without access to your site. if you wish, use my form (http://www.navaldesign.info/feedback13.html)to send me your loggin info (IP, username, password)

jimchicago
08-28-2006, 11:59 PM
Thanks, Naval, I just went to that page on your site and sent you my VodaHost IP address, username, password, and primary nameserver. Sorry to have to get you this deeply involved in my site-building work.

BTW, one other URL I tried after renaming the folder 'SamplesofWork' was:
http://www.jhwm.net/Your_Choice_Auto_print_ad_with_sky.pdf.

That one didn't work either. Thanks for digging into my site files and seeing what you can find.

navaldesign
08-29-2006, 07:37 AM
Hi,

the problem is that you have created the "SamplesofWork" folder in the upper level. This folder should be created inside your "public_html" folder, and the PDF file should be placed in it. The way it is now, it is not accessible through the browser, because only the "public_html" content can be reached through a browser. You have both "SamplesofWork" and " Samples of Pre-JHWM Work ". Create the new folder , move all the content (you have several files in there) from "SamplesofWork" in the new "SamplesofWork" and then delete the two old folders.

Vasili
08-29-2006, 07:56 AM
Yiasou!
Funny thing...I made 2000+ posts, and was promoted, and then POOF! I'm instantly back down to 1995.....some soft of "fail-safe"???

LOLOL

jimchicago
08-29-2006, 08:04 AM
Naval--Makes sense, thanks very much. Just curious: Rather than creating a new SamplesofWork inside the public_html folder, could I simply move the existing one into that folder? I'd prefer not to have to move content from one folder to another. Also: Does the URL for the link need to include both "SamplesofWork" and the full name of the pdf?

navaldesign
08-29-2006, 08:30 AM
Goodmorning Vassili, i see you are at Nr 2003! Congratulation! Even though i'm spamming this thread!

Vasili
08-29-2006, 08:47 AM
http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon10.gif
Efaristo, General!
Ke....kaliMera!

VodaHost
08-29-2006, 08:51 AM
Yiasou!
Funny thing...I made 2000+ posts, and was promoted, and then POOF! I'm instantly back down to 1995.....some soft of "fail-safe"???

LOLOL

Nothing to do with you, just doing a bit of house cleaning.

navaldesign
08-29-2006, 08:55 AM
Naval--Makes sense, thanks very much. Just curious: Rather than creating a new SamplesofWork inside the public_html folder, could I simply move the existing one into that folder? I'd prefer not to have to move content from one folder to another. Also: Does the URL for the link need to include both "SamplesofWork" and the full name of the pdf?

Yes, go in CP. Select the old "SamplesofWork", on the same right top corner select "Move folder", then the screen will refresh asking where to move the folder, select "public_html" - the text, not the icon - and you are done.

However, i suggest that you first "Copy" the folder to the correct place, then delete it from it's original position. This way, if you do something wrong, your old folder will still be there.


Your link should be: http://www.yoursite.com/Samplesofwork/Your_Choice_Auto_print_ad_with_sky.pdf (http://www.yoursite.com/Samplesofwork/Your_Choice_Auto_print_ad_with_sky.pdf)

jimchicago
08-29-2006, 03:13 PM
SUCCESS at last! Thank you VERY much, Naval, I followed your latest instructions and I now have a working textlink on my Samples page that brings the user to the Allstate ad I want them to see.

Now that SamplesofWork is in the public_html folder, I'll be sure to keep it there--and add to it all other samples I want users to be able access. You are a gentleman and scholar, and I appreciate your patience in working with me!

navaldesign
08-29-2006, 03:18 PM
You are very welcome. Thank you for the compliments.

Vasili
08-30-2006, 12:10 AM
Bravo, General!

(I've added the info to MY BV Tips File as well....)

MRishi
12-08-2008, 06:38 AM
Hi,

I just want to know "How to link a PDF file in other PDF file. In short linking in PDF files.
For instance, i have 3 PDF files of the same project and all are saved in one folder, now what i want to do is too link two pdf files in the first one.
Can anyone help me out?

Tom Finley
12-08-2008, 06:43 AM
I believe that info is found in the pdf help file.