PDA

View Full Version : how can i offer a download?



allstarfaces
08-23-2006, 12:36 PM
i have the text say for a free downoad a zip file like most sites you clik the text and a box asking if you want to save pops up but im not sure how to acheve this

if i just upload the zip file to my ftp etc and create a link will that work? ive not been able to find anything here in search please help

VodaHost
08-23-2006, 01:29 PM
1) Spell Check....next time before you post http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon12.gif
2) Let's say your zip file is called dog.zip
3) You would upload it via ftp to your public_html
4) and create the following link for download

http://www.allstarfaces.com/dog.zip

allstarfaces
08-23-2006, 01:49 PM
thought so thanks ***** oh and im sydlecix lol only on the weekends tho

allstarfaces
08-23-2006, 05:20 PM
but it is so slow its a 500mb file in a zip form but is going to take for ever is ther another way?

islandcrazy
08-23-2006, 05:31 PM
You might have to offer a file that large in separate download files. That is HUGE....will you have many dialup "customers" ? They will have an impossible time with that size file. Is there a way that you can break it into smaller chapters and give each chapter it's own download file? We do that with graphics files sometimes...we offer it in 2 or three parts.

lovethatbluegrassmusic
08-23-2006, 05:35 PM
Better have them order the CD !

allstarfaces
08-23-2006, 06:05 PM
lmao its a game demo and takes me about an hour to down load with broadband so............. any way i geuss not i might just keep trying to upload and wait and wait and wait and.................. ye you get the picture

allstarfaces
08-23-2006, 06:25 PM
e that my connection keeps timing out at 15 mins to my public folder in ftp why is this and will it effect the upload i have currently going on i.e will i have to keep manually connecting?

allstarfaces
08-24-2006, 08:23 AM
still needing help with this, my connection times out every 15 mins so i have to reconect ? why is this i want to uplod a lrge file but its impossible please help

Nyoman
08-24-2006, 08:50 AM
you can upload through file manager in control panel

FPRob
08-24-2006, 03:09 PM
My file manager seems to have a 10mb limit, not sure how you will get a file that large to upload.

Collectors-info
08-24-2006, 04:16 PM
My file manager seems to have a 10mb limit, not sure how you will get a file that large to upload.

Think you can change this in the FTP area in c panel
“FTP Account Maintenance” “Quota “
I was having a look at this one time for letting people have a page that they could use on my site. And was going to limit their uploading to 500kb. But was advised about security & decide against it.

Chris,
Come to think of it allstarfaces. Could your file not be uploading because your quota is set to low.

allstarfaces
08-24-2006, 08:33 PM
nyoman u are a star it worked with a little patience and i saw no limit on it thanks again matey

Nyoman
08-25-2006, 12:50 AM
No worry, happy that you shorted it out

nksiefert
08-27-2006, 09:03 PM
This allows you to offer up to 500 MB on a download. You may want to check it out. It's a free download site for offering downloads on your website. Just finished downloading plug-ins for PHP this way...hope it helps you...

http://z05.zupload.com/download.php?file=getfile&filepath=6769