Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Customising Wordpress

Hi,

I am new to the (black) art of blogs- but encouraged by the examples I have seen here - thanks to Kassi59 in particular for inspiration § BUT
    I just cannot work out how to customise the blog format eg add a picture to replace the standard free headers? is that possible? modify the text to describe the sections ? add an RSS feed/ticker to the sidebar for the enjoyment of my visitors? Maybe I missed a tutorial somewhere in my enthusiasm?

Secondly- I also downloaded the phbb stuff - it's not clear to me - what is the difference in required functionality that these two tools were designed to address?

Thanks for illuminating my darkness!
    Roy

Re: Customising Wordpress

What I did to accomplish the picture change was to first choose a blog template that would allow the change...then took the photo from the template folder, changed it in my ***8 and then added it back under the same name as the original photo. that way when the template came up MY photo was there and not the original...
    As far as the Rss feed I could be wrong but I think thats just spider newspaper..not for us to read...but Im sure there is much more to it than how I dismiss it...lol
    phbb - are you thinking of having a forum?

Comment

Hi,

Thanks for the response - clear on the photo replacement - always seems so simple when you know how!

The RSS question relates to adding the necessary script for this to the blog (or any other addon script I suppose) or is that a dumber question?

Yes I am thinking of adding a forum as a complementary tool to the blog - but not sure of functional differences in use really!

Roy

Comment

Well Im not up on the rss issue....