PDA

View Full Version : Content Management????



c.mclean
10-20-2006, 02:14 PM
Hi...

In Fantastico there are many different Content Management programs... What I would like to know, is which one - if any - would help me with this problem below...

I want to take information from the mySQL database and place it onto my webpage... lets say I have ten users and each has 20 pieces of information each, and I want to publish all of that info for each user onto the webpage... but the information might change from time to time, so instead of a simply placing it on the webpage - using BV. I want all the information stored onto a database, so that i can change it easily. And once I change the info on the database the webpage with all that info chages as well....


Thank you for your time,
Chris

VodaHost
10-20-2006, 02:49 PM
CMS systems are mostly for publishing articles and pages, not data retreival. I really do not understand exactly what you want to do and how you want the data entered and presented, but it sounds like you might need a customized solution.

c.mclean
10-20-2006, 05:10 PM
Oh...

Thanks... I'll try explain it better...

I want to take information from a database and publish it onto my webpage. I don't know how to go about doing this though....

I'm going to try to give you an example... ok... here goes...

There is a user - named chris1 - this user has 5 pieces of information - telnumber, address, e-mail, practise, and price. Now, for this user - chris1 - I want to place all his information in a block - like pic below:
261

Then on the same webpage I want to add the users - chris2, chris3, chris4, and chris5. Like So:
260

I hope you now understand what I am looking to do...

Thank you,
Chris

navaldesign
10-20-2006, 07:58 PM
You need a custom made script for that. Have a look at http://www.navaldesign.info/databasemanager/