PDA

View Full Version : Hyperlinking Questions



Big-D
08-12-2006, 05:32 AM
hello.



1. I create the navigation bar, I want that this navigation will appear in each page, I need to build this again in each page or it will appear automatically because of the links.



2. In the navigation bar- edit button appears the line alternate text, what I need to write in this line? In the video don’t have anything about this.



3. If I want that click on one of the navigation bar will brings the visitor to the middle of the page, how I can do this?



4. I understand that I need to attach all my pages together by links, but the thing that I don’t understand is, if I need to create links to each image, text or logo etc in each page or only to put or to write the thing that I want?

Thank you very much.
Hi, I'm new here. I've only posted a few times in another forum on this website.

Ok, if I may, can I try to answer your questions?

1. As far as I know, just because you have a link on one page doesn't mean it will be created for you automatically on another page. You have to create the link or menu bar again on that other page. This is what you are forced to do when writing webpages from scratch.

2. The alternate text is what appears if the image of the button doesn't appear when going to the page its on. For instance let's say one of your menu buttons is named "Home." In the edit button space for "alternate text" you would write "Home." That way if the image of the button has a problem loading up for a visitor to that page, the alternate text is there to identify what element was there.

3. What you are describing is called creating a "Bookmark," that is creating a link to another element on the same page.

Please see "Adding Elements To Your Website --> Adding Bookmarks for islandcrazy" to understand what I'm talking about.

4. Whatever element you want a link for, you have to do it manually.

If you want all of this stuff to be done automatically for all of your webpages, then I suggest you check out "PHP-Nuke Content Management System" at http://www.phpnuke.org/

To create links, just scroll to the very bottom of this page. The video is very easy. Creating links in BlueVoda is stupidly easy.

navaldesign
08-12-2006, 06:09 AM
Hi Big D

just FYI:


2. The alternate text is what appears if the image of the button doesn't appear when going to the page its on. For instance let's say one of your menu buttons is named "Home." In the edit button space for "alternate text" you would write "Home." That way if the image of the button has a problem loading up for a visitor to that page, the alternate text is there to identify what element was there.

Not excactly. It will ofcourse work this way too, but the ALT text is intended to be a small description of the page where the button leads. In the case of images, it will provide a description of the image itself.

If you want all of this stuff to be done automatically for all of your webpages, then I suggest you check out "PHP-Nuke Content Management System" at http://www.phpnuke.org/

Yes, but what if someone doesn't want php nuke? in BV it's relatively simple: using i frames. There is a whole tutorial on the use of iframes for headres, menubars etc in the tips and trics section.

Ilanit's questions have, anyway, been already answered one month ago, on other similar threads she had started.

Sharkie
09-04-2006, 04:03 PM
If I want to install a hyperlink to an e-mail addy .. how would i go about doing that ?

arhon
09-14-2006, 07:46 PM
Hi all. I'm working on my long overdue websites, after delays with my DSL connection. It's quite exciting and a bit scary I find. While I'm here, how do you connect the 'contact' button to an email form?

navaldesign
09-14-2006, 08:10 PM
BlueVoda Form Tutorial 1 (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/forms/9349-bluevoda-forms-tutorial-part-1-a.html)

Narsil
09-22-2006, 05:47 PM
O.K. This is driving me nuts, and maybe I'm just plain missing something here. I have text on my page "Installation Instructions" (not that it really matters) and would like to link that to a Word document. I have downloaded this file in my cPanel. How do I make this link bring up that file?

navaldesign
09-22-2006, 07:30 PM
Highlight the text, click on the Link Tool icon, and select Link type "http",
URL: http://www.yoursite.com/wordfilename.doc

Narsil
09-28-2006, 06:14 PM
Highlight the text, click on the Link Tool icon, and select Link type "http",
URL: http://www.yoursite.com/wordfilename.doc

Thanks for your help, but I'm afraid that is not what I need. What is the point of downloading stuff to your cpanel if you can't gain access to it from the link? When you highlight the text, then click on the Link Tool icon and select http, then what? Shouldn't this be a file and not a http? Do I have to create a seperate webpage for the link, and then past all of my info on that page? That seems a little silly.

Narsil
09-28-2006, 06:48 PM
Will my links not work till I publish the site, because when I click on "Preview" and then click on the link all I get is "page cannot be displayed"?
I have directed the link to a file not an http. This is what is says after URL in the Link Tool.
file://./Technical Data (26).doc

Also what is the Target and Bookmark for? blank, self, parent, top? Can't seem to find any info in the tutorials. Thanks again.

navaldesign
09-28-2006, 09:05 PM
When you upload a file on your site and link to it, it is directly accessible by a visitor if the visitor has the necessary software on his computer. So, by installing a http (not file) link to an uploaded Word document, will cause the visitors Word to open with the document from your site:
Target = where the linked page or file will open: in a new (blank), on the top (top), in the same (self) or a parent (depending from the initial) window.
Bookmark for links inside the same page or even separate pages: obliges the browser to focus on the poit of the page where the bookmark has been placed. The bookmarks (or anchors) are invisible to the visitor points each havin it's own name. If you place f.e. a bookmark at the bottom of your page, if it is too long, by clicking on a link that reffers to that bookmark, the browser will bringup the bottom of the page. A very common use is for FAQ pages, which are very long: At the top you have the questions, each one linked to a bookmark linked to the relevant answer. By clicking on the question, the browser comes up with the part of the page containing the relevant answer

islandpup52
10-06-2006, 02:34 AM
where is the video tutorial? it does not show up on my screen.

navaldesign
10-06-2006, 06:01 AM
The tutorials are available by clicking on "Tutorials" on the top bar of this very forum.

Ann957
10-19-2006, 09:52 PM
Hi, I am just starting out trying to create a web site for work.
I am a complete novice at this so i am generally finding it hard Ann

navaldesign
10-20-2006, 05:54 AM
We all started from zero, and we all still find new ways of accomplishing things. It's gonna come natural with time, don't worry.

Heddi
11-01-2006, 09:37 PM
Struggling badly here, have created 8 pages - not polished as yet but can't work out how to get buttons to link to the right pages - any info would be really appreciated as wasting countless hours trying !!!

HELP PLEASE!!

Bethers
11-02-2006, 01:14 AM
The buttons have to lead to the pages exactly how you've named them.

So - any button to your home (named index) page would be:
http://www.yourdomain.com

now you make another page and name it page2. To link to that page you need it to say:
http://www.yourdomain.com/page2.html

Just remember, the page names can't have spaces. If you wanted page 2 - you could do page_2 - and then you would need to type it that way in the url.

If you name it Page2, you would need it to have the capital P in the url.

And the links will not work in preview because they aren't live pages.

pet121
11-02-2006, 05:37 AM
I didn't read the entire thread but this too is an option. But first never use capitals in the url. Because you are using page number I figure for better optimizing use a folder structure if its' not too late.

For example:

mydomain.com/subject/page-2.html

Just an idea and makes thing a whole look easier. Better of to use text links they count as content and add revelancy to your description.

pet121

JoeHollinger
11-03-2006, 04:20 AM
I am going a bit goofy trying to figure out why links within and from my website pages work fine in IE 6.0 and some of them work (and some do not) in Firefox 2.0.

What should I do to make the link code compatible with all browsers?

Example page: http://www.weblandsecurity.com/agnitum/landing.html
Links are in blue and are, for the most part, underlined.

Help resolving this problem will be greatly appreciated.

Have a great day!

Joe Hollinger

navaldesign
11-03-2006, 04:34 AM
I'm afraid you are not going to like the answer. You are using a large Iframe (i suppose by BV tutorial in Tips and tricks) for your header and menubar. Well, FF has this bug: it cannot see links in the main page, that are covered by the iframe. Links NOT covered by the iframe work.

Solution: create TWO smaller iframes instead of one: one forizontal for the header, and one vertical for the side menu, so they will not cover your main page.