PDA

View Full Version : Annoying little line...



Patti Johnson
09-06-2005, 07:56 PM
This is a small problem but wondering if someone can help me. I was adding some vertical lines using the "shape" tool and wound up with a thin black line at the bottom of my index page. It does not appear anywhere in my file, but on the published page, it shows up. Can anyone tell me how to get rid of it? Check out www.lifeatfifty.com (http://www.lifeatfifty.com) at the very bottom of the index page (under the counter). Thanks.

Patti

Steven.H
09-06-2005, 10:54 PM
Try dragging your mouse over the targeted area, it might select the line and allow you to delete it.

Patti Johnson
09-07-2005, 01:15 AM
Thanks Steven.... tried dragging the mouse all over the area on that page, but nothing shows. Any other help is appreciated.


Patti


Try dragging your mouse over the targeted area, it might select the line and allow you to delete it.

Steven.H
09-07-2005, 02:06 AM
Try checking your arrangements. The line could be somewhere behind the main layout.

Try sending everything to the back of the page, hopefully it will show up.

Maddog
09-07-2005, 08:51 AM
goto view, click show grid, this will place around all your stuff if you see one thats doesn't belong there your have it!!!

Patti Johnson
09-07-2005, 06:52 PM
Thanks, but I always have my grid showing... and there's no content anywhere around where I see it on the live page... it's at the very bottom, under my counter. It simply doesn't appear anywhere in my file. I don't know what else to do. Think I should open a ticket?


goto view, click show grid, this will place around all your stuff if you see one thats doesn't belong there your have it!!!

pilotchip
09-14-2005, 11:14 AM
Check your source coding/html to see if there's a plain code input and an underline or something. IDK, wierd!

jason
www.pilotchip.com (http://www.pilotchip.com)

specialtiesbarbados
09-14-2005, 05:45 PM
I think Maddog means VIEW>Object Outlines

The lines you describe don't show on my screen. Have you done anything new to your site since last posting by pilotchip? As no one made any comment about that I wonder if it is because I use Mozilla Firefox as my browser...
your marquee covers the first line of main text box. The Amazon/books images further down cover text as well, the links at the top seem to have slipped down....Do viewers with Internet Explorer notice this too??

Norbert

racefan20
09-14-2005, 06:04 PM
I think Maddog means VIEW>Object Outlines

The lines you describe don't show on my screen. Have you done anything new to your site since last posting by pilotchip? As no one made any comment about that I wonder if it is because I use Mozilla Firefox as my browser...
your marquee covers the first line of main text box. The Amazon/books images further down cover text as well, the links at the top seem to have slipped down....Do viewers with Internet Explorer notice this too??

Norbert

I use a browser based on IE, and her site looks great from here.

Patti Johnson
09-14-2005, 07:27 PM
Bingo! Or at least half a bingo... I selected view objects outlines and sure enough, that stinkin' black line is there on my file! The bad news... I can't click on it to delete it! Any other ideas? I could always redo the page, but I'd rather not. Hopefully someone has an answer for me? BTW, the line currently appears in the last paragraph of text

Also, I had no idea that the page was not displaying correctly with Mozilla. I have wondered about that. Seems that I have to put html boxes in weird places that look totally out of place on the file, but are ok when published. I assume others have the same difficulties? Any work around for that problem?


I think Maddog means VIEW>Object Outlines

The lines you describe don't show on my screen. Have you done anything new to your site since last posting by pilotchip? As no one made any comment about that I wonder if it is because I use Mozilla Firefox as my browser...
your marquee covers the first line of main text box. The Amazon/books images further down cover text as well, the links at the top seem to have slipped down....Do viewers with Internet Explorer notice this too??

Norbert

Pablo
09-14-2005, 08:23 PM
Download version 7.5 which has some workarounds for FireFox/Mozilla bugs.

If you do a 'Select All' is the black line then selected.
It's probably an object on a layer that's covered by another object.

specialtiesbarbados
09-14-2005, 09:21 PM
Nope, there is no visual difference between IE and Firefox exept that in Firefox it is a little more noticable that the 3 Amazon books cover some text.

Also, I now see the line. Both In IE and Firefox. I was was looking in the left margin before but see it now within the text.

Patti, do you want me to send IE screen shots? There are 4 of them about 200Kb average.

Norbert

Pablo
09-14-2005, 09:39 PM
I've loaded your webpage in BlueVoda and it's clearly a (small) black shape object (bv01083.gif) behind your text object. Just move the text temporary to the side and select the shape to delete it.

specialtiesbarbados
09-14-2005, 09:57 PM
Patti, I think it's your file/image bv01083.gif that's giving you the problem.
Don't know if ***** would agree with this (as he said not to touch stuff in the preview folder) but I would go there anyway and temporarely place an x in front of file, i.e. rename it to xbv01083.gif . You can always change it back.

Reload your index page in BV and preview it. Line gone??

Norbert

specialtiesbarbados
09-14-2005, 09:59 PM
Ahhh, Pablo, you must have had a quicker way....

Norbert

Patti Johnson
09-19-2005, 01:09 AM
Thank you everyone who has been so helpful in trying to get rid of this irritating black line on my index page. Just to clear up the subject... Yes, I do see the line in the file when I move the text that's over it. However, I CANNOT click on it to delete it. I can click on everything else on the page, but not that particular image. It's there as clear as day, but just can't get rid of it.



Download version 7.5 which has some workarounds for FireFox/Mozilla bugs.

If you do a 'Select All' is the black line then selected.
It's probably an object on a layer that's covered by another object.

Patti Johnson
09-19-2005, 01:11 AM
I have downloaded the 7.5 version, but the images (particularly for Amazon books) still appear too large when viewed in FF. Any idea how to work around this? I can always change the images to text links if that will solve the problem.




Download version 7.5 which has some workarounds for FireFox/Mozilla bugs.

If you do a 'Select All' is the black line then selected.
It's probably an object on a layer that's covered by another object.

VodaHost
09-19-2005, 01:13 AM
Delete the page and do it again from scratch. That will get rid of it 100%. Dont spend hours dwelling on how to fix something. Just get rid of it. (My Opinion)