PDA

View Full Version : Why choose one over the other?



Charles Shaw
12-11-2006, 12:12 AM
Hola Todos,
We are creating another site and will have some near version of this page on it http://www.asuntosvitales.envirocurricula.com/introavpi.html (http://www.asuntosvitales.envirocurricula.com/introavpi.html)
still editing the clip, but we are stumped.


We know how to put things on the page, but we don´t know why we would choose Windows Media over Quicktime, Java or Flash. Could someone explain the differences? Right now, the movie is in a Windows Media box, but when the player comes up it looks like Real Player to us.
We don´t want a start bar like that, we want a click here to start the clip in LadyEye´s vodalien site.


Please help!

saludos,
Charles

LadyEye
12-11-2006, 03:38 AM
Chalien

Are you making a vodacious vodalien clip for the site? woo hoo ....

Okay, choosing one over the other ....

This is my best guide ....

Everyone, or most, have windows media player, quicktime needs to be downloaded by more than most to view, and as far as flash goes, more than most need to have flash installed ....

I think the windows media player allows more people to view ... but I may be wrong ....

I would avoid quicktime, I think quicktime and firefox do not get along with out websites here ....

Let's see what others have to say ..... Is it a movie? Can we get Katlien to bring the popcorn .... and by the way Chalien, have you seen the offer in the lounge to all Vodaliens? Have a look for that thread ....

:)

Charles Shaw
12-11-2006, 02:25 PM
Ah Dear Ladlien!
thank you for your good information.

Right now it is just a little clip we will use on a new website we are developing, but if we can learn how to do this well, quien sabe, we could make a film for the vodaliens.

Windows Media makes sense, we thought that was the case, that most have it and the others are a download of some sort... too much for the visitor to do.

So, how do we get rid of the start bar and have an enter here, or click here to begin the clip. The start bar is not in keeping with the design we envision.

Thank you so much and I will check out the Voda Lounge.

Chalien Charles

LadyEye
12-11-2006, 09:19 PM
Ah Dear Ladlien!
thank you for your good information.

So, how do we get rid of the start bar and have an enter here, or click here to begin the clip. The start bar is not in keeping with the design we envision.

Thank you so much and I will check out the Voda Lounge.

Chalien Charles


Hmmm .... my suggestions for this Charles would be to have kind of a cover page in advance of your video, I don't believe you can get rid of the start bar on the player ... there may be some type of script around, but one that I am unfamiliar with ....

If you made an introductory page for your video with the Enter Here image and when they click that image it then goes to the page with the video, and you have set on the videos properties for it to begin immediately, this may be kind of disguising what you want to do ... do you know what I mean?

Someone else may surely have a better idea than Red Green herself here ... lol ......... if all else fails, use duct tape.... lol (the vodalien way, lol)

Charles Shaw
12-11-2006, 10:27 PM
Thank you Lady Eye! (how many names do you have?)
I have been working on this all day
www.asuntosvitales.envirocurricula.com/introavpi.html (http://www.asuntosvitales.envirocurricula.com/introavpi.html)
and in Internet Explorer it works like I want it too and the start bar doesn´t show, but in Mozilla and Netscape the start bar shows and in Mozilla you have to start it whereas the others are auto. I am totally confused, but can live with it like this if I must.
Must I????

Saludos,
Charles

LadyEye
12-11-2006, 10:34 PM
hmmmm..... I use IE and yes it works exactly like that for me .... I do not use firefox, I do not care for it at all, while some other swear by it ...

I am not sure ..... I know most everything views differently in different browsers ... it looks great from what I view in ....

lol Chalien about the names

aka
LadyEye (forum username)
Ladlien (vodalien)
Holly (real)

You can call me any of these, just don't call me late for dinner, lol :)

Charles Shaw
12-12-2006, 07:21 PM
Thank you! We will keep working on it and let you know if it changes or we learn anything new. As a matter of fact, we did learn that we could put a black box over the area where the start controls were coming up on IE and cover it up. It then just auto starts and it all looks cool. However, on Mozilla and Netscape, the start comes up and on one of those two you actually have to push start... nothing is simple is it? Sigh.
Thanks again,
Chalien

Vasili
12-12-2006, 07:42 PM
If you do not want any of the Windows Media Player box elements to show, simply lay some shapes over the edges to "frame" it the way you desire.
** Remember to always right-click on these shapes and "Bring to Front" as one of the last "page changes" you make prior to "Save" so they will always cover as intended....

Charles Shaw
12-12-2006, 08:27 PM
Oh thanks again, Vasili, didn´t know that last trick! Will see if that solves the problem in MOz and Net!
Charles

Charles Shaw
12-12-2006, 09:02 PM
Well, I did as you bid, but while it works in IE it does not work in Moz or Net.
the start bar still shows, but they all now auto start.
Is this a browser thing and I should just accept that which I cannot change?
Charles
and Kate