PDA

View Full Version : Renameing 'under construction' page



Tomissan
12-11-2006, 01:24 AM
Sorry if this looks like a duplicate thread but after reading the others I still could not sort it out.

My problem:
I spent many months designing a site in BlueVoda and never got it finished so I decided to make a temporary "under construction' page. When I tried to publish the under construction page I learned (from a forum member) that I had to first publish the 'index' page which was the first, unfinished one.

When you go to the site: www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) it's shown as www.thai-land-house.com/underconstruction.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com/underconstruction.com)

Now, I've expanded the 'underconstruction' page and would like to have it as the original or 'index' page without disrupting the original one. I know this may sound confusing I'm not able to sort it out.

Any help with this would be greatefully appreciated.
Thank you
Tomissan

www.thai-land-house.com

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 01:28 AM
Save your homepage as "index" in BV and MUST be publish in pubic_html folder. And check you redirects if you created one.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 01:33 AM
Save your homepage as "index" in BV and MUST be publish in pubic_html folder. And check you redirects if you created one.
thanks for the super quick reply.

In BV, the 'under construction' page is already saved as 'under construction' and the original site that I didn't finish or publish is the index page. How do I go about changing or fixing this???

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 01:41 AM
1. It appears that the "under construction" is your "index" page. Do you save it as your "index" page in public_html folder? or
2. Is your site www.thai-land-house.com/under_construction.html (http://www.thai-land-house.com/under_construction.html) is your original site?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 01:48 AM
1. It appears that the "under construction" is your "index" page. Do you save it as your "index" page in public_html folder? or
2. Is your site www.thai-land-house.com/under_construction.html (http://www.thai-land-house.com/under_construction.html) is your original site?

No. the original site is different. In fact, I want to take it out and leave only the 'under construction' page making it the index page.

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 01:53 AM
So, the www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) is different from www.underconstruction.html (http://www.underconstruction.html)?

Check for you VBS account if you want to cancel the thai-land-house.com as your domain and make underconstruction.com as your index. Am i reading it right?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 02:05 AM
So, the www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) is different from www.underconstruction.html (http://www.underconstruction.html)?

Check for you VBS account if you want to cancel the thai-land-house.com as your domain and make underconstruction.com as your index. Am i reading it right?

Yes, they are two different sites. the original one was never finished but I thought I had to publish it in order to publish the under construction page.
Maybe I'm not describing it properly..
Basically what I want to do is make the under construction page the index page and take out the other site. In other words. making the 'under construction page the index page for thai-land-house.com

thanks for your help

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 02:16 AM
Alright, rename "underconstruction" as your "index" page for your domain http://www.thai-land-house.com and publish it under the folder public_html. When you type the specified above url, it MUST be the same as new http://www.thai-land-house.com/index.html for http://www.thai-land-house.com/underconstruction.html
Important that you delete the "underconstruction" file on your cPanel but save it first as index page if you want the same homepage to appear.

Regards
Jayson ü

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 02:27 AM
Alright, rename "underconstruction" as your "index" page for your domain http://www.thai-land-house.com and publish it under the folder public_html. When you type the specified above url, it MUST be the same as new http://www.thai-land-house.com/index.html for http://www.thai-land-house.com/underconstruction.html
Important that you delete the "underconstruction" file on your cPanel but save it first as index page if you want the same homepage to appear.

Regards
Jayson

ok. I think I understand.
In BV, rename the 'underconstruction' page as index but then what happens to the original 'index', do I rename that one also?
The next part confuses me..sorry, still a bit new to this but appreciate your help...
regds,
Tom

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 02:32 AM
The original index will be replaced by the new one and it is called overwriting. ü

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 02:36 AM
The original index will be replaced by the new one and it is called overwriting.

I tried changing the name in BV but it wouldn't allow it saying that file already exists. Are you saying I should rename it in Cpanel and if so how?
thanx again

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 02:38 AM
The original index will be replaced by the new one and it is called overwriting.

ok...I think I got it. now publishing it to the web.

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 02:43 AM
No, problem.. Just feel free to ask here.. Go to the proper forum and produce a thread, and a lot of people here are very willing to help.. ü

Regards,
Jayson "Es0n™"

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 02:57 AM
No, problem.. Just feel free to ask here.. Go to the proper forum and produce a thread, and a lot of people here are very willing to help..

Regards,
Jayson "Es0n"

Jayson,

I renamed the "underconstruction" page in BV to thailandhouse_index and published it but the under construction page is still active. can you tell me how to delete the underconstruction page in cpanel...

j_enriquez
12-11-2006, 03:06 AM
Log in to your cPanel. Click "File Manager" and another window will appear. From there browse the file and make and click the name and on the right, it will appear some option of what you can do to the file.

Regards,
Jayson

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 03:47 AM
Log in to your cPanel. Click "File Manager" and another window will appear. From there browse the file and make and click the name and on the right, it will appear some option of what you can do to the file.

Regards,
Jayson

Hi again,
It seems I've created a monster now.
I re-named/overwrit the thailandhouse_index and now I've lost that entire site that I spent months making. It is still in cpanel but it's altogether/mixed in with the underconstruction site. hmmmm.. can I recover this site somehow?

In the file manager it appears I can only delete items one at a time instead of the entire site to replace it with the new one. Would it be better to delete everything and re-publish the newly named one? and if so, what would be the easiest way to accomplish this without deleting subdomains, etc. ???

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 04:29 AM
Tomissan: Are you still online? If so, I'll be here and can walk you through it. Let me know.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 04:49 AM
Tomissan: Are you still online? If so, I'll be here and can walk you through it. Let me know.
Hi Dream Lady,
Yes, I'm still on and losing more hair by the minute...your help is much appreciated.
should we use yahoo im or skype?

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 04:55 AM
Well, since you don't appear to be online, I'll leave some instructions here for you.
I am assuming that your primary domain name (which will also be your public_html folder) is www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com). I will assume this to be the case. If your directory that you are publishing to is something different, then you will need to change it accordingly.

1. Bring up your underconstruction page in bluevoda. Go to file, save page as and type index . Nothing else before or after it. Just index . Save it. Assuming your other index page you created is in the same directory, then it will come up and say something like. ......index already exists, Do you want to replace it? You will say yes. When you do that, your underconstruction page will become your index page. If you had anything on the index page, it will be gone. (So if you want to save the old index file first, save it as something else, so that you have it, before you write over it.)

Ok, now you should have your (old underconstruction page) as your index.bvp page. save and publish that page to your public_html/thai-land-house directory (again assuming that is the name of your site directory. If not replace the thai-land-house with whatever the name of the directory you are using is.

After you publish it, then you should be able to type in www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) in your browsers url and bring up your (old underconstruction page).

To answer your other question, to delete your old underconstruction page.....with your bluevoda program up, go to Tools, FTP Manager, click on connect, enter your user name and password (the same one you use to access your cpanel). That will connect you to your FTP manager. On the left side you will see your files that are stored on your harddrive. On the right side are the directorys and files stored on the web server. Find the directory and "underconstruction" page on the right side, select it and delete it. That simple. Disconnect and your done.

I hope this helps and good luck to you.

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 04:58 AM
Oh, there you are. Sorry, I don't have yahoo or skype, so we'll just have to make due with the forum.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 05:19 AM
Well, since you don't appear to be online, I'll leave some instructions here for you.
I am assuming that your primary domain name (which will also be your public_html folder) is www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com). I will assume this to be the case. If your directory that you are publishing to is something different, then you will need to change it accordingly. yes, thai-land-house.com is the primary domain name

1. Bring up your underconstruction page in bluevoda. Go to file, save page as and type index . Nothing else before or after it. Just index . Save it. Assuming your other index page you created is in the same directory, then it will come up and say something like. ......index already exists, Do you want to replace it? You will say yes. When you do that, your underconstruction page will become your index page. If you had anything on the index page, it will be gone. (So if you want to save the old index file first, save it as something else, so that you have it, before you write over it.) I was too late for this so I've lost the original index page.

Ok, now you should have your (old underconstruction page) as your index.bvp page. save and publish that page to your public_html/thai-land-house directory (again assuming that is the name of your site directory. If not replace the thai-land-house with whatever the name of the directory you are using is. After re-nameing the 'underconstruction' page to 'index' i just clicked 'publish' assuming this was the right thing to do. When I type in www.thai-land-house.com the page still comes up 'underconstruction'..

After you publish it, then you should be able to type in www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) in your browsers url and bring up your (old underconstruction page).

To answer your other question, to delete your old underconstruction page.....with your bluevoda program up, go to Tools, FTP Manager, click on connect, enter your user name and password (the same one you use to access your cpanel). That will connect you to your FTP manager. On the left side you will see your files that are stored on your harddrive. On the right side are the directorys and files stored on the web server. Find the directory and "underconstruction" page on the right side, select it and delete it. That simple. Disconnect and your done. I'm into the FTP manager and can not find 'underconstruction'....

I hope this helps and good luck to you.

Thanks so much..

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 05:28 AM
While in your FTP the main page that comes up on the right side is your public_html. What directorys (file folders) do you have there? Did you look inside of those to see if you may have saved your old "underconstruction" page in one of the other folders?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 05:31 AM
While in your FTP the main page that comes up on the right side is your public_html. What directorys (file folders) do you have there?


the first folder doesn't have a name just a couple .. after the folder
then: ariesconstruction
cgi-bin
tom
then the rest are jpg's
etc..

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 05:33 AM
Ok, click on your public_html folder. Is it in there?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 05:36 AM
Ok, click on your public_html folder. Is it in there?

I don't see it anywhere. just the folders/files mentioned

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 05:41 AM
When I click on your url, "under construction" is not coming up at all. I just get "page cannot be displayed". The underconstruction may just be stored in your cache. Do you know how to clear your cache? I wouldn't worry about the underconstruction file for now. Let's just try and get your index page up so you can see your website.

So you have your index page now right? It it is what you want to be your home page, right? It is just called index and nothing else. You have saved it, right? When you save it, it should now be index.bvp. Now you want to publish it. Make sure when you publish it that you publish to the folder: public_html/thai-land-house . You do have a folder in the ftp (right side) called thai-land-house, right?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 05:44 AM
When I click on your url, "under construction" is not coming up at all. I just get "page cannot be displayed". The underconstruction may just be stored in your cache. Do you know how to clear your cache? I wouldn't worry about the underconstruction file for now. Let's just try and get your index page up so you can see your website.

So you have your index page now right? It it is what you want to be your home page, right? It is just called index and nothing else. You have saved it, right? When you save it, it should now be index.bvp. Now you want to publish it. Make sure when you publish it that you publish to the folder: public_html/thai-land-house . You do have a folder in the ftp (right side) called thai-land-house, right?
yes. there is a thai-land-house.html and a thailandhouse_index.html
and when I type in www.thai-land-house.com I get http://thai-land-house.com/underconstruction.html along with the page

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 05:50 AM
No, that's not what I'm looking for. Those are just files and actually the thailandhouse_index.html you probably want to delete, because it is named incorrectly.

Ok, so no actual folder called thai-land-house. Before we go any further, do you have any other domains registered with vodahost or is this the only one.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 05:53 AM
No, that's not what I'm looking for. Those are just files and actually the thailandhouse_index.html you probably want to delete, because it is named incorrectly.

Ok, so no actual folder called thai-land-house. Before we go any further, do you have any other domains registered with vodahost or is this the only one.

only thai-land-house.com with some parked domains

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 05:58 AM
Ok, since thia-land-house.com is your primary domain, then we will publish to your public_html folder. So save and publish your index page to the folder public_html . Do that now and let's see what we get

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:06 AM
Ok, since thai-land-house.com is your primary domain, then we will publish to your public_html folder. So save and publish your index page to the folder public_html . Do that now and let's see what we get
ok. the internet is a bit slow here in northeast thailand but it's working...

In BV, do I want to name/re-name the page with the hyphens? thailandhouse or thai-land-house ?

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:11 AM
If we don't get you up and running soon...I'll have to order us some pizza!! lol I keep checking your site, but haven't see you come up yet. Still checking....

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:14 AM
If we don't get you up and running soon...I'll have to order us some pizza!! lol I keep checking your site, but haven't see you come up yet. Still checking....
It's still "publishing". OK, finished publishing but the "underconstruction" page appears
pizza sounds great, even better would be some Mexican food, it's been many years.....I'll gladly pick up the bill...

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:17 AM
You shouldn't be naming anything thai-land-house.????

You have a page that you have named index.bvp, right? All you are going to do is to publish that by pressing the publish button in the top menu or go to file and select publish. When the dialog box comes up, it should automatically fill in with your server IP, username and password (check your welcome letter and make sure the server IP is the one you should be using, if not select the correct one. If your username and password isn't already stored there, then again, type it in. Then on the line that says folder, the only thing that should go there is: public_html . That's it.

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:20 AM
Ok...if we get mexican then I will have to have a margarita!! lol. I just got back from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I'm not a big drinker, but I sure did enjoy their Margarita's!! My avatar picture was taken down there, after having a few. I think that's why my eyes are so glassy!! lol

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:20 AM
ok. done

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:29 AM
What server IP are you publishing to? I'm still not seeing it. When did you download BlueVoda? Do you have the latest version since the changed the servers? Sorry to be asking so many questions, but if you have done as instructed, your site should be there! Have you closed your browser lately...refreshed?? Another trick is to press your F5 key quickly about 4 or 5 times.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:30 AM
Ok...if we get mexican then I will have to have a margarita!! lol. I just got back from Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I'm not a big drinker, but I sure did enjoy their Margarita's!! My avatar picture was taken down there, after having a few. I think that's why my eyes are so glassy!! lol
Margarita's & Mexican food...I would die for....
thanks for taking the time to help get me straigtened out.
One question. can I log on to cpanel if I'm already logged on through BV/ftp?

After 'refreshing' the site doesn't come up anymore..only underconstruction moved...

Now I'm getting the "index page" not the site...!!!

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:35 AM
When I type in www.thai-land-house.com/index.html (http://www.thai-land-house.com/index.html) this is what I get;

71.39.149.150 /index.html

If you published your index page as just "index" in your public_html then bv automatically adds the html on the end of index. With that, we should be seeing your home page. My concern is now, if you have the latest version of blue voda downloaded. They upgraded their servers this last month and if your site was on one of those servers then you need to download the latest version so that you have access to the correct server. Do you know if you were affected by this? When did you download blue voda software?? more than a month ago?

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:38 AM
Hey!! I see your index now....making progress!!!

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:42 AM
When I type in www.thai-land-house.com/index.html (http://www.thai-land-house.com/index.html) this is what I get;

71.39.149.150 /index.html

If you published your index page as just "index" in your public_html then bv automatically adds the html on the end of index. With that, we should be seeing your home page. My concern is now, if you have the latest version of blue voda downloaded. They upgraded their servers this last month and if your site was on one of those servers then you need to download the latest version so that you have access to the correct server. Do you know if you were affected by this? When did you download blue voda software?? more than a month ago?

Im using BV 8.0.1

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:50 AM
Ok good. You have the latest version.

Now when I type in: www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) yes, I get your index showing all of your files and images. Let's walk through this one more time, ok?

You made your home page and it is now saved as index.bvp right?

After you saved it, you published it to your public_html folder right?

When you did that, bv automatically converts your index.bvp page into index.html, which is your home page and what you would get when you type in your domain name.

If you have done all of the above and it's still not working.....then I'm stumped. I don't know what else to tell you. I'll see if I can get Naval Design to come check out this thread. He is a moderator on this forum and he would be able to get you over this hump...I'm sure of it.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 06:53 AM
Ok good. You have the latest version.

Now when I type in: www.thai-land-house.com (http://www.thai-land-house.com) yes, I get your index showing all of your files and images. Let's walk through this one more time, ok?

You made your home page and it is now saved as index.bvp right? Yes

After you saved it, you published it to your public_html folder right? Yes, I will try again...

When you did that, bv automatically converts your index.bvp page into index.html, which is your home page and what you would get when you type in your domain name.

If you have done all of the above and it's still not working.....then I'm stumped. I don't know what else to tell you. I'll see if I can get Naval Design to come check out this thread. He is a moderator on this forum and he would be able to get you over this hump...I'm sure of it.

ok...thanks again. I owe you a pizza & margarita's

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 06:57 AM
I just put out a distress call for Naval....I notice he is on line, so hopefully he'll see it and swing in pretty soon. What time is it in Thailand right now?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 07:05 AM
I just put out a distress call for Naval....I notice he is on line, so hopefully he'll see it and swing in pretty soon. What time is it in Thailand right now?

It's 2pm Monday. must be late (or early) there in Colorado..
I published it again and I get the index's again....

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:13 AM
Oh..not to bad, it's only 12:15 am. But Mexican food is sounding really good. Here...have a burrito...Would you like to try a Mango Margarita...

Are you originally from the states?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 07:17 AM
Oh..not to bad, it's only 12:15 am. But Mexican food is sounding really good. Here...have a burrito...Would you like to try a Mango Margarita...

Are you originally from the states? Yes, California

I could offer you some fried grasshoppers, papaya salad, sticky rice, etc.

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:21 AM
I'll pass on the grasshoppers, but the papaya salad sounds good! Well, if you can, try and stay on line as long as possible to see if Naval comes to help you out. I'm just sorry, I couldn't help get your site up. I'll check back tomorrow, to see if you got anywhere! Good Luck and if you get a chance stop in the Voda Lounge. A lot of crazy people over there having all kinds of fun. See ya around!

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 07:27 AM
I'll pass on the grasshoppers, but the papaya salad sounds good! Well, if you can, try and stay on line as long as possible to see if Naval comes to help you out. I'm just sorry, I couldn't help get your site up. I'll check back tomorrow, to see if you got anywhere! Good Luck and if you get a chance stop in the Voda Lounge. A lot of crazy people over there having all kinds of fun. See ya around!

I'll stay on-line all day. It sometimes goes down for hours/days sometimes but the moment it's ok.
What if I delete EVERYTHING in ftp and publish again?

again, muchos gracias por su henarasidad...

Tom

Bethers
12-11-2006, 07:31 AM
Here is the problem - the home page was NOT named index - you named it
thailandhouse_index and you can see it here:
http://www.thai-land-house.com/thailandhouse_index.html
Now if you go in and click save as on the page and rename it index - JUST index - nothing else - it will display properly.

Sorry, I'm not Naval - hope I'm acceptable.

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 07:37 AM
Here is the problem - the home page was NOT named index - you named it
thailandhouse_index and you can see it here:
http://www.thai-land-house.com/thailandhouse_index.html
Now if you go in and click save as on the page and rename it index - JUST index - nothing else - it will display properly.

Sorry, I'm not Naval - hope I'm acceptable. Totally acceptable Bethers, thanks.
I've done it and published it, now just waiting for the results...

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:38 AM
thankyou, thankyou Beth!! Beth, Naval..still the most knowledgable 2 people on the forum and absolutely VERY ACCEPTABLE.

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:40 AM
Yea!!! Let's celebrate!!! Bring on those Margaritas and Burritos! Tom is buying. Now Beth...I could swear I told Tom the same thing...but he listens to you! See how much pull you have here!! I see your site Tom!!

Bethers
12-11-2006, 07:42 AM
You're welcome - I see the page now.

And I LOVE margaritas - who's buying?

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:44 AM
Tom the Thailand Guy! And hey Tom...it's even later where Beth is. What is Beth like 3:00am where you are?

Tomissan
12-11-2006, 07:48 AM
You're welcome - I see the page now.

And I LOVE margaritas - who's buying?

I'm buying if someone's flyin, I'll even pick you up at the airport. 3 doz buritos and 6 dozen tacos please....

Dream Lady
12-11-2006, 07:52 AM
Ok, Beth...I'll get on my website and book our travel...I'll swing by your place and off to Thailand we'll go! Now that I can travel wholesale being a travel agent, it shouldn't cost us much. Tom...start saving your money, because after this holiday season, Beth may want quite a few Margaritas!! lol

Goodnight all and now I can rest peacefully!