PDA

View Full Version : iFrame links



vlsusocy
12-28-2006, 10:17 PM
I would like the contents of an iFrame (pictures) to point to a new link.

Can this be done and how?

navaldesign
12-28-2006, 11:03 PM
Just as they would in a normal page: link the images to wherever you want.

vlsusocy
12-29-2006, 07:40 AM
Thanks for replying.

What I want to do is to have a gallery with thumbnails and when someone clicks on one of the thumbnails a bigger picture to appear in the iframe.
This I have done.

The next step is when someone clicks on the iframe picture to be able to either download it or view a large sample of the picture. How can I have a "changing" kind of link?


Thanks anyway for your time.

Asos_Illusionist
12-29-2006, 07:50 AM
You can't resize an iframe unless you use some serious javascripts implimenting some ajax code and stuff..

you can have anything you want inside an iframe but.. to link an streight image to a url you can't you must have one html that points to that picture and only to that picture and the code inside is gonna be something like..
<a href="http://YOURLINK" target="_self"><img src="http://THEIMAGE"></a>
that is going to open the required url inside the iframe.. if you change the target="_self" to target="_parent" the url is going to opened on the page that utilizes the iframe.. if you want to popup other window to display the big picture you must use some popup code to the html that you display inside the iframe (e.g. from dynamicdrive.com) (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/)

It's a log story with iframes.. and you must be carefull cause they're a bit heavy for a website and a browser if you use a lot of the in a page..

Consider using other methods to call upon something for example php that uses the server to compute stuff and gives html result on a browser.. the kind of thing you want..

p.s. sorry'bout my lagy english..!! heh not used to write english

navaldesign
12-29-2006, 11:36 AM
First of all greetings and my best wishes to both my copatriots in CY and GR.

On the topic: if i have understood well, you are going to have a medium resolution image, that will appear in the I-frame, and a second, high resolution version of the same picture. If this is the case, then yes, you can easily link an image which is inside an i-frame without any code knowledge, by using only BV and this very simple trick:

1. Do NOT upload the medium resolution images directly on the server, and do NOT link your thumbnails to those image files.
2. Upload, on the server, the even larger file image, lets call it, for this example, "high_resolution_image1. Repeat for all images.
3. For every image, create a BV page. Place only the medium resolution image in the page, on the very top left corner. LINK THIS IMAGE TO THE HIGH RESOLUTION IMAGE FILE simply using BV's link icon. Make the link _blank. Save your page as f.e. "image1" . Publish this page (it will be published as image1.html). Repeat for all your images.
4. Go back in your original page, the one with the i frame, and link the thumbnails to the single pages that contain the medium resolution images.

When somebody clicks on the thumbnail, the medium resolution image will appear in the iframe. By clicking on this image, they will be redirected to the high resolution image file.

vlsusocy
12-29-2006, 11:45 AM
Excellent!

This is exactly what I was looking for.

Great help - Cheers.

Panayiotis

navaldesign
12-29-2006, 12:17 PM
You are welcome.

Γιωργος

aubin
01-14-2007, 04:06 PM
i was wondering if i can take my own photshop templates and putting in blue voda can that work?

navaldesign
01-14-2007, 09:21 PM
Templates in BV are simply static images. If that is whay you mean by "template", then ofcourse, you can import any image you have created in photoshop, as a template in BV