PDA

View Full Version : First time I have tried to add on another domain, advice please.



karel
01-10-2007, 05:34 PM
Can anyone please help me with adding on anonther domain to my account. Part of the message I received is below;

firstwebcall.com has been setup. It can be accessed via the subdomain
firstwebcall.anxietynomore.co.uk. FTP access has been granted with the
user name firstwebcall@anxietynomore.co.uk (http://70.86.134.194:2095/horde/imp/message.php?index=987#) and the password ######.

I was then told to ;

http://www.firstwebcall.com/ (http://www.firstwebcall.com/)

You need to publish a site to the below folder:

public_html/firstwebcall

Could somebody please take me through the process of what i need to do. As i am alittle confused to where i start.

Thank you

Paul

lovethatbluegrassmusic
01-10-2007, 08:23 PM
log in to your normal control panel
make sure you have public_html selected
make a new folder, give it the name firstwebcall
log out of control panel
bring up the NEW index page you have made
for 'firstwebcall' and select 'publish'
It will default to 'public_html',
Since you are publishing a new index page for
a sub-domain, change the folder destination in
the publish box to : public_html/firstwebcall
so the new index page will go in to the firstwebcall
folder. Remember, 'firstwebcall' is a sub-folder
of the public_html directory. When you go to the www.firstwebcall.com (http://www.firstwebcall.com)
you are currently seeing a file message. That will change when you place
an index page into that sub-folder.

karel
01-10-2007, 09:04 PM
Hi Brad,

I have just tried that and it has worked, thank you very much for your help. It is easy now someone told me where i had to put that folder.

By the way you have some lovely music on your website.

Many Thanks again..............................

Bethers
01-10-2007, 09:06 PM
You do NOT have to make a new folder in your cp - that is done for you when you made the add-on domain.

The rest is correct.

karel
01-10-2007, 09:17 PM
Thanks Beth,

It took me ages to figure out where i was supposed to put this folder, i thought it went in the ftp manager???? no wonder i could not find it.....lol

Thanks all

Sara

Bethers
01-10-2007, 10:37 PM
Sara, I look forward to seeing the new site!

dsussex@ukonline.co.uk
01-13-2007, 04:26 PM
Hi everyone, I'm new here and new to publishing websites generally. I've just published a page - just to see if it worked - www.2busy4that.com amd it worked fine, except for the images, which are not showing. The images have uploaded with the published page and I can see them in FTP manager. Incidentally, I avoided the addon domain problems by reading the above (this site is an addon domain - I just decided to work on it first).

Any views on this?

dsussex@ukonline.co.uk
01-13-2007, 04:27 PM
Here's another one, why has my email address appeared on this posting, rather than the name?

navaldesign
01-13-2007, 08:34 PM
Question 1: Your pictures probably don't show because you have hotlink protection enabled. I say this because when i try to search your imeges directly, i get this:
Forbidden

You don't have permission to access /toobusysmall.jpg on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


Go in your CP, Hotlink, and add your site to the list of allowed sites.

2. Because you have probably signed up with your email address as username.

dsussex@ukonline.co.uk
01-17-2007, 09:08 PM
Thanks, that worked and I have my pictures now.

How do I change my login?

Crockett

dsussex@ukonline.co.uk
01-17-2007, 09:09 PM
Re above, I didn't mean login, I meant signup username!!!

navaldesign
01-17-2007, 09:19 PM
You mean your account username ? You can't, you can only change your password.

LadyEye
01-17-2007, 09:48 PM
You mean your account username ? You can't, you can only change your password.


Naval I am thinking (as I read his other posts) that he would like his username in this forum changed ... if that is the case, you could submit a support ticket, giving the reasons why you would like it changed, and they will do this for you .....

navaldesign
01-17-2007, 09:52 PM
He only has 4 posts. He can simply signup with a new username and password........

LadyEye
01-17-2007, 09:55 PM
He only has 4 posts. He can simply signup with a new username and password........


Good thinking ... probably a much simpler solution ......

dsussex@ukonline.co.uk
01-17-2007, 10:48 PM
Aha! if I sign up with a new username, then you won't know it's me!

Seriously, I will take your advice.

I have another problem now. I set up a temporary page saying site under construction. Now I've tried to publish another index page (which published sucessfully), but the site under construction reigns supreme and won't go away. What have I done? It's www.2busy4that.com.

Thanks

Crockett
01-17-2007, 11:19 PM
That's better, I feel like a new man!

This is dsussex@ukonline's alter ego

LadyEye
01-18-2007, 12:48 AM
lol Crockett ... maybe we'll call you davey, lol ....

hmmm ....

if you named it index, saved it as index, and published it as index to your public_html it should change to the page you want .....

be sure to overwrite that under construction page ....

navaldesign
01-18-2007, 04:08 AM
The old, well known problem: your page is pulished as "Index" with uppercase I instead of lower case. Follow LE's advise.

Crockett
01-18-2007, 12:58 PM
Thanks all, it works now I've changed it to lower case!

LadyEye, you can call me anything (the D is for David) - thanks for your help.

LadyEye
01-18-2007, 04:44 PM
Thanks all, it works now I've changed it to lower case!

LadyEye, you can call me anything (the D is for David) - thanks for your help.


yw David .... Just don't call you late for dinner right, lol

I've signed up for your newsletter, hopefully it will help me deal with the fact that I am always so busy doing nothing .... lol

I'm looking forward to it ... (hope I don't find that stinky **** under my cupboards though, or I'm outta here, lol)

Crockett
01-18-2007, 05:40 PM
Thanks for signing up - you'll be the first non-family member to do so and will therefore be a special and valued customer! Did the aweber autoresponder work OK? You should have got a confirmation, then the report and today / tomorrow, an eletter. You'd get more, but they have yet to be written!