PDA

View Full Version : Installing soho on sub directory



vedprakash
01-14-2007, 07:38 AM
How can i install soholaunch on sub directory of my web site ?

Thanking you!

Karen Mac
01-14-2007, 09:04 PM
You cant, It requires the use of a domain. You can install it on a subdomain, but it requires its own domain name.

Karen

dougnez
01-15-2007, 01:10 AM
Well then ... Could I utilize BV Web Builder on my Main Domain and then use Soho on a Addon Domain... Hummmm???... Thanks Doug

Karen Mac
01-15-2007, 06:23 AM
Yes.. You can DO that and link to your catalog. And I meant .. install it on an ADD ON.

Karen

dougnez
01-15-2007, 01:21 PM
Thanks Karen... I'll probably do just that... the Soho addon..then access via a link to the site I'm presently finishing up... Now connecting the Soho site to the BV site .. via hyperlink is OK is it not??? Doug

Karen Mac
01-15-2007, 07:13 PM
Doug,

Yes you can link or even make lil buttons and link.. and its ok.. long as you dont try to hide they are going to a different domain to check out.

Karen

Karen Mac
01-16-2007, 09:55 PM
Doug

Have you tried using the splash page? in Soho, you can pretty much do whatever you want there. I think you can even do it on the home page.. give me a pm on the other forum or contact me on msn if you have questions.

Karen

dougnez
01-19-2007, 05:46 PM
Hi... My Main domain is finishing up done on BV .... So...If I download Soho to mysite2.com (for layout purposes) can I then move it over to mysite3.com?
I'll be starting on this Soho project soon....Thanks Doug

Karen Mac
01-19-2007, 07:40 PM
Doug,

I did a LATE niter or AMer or whatever u want to call it and just sipping my first cup.. so forgive me if i am groggy here.

I dont know that you can just move soho around like that as you have the databases to connect. Im guessing you could download the products table from mysql and then move the installation or reinstall it to your 3rd domain, and repopulate your products table, but I am LOST as to why youd want to do it on site2.com.. then move to site 3.com for all the extra work. But its your time and your web space. All things are ALMOST possible.

Karen

dougnez
01-19-2007, 08:21 PM
Hi Karen... I was thinking about moving over a different domain name from GoDaddy... That takes days sometimes... So I guess I was just thinking out loud.. Probably not get into toying with SoHo till next Week So Have a nice weekend... Doug