PDA

View Full Version : soholaunch menu navigation



rsanford
01-21-2007, 11:06 PM
How can I structure several sub levels in my menu?

I want to structure my menu as in Windows Explorer with directories and several levels of subdirectories.


Thanks,
Stan

Karen Mac
01-22-2007, 02:02 AM
When you create a page it asks if you want it on or off menu, say no.. then go to the menu navigation in soho control panel and on the left it shows you available pages and you have the option of adding them as top level or sublevel pages. you can move them up and down the list so that they sub under the different main menu pages. I believe you cannot do a sub of a sub tho. You could make a splash page and link to it from the sub tho.

Karen

deesdogcare
01-26-2007, 05:10 AM
OK . . . I'min the same situation. I have a menu item named ARTICLES, which will have a ton of submenu items when I am through. I have already decided that I just want the main subheaders to show on the menu (for instance, PHOTOGRAPHY) and place links my subheader pages for the actual articles. How can I find the URL for my off menu pages so that I can create my links or, if I can't do that, can I create the pages into a directory/subdirectory pattern of some sort?

The thing is . . . I want my site to remain uniform. If I have to do all of the articles as splash pages, I won't be able to keep the template, will I?

Karen Mac
01-26-2007, 06:36 AM
Dedi,

You can do menu pages too, just dont put them in navigation. They will use the template, but you will have to make an html link to them..

http://www.yoursite.com/index.html?pr=your_article

That would be the html part of the link.

Karen

deesdogcare
01-26-2007, 07:29 AM
Once again, you have come in and SAVED me! I jumped back into Soho and tried it . . . it's exactly what I wanted to do! Thanks so much, Karen!!! Now My menu will stay much cleaner and easier for visitors to navigate. :))

Karen Mac
01-26-2007, 04:36 PM
Youre Welcome Dedi...

Karen

deesdogcare
01-26-2007, 07:44 PM
OK, new menu issue . . . I have 2 submenu items that are not showing up under my articles heading. I have placed them there in my menu navigation and did save the new navigation setting. They show under articles in my Soho menu navigation section, but they do not show on my web site. ????????Help??????

Karen Mac
01-27-2007, 04:04 AM
Dedi

Give me a link. I have NO idea what you are talking about. I thought you didnt want them to show up in the navigation anywhere??? If you do, then go to the navigation icon, add them as a sub menu.. and put them under the articles main page.

If thats NOT what you want.. then link me so i can look at your source code. You probably arent linking to them correctly.

Karen

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 01:31 AM
Sorry for the delay, Karen . . . been away from the puter since I posted that q. My navigation should be:
Articles (main heading)

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 01:38 AM
oops, didn't mean for that to post! Wasn't finished writing! OK, my navigation should be:

Articles (main heading)
Categories (subheadings --- several of these) when you click these links, you get a page that has links to the actual articles.

Your earlier post helped me keep all of the actual articles from showing in my menu (which is what I want), but I have several categories that should be subheadings. Right now, five of them are showing even though my menu navigation control shows that I have seven subheadings that should be showing.

My site is www.deesdogcare.com (http://www.deesdogcare.com)

Thanks!
Dedi

Karen Mac
01-28-2007, 03:45 AM
Dedi..

I looked in source code and they arent there either! Are you sure you moved them over? Added them as a sub and pushed them up under articles?

If you did, Im not sure why they arent showing. Post in Soho and see if theres a limit to sub pages. I wouldnt think there is.. but.. seems like the reason they might not be there.

Karen

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 06:03 AM
Yep, I'msure I put them there . . . and they are showing in the right place on my menu control. What do you mean by post in Soho?

Bethers
01-28-2007, 06:28 AM
Dedi,
Karen is suggesting you post that over at the Soho forum:
http://forum.soholaunch.com/index.php

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 06:45 AM
ahhhhhhhhhh! I didn't even realize that forum was available! Thanks so much!

Karen Mac
01-28-2007, 04:53 PM
Dedi,

Ya .. sorry! I forget sometimes not everyone realizes theres a forum.. however if someone had read the documentation.. I guess theyd know.

Ill try to be more specific.

Karen

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 05:37 PM
Sorry, I've read so much documentation in the past few days that I've become overloaded. It's hard to remember it all when you are brand new to the whole website thing and are having to learn C-Panel, your website builder docs, blog docs (on all possibilities), forum docs (again, on all possibilities), plug-in and add-on docs . . . etc, etc.

I'm learning and a quick study, but it does take a lot of reading, trial, and error in these inital stages.

I want to thank you for sharing your knowledge as it has been invaluable to me.

Karen Mac
01-28-2007, 10:17 PM
Dedi

No problem. I remember what its like to be GREEN. And you are a pretty quick study. Sometimes I get bombarded, not just this forum, but another one and sometimes i get a little testy, especially when answering the same question 6 times in ten minutes... but its not personal.. I just need to start shutting it off!

Karen

deesdogcare
01-28-2007, 10:46 PM
Just an update . . . I feel like an idiot! My pages would not show because they had parenthesis in the page name! Changed the names and all is GREAT!!!!! WOOO HOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Karen Mac
01-29-2007, 03:49 AM
LOL.. No problem... I once changed all my payment gateway passwords to the WRONG password... it happens..

Karen