PDA

View Full Version : Form Dropdown option



ashishmen
03-16-2007, 03:45 PM
How do I allow multiple selection in the field drop down ( Currently it says select one..)? How will the database table be populated with multiple selection?

Karen Mac
03-16-2007, 04:58 PM
Ash

You have to populate the table with the desired options.

Karen

ashishmen
03-16-2007, 05:50 PM
I have created the form that allows multiple selection in drop down. However the data table shows only last selection. How should I configure the data table?

Karen Mac
03-16-2007, 05:55 PM
Ash

No offense Intended... But find a tutorial on doing forms!

Karen

ashishmen
03-16-2007, 06:06 PM
I have gone thru the tutorial.......may be not able to explain the problem!

Karen Mac
03-16-2007, 09:28 PM
Try the user manual, and if that doesnt work, microsoft has some excellent tutorials, and this is a microsoft copy cat, so the same should apply.

Karen

Karen Mac
03-16-2007, 09:33 PM
http://www.vodahost.com/soholaunch_users_manual.htm

Karen

navaldesign
03-16-2007, 10:00 PM
Usually Multiple choice dropdowns need to have [] at the end of the name, otherwise they only send the last selected choice. So, if your field is named, i.e. "Hobbies" make it "Hobbies[]" . However, multiple selection is sent as array, and the processing script should take care of "exploding" the array in the single values, and imploding them in a string that will be emailded to you. I don't know if Soho's form processor allowes for such a process. You can try it and see if it works.

Karen Mac
03-17-2007, 07:31 AM
When I tested the text editor form, it appears to use <> like so:

<P> <SELECT size=3></SELECT> <SELECT id="Variable Selection"> <OPTION value=None selected>None</OPTION> <OPTION value="Option 1">Option1</OPTION> <OPTION value="Option 2">Option 2</OPTION></SELECT></P>

You will have to run a script tho to post it to your table, and soho is giving you the option of running a custom script in this manner to do this. You would run this script so that when your submit button was hit it posted to your table, if thats what you are having it do.

Karen