PDA

View Full Version : log in to sohoadmin



queencaz
03-27-2007, 01:58 PM
I have been trying to log in to Soho launch for the last 2 hours on and off but keep getting the cannot find server page after entering my domain name/sohoadmin

I had no trouble earlier today and cannot understand why I can't get back in?

I am a new customer and my temp url is http://75.126.169.138/~maummlgd/ (http://75.126.169.138/~maummlgd/)

I have changed my DNS name servers but they take from 24 - 72 hours before complete and I was logged in to the temp url earlier today with no problems.

Thanks in advance.

Mook25
03-27-2007, 02:06 PM
The home page works fine for me but if it is the admin side then your best bet is to raise a support ticket with voda as i think i had this problem once before and a quick fix was done by them.

support one here (http://support.vodahost.com/)

queencaz
03-27-2007, 02:11 PM
Thank you very much it worked!!!!

pristinelife
05-24-2007, 08:17 PM
I cannot nor have I ever been able to even get sohoadmin to come up. I type http://www.ourjourneytolife.com/sohoadmin and it gives me a 404 error. Is this the correct format? I've had my domain host site up for 3 wks now. Thanks in advance

Karen Mac
05-25-2007, 01:06 AM
The site that appears at that address is NOT a soho site.. so you have OVERWRITTEN any soho index with the current site. You need to go to cpanel : fantastico and look at the path you installed to. If its the same path.. then you need to unistall it and put it in its own subdomain or add on domain. You cant install it and then overwrite the index and expect it to work.

Karen

pristinelife
05-25-2007, 01:48 AM
The site that appears at that address is NOT a soho site.. so you have OVERWRITTEN any soho index with the current site. You need to go to cpanel : fantastico and look at the path you installed to. If its the same path.. then you need to unistall it and put it in its own subdomain or add on domain. You cant install it and then overwrite the index and expect it to work.

Karen

I overwritten soho index? All I did was start creating my pages with BV web builder, didn't know about sohoadmin till I read it here in tutorials. As far as the rest of what you're saying to do, it's way too advanced for me to comprehend. Sorry Karen, I appreciate your responding to my post, but would you please put it in terms that a "dummy" would understand? LOL. Thanks in advance.

Karen Mac
05-25-2007, 02:15 PM
Ok.. in DUMMY..

How do you expect to have a soho site without installing it first?

If all you did was build your site with bv and you didnt read or do HOW TO INSTALL soho (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/soholaunch-general-issues/3692-how-install-soholaunch-must-read.html), and soho isnt installed there is no SOHO to get to. Thats kind of like writing a check with no money in the account.

If you cant click that link, its the thread right above this one thats marked as a sticky.

Was that dummy enough or do I need to type slower?

Karen

pristinelife
05-25-2007, 02:43 PM
Thank you Karen, since I already have a website on my main "root" account, is it necessary to have both sohoadmin along with BV or would just one work? I guess what I don't understand is how having sohoadmin affects my website.

Karen Mac
05-25-2007, 02:51 PM
Pristine..

First.. you need to know WHY you need soho to start with. Are you trying to sell something? If its less than a hundred products, then i suggest using paypal buttons, or mals ecart.. or getting an acount with Beth for Cart Manager.

Second you need to decide if paypal will work or do you need a merchant account?

Thirdly.. READ...as I have already answered this.


since I already have a website on my main "root" account

Soho must reside in its OWN folder, you cant mix and match them.. It has to be in a subdomain folder or addon domain folder/or the MAIN ROOT for the installation to work thru fantastico. Both BV and Soho have INDEX files and they wont coexist in the same space.

If its beyond your comprehension, then put in a support ticket, or PAY someone to sort it out for you. If you want to do it yourself, stop confusing yourself asking circular questions and READ and doi the tutorials until it makes sense!

Karen