PDA

View Full Version : PDF Question



AlexSeif
04-06-2007, 08:36 PM
Hello,
I cannot seem to publish more pdfs on this site http://www.sykoheil.com/?mod=lectures, (http://www.sykoheil.com/?mod=lectures)
i get the following error message

Warning: filesize() [function.filesize (http://www.sykoheil.com/function.filesize)]: Stat failed for lects/xp_backup_restore_pr (errno=2 - No such file or directory) in /home/paqgjyds/public_html/lectures.php on line 22
is there a limit to the number of pdfs I can link on one page? or something else!
Looking forward to hearing from you
Alex Seif

navaldesign
04-06-2007, 08:47 PM
This is not a problem of number of files. Your script fails in retreiving the file size, beacuse it can NOT find the file. You should search the problem on HOW you have linked the file (filename)

rdcrowley
04-06-2007, 09:39 PM
I thought I linked my pdf files (Acrobat Adobe files) properly, but when I published my site, they don't work.

How do you link text to a pdf file?

Thanks in advance,
rdcrowley

navaldesign
04-06-2007, 09:49 PM
Highlight the text and select the link tool. Then, select Link Type http, and link like: http://www.sykoheil.com/filename.pdf (http://www.sykoheil.com/filename.pdf?)

rdcrowley
04-06-2007, 10:04 PM
That's what I've been doing, but it tells me it can't find the page.

Any ideas??

navaldesign
04-06-2007, 10:07 PM
What's your file ?

rdcrowley
04-06-2007, 10:14 PM
I found the problem but don't know how to fix it. The problem is my pdf's aren't published. My question is how do I publish them? Blue Voda won't let me pull them up into Blue Voda so I can publish them.

rdcrowley
04-06-2007, 10:56 PM
Lady Eye told me to "upload the pdf via your ftp manager and then just apply the link to your page". I hate to sound stupid, but what's a ftp manager? I'm sure I have one, just not sure what program it may be.

rdcrowley
04-06-2007, 10:58 PM
Never mind, I found it in the tool bar of Blue Voda.

Sure can tell this is my first web page to design.

Sorry!!!

aconstas1
04-06-2007, 11:27 PM
Yeah, just go to cpanel for BlueVoda and use either FTP or file manager. I like file manager but that's personal preference. You can create the file and enter the file where you want it to be. Then upload the file. Then if you click on it, it will show you the URL to that file on the right side.

AlexSeif
04-08-2007, 05:59 PM
Thank you,
but I can't seem to be understainding that I had the same problem since a lot of pdf's have been posted before shall I see that the script is checked maybe there is an overflow?
I can find the file on the ftp, its just like you say at first it's not correctly linked.
Any material you could reference for me would be gr8.
Thnx

Mr.T
04-10-2007, 07:00 PM
Hello there,

I'm also having trouble getting PDF files to display properly on my website - is there a step-by-step tutorial for this process?

Thanks in advance.

Mr.T
04-24-2007, 07:23 PM
...hello?

navaldesign
04-24-2007, 07:57 PM
Simply upload the pdf file on your site, and then link it from whatever page you want (text link, or image, or menubar, or whatever other link you like).

If the user has Adobe acrobat on his computer, it will automaticaly open and display the linked file.

Mr.T
04-30-2007, 08:57 PM
OK thanks, I'll give it a go now.

Mr.T
11-14-2007, 07:07 PM
Thanks again - that did work (all those months ago!).

I now have another PDF file to upload but the address of my FTP Publisher / Manager no longer seems to work (I'm still using the original link that was sent to me on a welcome email about a year ago).

Any clue why the address would've changed?

Mr.T
11-30-2007, 06:31 PM
Is this the right place to be asking the question above?

If not could you please direct me to where is?

Mr.T
01-06-2008, 04:30 PM
OK one last try, can anyone answer my question 3 posts above or can you please tell me who/where to ask if not.

LadyEye
01-06-2008, 09:39 PM
Hi ... I am not really sure why this may have quit working for you .. but you could redownload blue voda (http://www.bluevoda.com/bv.zip)and reinstall directly over your exisiting copy and this may fix the problem ...

If not, you can use another ftp and a list provided by Voda Host can be found here (http://www.vodahost.com/tut_ftp.htm) ...

the host is your domain name
username and password are the same that you use ..

navaldesign
01-06-2008, 10:01 PM
If you are using the old (more than a year ago, as you say) username and password, there might be a problem. Some months ago VodaHost has reset ALL passwords. Automated emails have been sent to all customers. If you have not recieved it, it must have been blocked or finished in the spam folder. Submit a support ticket asking for the new password. remember to provide your full details: Account owner name, email, site etc.