PDA

View Full Version : Soho Launch how do I edit site ?



paulson
06-04-2007, 02:37 AM
Hi, I can bring up the site www.consentsxpress.biz but cannot find editing or CMS, trying to get forms from mySQL to pop up & shopcart to checkout.
Kind of a newbie to this but have built the site in bluevoda.
Any advice is good.
Thanks
Paulson-15258

Bethers
06-04-2007, 02:41 AM
If you built the site in Blue Voda- you have to edit it in blue voda. If you want to add a Soho shopping cart, you'll need to download Soho - and build those pages in Soho - whole different ball game - they are 2 different softwares.

In most cases, I would recommend if you want to use Soho you build the entire site in Soho - not combine the 2.

paulson
06-04-2007, 03:31 AM
Hi Bethers,
Yip I understand that, I can't edit the Soho version I can bring up Cpanel & I can view the built the site.(follow link) forget about the bluevoda site for now.
How do I edit/build that site with Soho.
How do you access it through Cpanel.

Paulson

Karen Mac
06-04-2007, 03:44 AM
Paulson,

You have to access it thru fantastico, and its under website builders on the left.

Karen

paulson
06-04-2007, 07:46 AM
This is where I created the site, what do I do to edit it through fantastico.
I can get a view of it in the browser.
Where is the drop & drag editor located.

Thanks Paulson

Karen Mac
06-04-2007, 08:54 PM
Paulson,

To access the site cpanel you have to add sohoadmin to the domain

www.yourdomain.com/sohoadmin (http://www.yourdomain.com/sohoadmin)

Type in the user name and password you assigned it at installation. Read and go thru the tutorials it will help alot with the confusion and ease of use.

Karen

docedesign
06-04-2007, 08:57 PM
Hi,

I've been looking around this forum trying to find a solution to change my shopping cart language.
I understand I can type any language in my website "body" but my problem is that I would prefer that buttons like "add to cart", "checkout" and titles which appear during the buying process, to be in Portuguese.

S, my question is: is there a way to edit the buttons and titles to translate them. I can't find it.

my store http://shop.doce-design.com

Thank you for your support

Maria

Karen Mac
06-04-2007, 09:27 PM
If you want to edit the buttons make new ones and name them the same as whats in the builder and upload them to that folder to replace them. Im not sure about the Global settings but in the shopping cart itself you can pick the country..

Ok in global settings, under the webmaster icon is where you can set the language. You might check the sohoaddon site for a language set plugin, and thats probably where you would be able to also change all your buttons etc. I dont have time to go look.. in fact im signing off right now before i get in any deeper to do my OWN work...but i think i saw language plugins there before.

Karen

docedesign
06-05-2007, 01:01 AM
Thank you Karen for your try to help.

I hope you can give me further instructions when you're available.

I went to the webmaster area but there are only 2 languages: english and norwegian. I'm Portuguese. If I have to buy a language pack please tell me how to do it. Although I would prefer other solutionhttp://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon7.gif

Maria

Karen Mac
06-05-2007, 03:11 AM
Theres some info here for translating it, and, it says they will include it free on the next update if you translate it...

http://wiki.soholaunch.com/index.php?title=Translating_Soholaunch

Karen

paulson
06-05-2007, 06:28 AM
Paulson,

To access the site cpanel you have to add sohoadmin to the domain

www.yourdomain.com/sohoadmin (http://www.yourdomain.com/sohoadmin)

Type in the user name and password you assigned it at installation. Read and go thru the tutorials it will help alot with the confusion and ease of use.

Karen
Karen,

I've done that & it says it is application installed view site or remove.
Got a vodahost & domain name.
Got a username & password.
Should be able to logon easier than that.
Last night I saved the login to favourites opened it today "timed out"
go figure.

Karen Mac
06-05-2007, 09:14 AM
Paul

What is the domain? Post the link here please.

Karen

docedesign
06-05-2007, 10:54 AM
Theres some info here for translating it, and, it says they will include it free on the next update if you translate it...

http://wiki.soholaunch.com/index.php?title=Translating_Soholaunch

Karen
Thank you Karen

Karen Mac
06-05-2007, 04:48 PM
docedesign


Thank you Karen


VocÍ ť o mais Bem-vindo! E boa sorte !

Karen

paulson
06-06-2007, 01:55 AM
Karen,
www.consentsxpress.biz or see original link posted in #1

Paul

Karen Mac
06-06-2007, 02:18 AM
Paul

Sorry.. I dont always have time to scroll thru half dozen posts.

Your login would be

http://www.consentsxpress.biz/sohoadmin/index.php

or just

http://www.consentsxpress.biz/sohoadmin

It could be when u saved to favorites that you actually already were logged in and thats why it timed out. I dont save my logins to favorites. I also dont save my logins on any server which some providers allow, the reason? Hacking. Or Keylogger virus' which can be picked up just about anywhere daily and i scan two three times a day for activity. I make a habit of just typing my logins into the browser bar. Its really not that much of a time saver in favs, as i still have to scroll to the folder or list and then click. Faster to just type it and be done. That time out also could be a soho protection, so that after so much idle time you have to relog in. Thats a good thing. I have builders installed that if i forget to close out.. time out in five minutes or less. Thats for your protection, not ease of use. It could also be Voda Host logs you off the server after so long as well.

Get hacked just one time and you will learn to appreciate these safe guards.

Karen

paulson
06-07-2007, 02:41 AM
Karen,
Thanks that's it,
Security is a important issue to me and I appreciate your sound advice.
Any advice is greatfully appreciated.

Paulson

paulson
09-03-2007, 02:33 AM
Paul

Sorry.. I dont always have time to scroll thru half dozen posts.

Your login would be

http://www.consentsxpress.biz/sohoadmin/index.php

or just

http://www.consentsxpress.biz/sohoadmin

It could be when u saved to favorites that you actually already were logged in and thats why it timed out. I dont save my logins to favorites. I also dont save my logins on any server which some providers allow, the reason? Hacking. Or Keylogger virus' which can be picked up just about anywhere daily and i scan two three times a day for activity. I make a habit of just typing my logins into the browser bar. Its really not that much of a time saver in favs, as i still have to scroll to the folder or list and then click. Faster to just type it and be done. That time out also could be a soho protection, so that after so much idle time you have to relog in. Thats a good thing. I have builders installed that if i forget to close out.. time out in five minutes or less. Thats for your protection, not ease of use. It could also be Voda Host logs you off the server after so long as well.

Get hacked just one time and you will learn to appreciate these safe guards.

Karen
Not sure if I like this, the link it googles up in any browser.
Can you edit them please.

Paul

Karen Mac
09-03-2007, 05:53 AM
Actually, I cant edit them. Im not a moderator so I dont have a magic wand. If one wishes to do so, I have no problem with it.

Karen