PDA

View Full Version : Iframe Assistance



PennieNPence
06-26-2007, 08:29 PM
Hello again, I feel like a needy X you just can't get rid of, but here it goes anyway.
I am having big problems.

When you go to what will be my home page (http://www.penniesnpence.com),
then click on the "ebay auction items" link under the "ebay items" category every thing seems to be working properly.

Although, when you click on our logo to go back to the home page... the iframe, back button, and our ebay logo (which links you to a full size version of our ebay store) at the bottom of the page stay on the screen.

This is probably happening because I put those items on top of the Iframe. If I put those items under the Iframe they become unclickable.

Is there some way to put the items under the iframe, and allow them to be clickable?

Or, is there a way to leave them on top of the page, and attach them to the current page?

I'm very lost can some one pleeeeease help?

PennieNPence
06-26-2007, 10:24 PM
Although, when you click on our logo to go back to the home page... the iframe, back button, and our ebay logo (which links you to a full size version of our ebay store) at the bottom of the page stay on the screen.


I'm sorry I meant when you click on the logo at the top left corner of the page. The other three elements stay on the screen.

Tom vR
06-26-2007, 11:26 PM
I don't know, but it does not look like you are linking to another page when you open the ebay auction items. Put the iframe and all other items that goes with it on a seperate page. It looks like as if it opens on your home page.

Tom vR
06-26-2007, 11:31 PM
Make the background for the ebay aution items the same as on your home page.... if that is what you need.

PennieNPence
06-26-2007, 11:35 PM
I don't know, but it does not look like you are linking to another page when you open the ebay auction items. Put the iframe and all other items that goes with it on a separate page. It looks like as if it opens on your home page.

Thanks for the quick reply.
I don' think that's it. The items are on separate pages. The home page only has the words "home page" and the I frame on it. The other page is where the ebay items are.

Thanks anyway though.

PennieNPence
06-26-2007, 11:37 PM
The ebay auction items are a script from ebay that automaticlly updates in the I-frame.

PennieNPence
06-27-2007, 12:26 AM
The problem is when you go from the ebay page back to the home page (by clicking on the logo in the top left corner of the page), the three elements stay on the page.

dougnez
06-27-2007, 01:48 AM
Hi Pennie...I did not look into your scripting... but maybe you need to make sure the I-frame has a name and the link that returns to home page is targeted at that I-frame name... hope that helps... DOUG

PennieNPence
06-27-2007, 04:32 AM
Thanks for looking dougnez

I'm not sure I know what you mean?

I think the problem is that I placed those three elements on top of the header/menu bar IFrame.

but if I put the header/menu bar Iframe on top of these three elements (the "ebay" Iframe, the "ebay store logo" image link, and the back button) you can't click on those three elements.

Thanks again for getting back to me.

Tom vR
06-27-2007, 08:32 AM
Thanks for looking dougnez

I think the problem is that I placed those three elements on top of the header/menu bar IFrame.

but if I put the header/menu bar Iframe on top of these three elements (the "ebay" Iframe, the "ebay store logo" image link, and the back button) you can't click on those three elements.

Thanks again for getting back to me.

How big is that HTML box for your header/menubar IFrame? If it extends over your IFrame on your home page, then drag the html box smaller so that it is off the iframe area.

Also, have you made that header/menu bar page transparent? You must use code to do it. I'm not at my home pc right now and is a bit difficult to find it now, but in this thread Single Menu Page with Bv and PHP (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/bluevoda-tips-tricks-shortcuts/15764-single-menu-page-bv-php.html) you will find the code.

PennieNPence
06-27-2007, 06:19 PM
Thanks again for helping.

The menu/header is transparent or you wouldn't be able to see what is behind it.

There are 2 Iframes on the ebay page

The "header/menu" Iframe has all the border items, and is located at:
http://www.penniesnpence (http://www.penniesnpence.com/header%20menu.html).com/header%20menu.html
If I make this Iframe smaller it will cut off part of the image

On top of that Iframe is the
1)the back button
2)the logo at the bottom of the page (this penniesnpence logo is a link to our ebay store)
3)and a second Iframe (the "ebay" iframe) located at http://www.penniesnpence.com/ebay%20info.html

Since I have those three things on top of the Iframe they are staying on the page when you click on the link to go back to the home page.

If I put them under the "header/menu" Iframe you can't click on them.

I either need a way to put the links under the "header/menu" iframe and still be able to click on them.

Or I need to be able to attach them to the page they are actually on.

Right?

I'm still pretty new at this so tell me if I'm way off base.
Thanks again for the help.

Tom vR
06-27-2007, 06:43 PM
Your first hyperlink is not working. Could you give it to me again please. I just want to try something here and demo it to you.

Tom vR
06-27-2007, 06:56 PM
That iframe page in the secomd link is untitled. Give it a name and then make sure the link on your home page Target setting is set as _top.

PennieNPence
06-27-2007, 07:11 PM
I feel like the biggest Idiot right now.

I never understood the targets (NOOBIE)

Setting the target to the top worked.

Sorry for all the trouble over something so stupid of me.

Thanks LOADS for your help.

I don't know if you still want it but the URL is
http://www.penniesnpence.com/header%20menu.html (http://www.penniesnpence.com/header%20menu.html)

Thanks again!!

Tom vR
06-27-2007, 07:26 PM
I'm glad its working now.

I noticed you are using the iframe from your menu, logo, buttons, etc. Why noy switching to PHP for that? On my site I've used PHP for the header (logo), footer, flag and back button, menu and quick find. For the property listings I've used the iframe.

Just a thought, but you can see the reasons for php here Single Menu Page with Bv and PHP (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/bluevoda-tips-tricks-shortcuts/15764-single-menu-page-bv-php.html)

PennieNPence
06-27-2007, 07:42 PM
I was using an Iframe because I didn't want all of those things to have to reload every time a person went to another page, since they are on every page anyway.

Also, I wanted any time someone puts us in their favorites to go to the index ("home page") because that is where I am going to run my specials.

I know that SE's don't like iframes, but can't I just create "site map" or "index" each page for the spiders.

Still new so please tell me if I'm wrong on any part of this.

Thanks again, I still feel like an idiot, I thought the problem was with the iframe not the link.

Tom vR
06-27-2007, 07:59 PM
There is nothing wrong using the iframe for the menus, headers, logos, etc. Yes the sitemap will work for the SEs.

PennieNPence
06-28-2007, 03:30 PM
cool thanks again Tom

Your a life saver