PDA

View Full Version : iFrames



delsbree
11-12-2005, 01:59 PM
I have 10 pages on my site that are identical except for what will appear in the frame. Do I need to publish 20 pages - 10 identical pages except for the call reference in the frame plus the 10 pages that will appear in the frame? Or, is there a way to use navigation bars or some other tool so that I can publish only 11 pages - the one baisc page with 10 buttons (or whatever) to change the page in the frame?

VodaHost
11-12-2005, 03:15 PM
And on the 5th.stop 10 pages got on and 11 pages got off, whos the bus driver?

Sorry, Just Joking........But thats what it sounds like...Can you please be kind enough
to try again. I really do not understand what you are trying to say.

delsbree
11-12-2005, 05:46 PM
I didn't understand it either so let me try again. I have 10 pages (more or less) of photos to sell. They are organized by portfolios. I have a template for the basics of the page - a list of portfolios bottons down the left, price list, order form, etc. across the top. A user clicks on a protfolio button and they get the exact same basic screen with a protfolio in a gallery. When I want to make a change to the basic screen of the page (add a portfolio button, change the design, etc.), I have to go through every portfolio page and make the change.

I wanted to use frames so that I could publish one basic template page and use some type of navigation tool to bring the portfolios into the frame. This way I could keep my portfolio pages fairly simple and wouldn't need to change them everytime I want to make a change to the basic template.

I watched the frame tutorial and it seems that a page with a frame can only call into the frame one specifically designated page.

Hope this is a little more understandable, but I am not counting on it.

Thanks.

My site is www.orchardstreetphoto.com

navaldesign
11-13-2005, 06:36 AM
I didn't understand it either so let me try again. I have 10 pages (more or less) of photos to sell. They are organized by portfolios. I have a template for the basics of the page - a list of portfolios bottons down the left, price list, order form, etc. across the top. A user clicks on a protfolio button and they get the exact same basic screen with a protfolio in a gallery. When I want to make a change to the basic screen of the page (add a portfolio button, change the design, etc.), I have to go through every portfolio page and make the change.

I wanted to use frames so that I could publish one basic template page and use some type of navigation tool to bring the portfolios into the frame. This way I could keep my portfolio pages fairly simple and wouldn't need to change them everytime I want to make a change to the basic template.

I watched the frame tutorial and it seems that a page with a frame can only call into the frame one specifically designated page.

Hope this is a little more understandable, but I am not counting on it.

Thanks.

My site is www.orchardstreetphoto.com (http://www.orchardstreetphoto.com/)

Create a single, main page, and insert a nav bar or buttons, linking to the frame you have inserted in your main page. Each button (or each link of the navbar, it's the same) must point to one of your product pages. When setting up the links, make shure they open in the i-frame. You do this by hand-writting in the Target field the name of your I-frame. Make shure you have given your frame a name, and that it is the same you use in the Target field.
Now, in the product pages you must only have the specific product details. In the main page instead, you will have the nav bar and the general layout of the page. Everytime you want to make a change in the general layout, you will only modify your main page and publish it again.

Take a look at www.navaldesign.info (http://www.navaldesign.info/) It is built up just with an Index page and a frame in it - even though the frame is not visible since it has no border. All the other pages open in the I-frame

delsbree
11-13-2005, 03:43 PM
Thanks. I didn't understand targeting - the tutorials don't deal with it.

navaldesign
11-13-2005, 03:53 PM
Thanks. I didn't understand targeting - the tutorials don't deal with it.

When you define a link in BlueVoda you fill in the fields in the "Insert Hyperlink " window.
In the "Target" field just type the name of your I-frame

bluerovers
10-03-2007, 09:16 AM
im liking the sound of this for a project im thinking off undertaking but i am a bit lost.

when you say link to the iframe would you type www.mysite.com/myiframe/content.html? and vary this for each one?

if not can i have it in baby steps please?

regards


bluerovers
www.bluerovers.co.nz
http://summerleague.bluerovers.co.nz

navaldesign
10-03-2007, 10:41 AM
No. You link the page normally, but in the Target field of the Link dialog box, you type the name you have given to your Iframe

bluerovers
10-03-2007, 11:42 AM
so that would be www.mysite.com/pagename/iframe?

sorry if i'm being slow just want to be sure

bluerovers.co.nz
www.bluerovers.co.nz (http://www.bluerovers.co.nz)
http://summerleague.bluerovers.co.nz

Collectors-info
10-03-2007, 12:19 PM
If you had a page called www.mysite.com/pagename.html (http://www.mysite.com/pagename.html) when you make a link to the iframe, place the page url in the url field
Then type the name of your iframe in the target field.
IE: “frameone” if this is what you have named your iframe.

bluerovers
10-04-2007, 09:09 AM
doh

cheers again chris, it all makes sense now i feel like i shouldn't read forums late into the night as it just gets me confused!!! lol

bluerovers
www.bluerovers.co.nz
http://summerleague.bluerovers.co.nz