No announcement yet.

Other things involved with SE position?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other things involved with SE position?

Hi guys,

This might sound like a really silly question but I am still learning. I was doing research on websites that ranked higher than me on keywords in Google, for example 'acupuncture', and found many sites that had very few keywords and very low or no ranking in better position than me.

How does that work? Are there other things involved in position?
    Matt Roessler
    Pain-Free Acupuncture
    www.painfreeacupuncture.com.au

Re: Other things involved with SE position?

Hi Matt,

Not a silly question at all.. In fact a very important question!

There are many many factors and you can do no better than starting here.

Your site could contain the word 'acupuncture' in it 10 x more than any other site but that wouldn't mean it would be at the top for this reason alone.

Clever, simplistic content, user friendly site (ease of use, navigation, readable fonts etc), good page titles, meta descriptions, keywords, page headers and links in to your site are major factors too, but not limited to..

The best advise that floats around here a lot is build your site with your customer in mind and not the search engines. When your potential customer views your site, can he/she see within seconds, what you do, how you do it, how much it may cost, how to order, how to contact you....

making your keywords/phrases more spe******t to you will help.

e.g type 'wedding dresses' into Google you get 281,000 results. Now type 'second hand wedding dresses' in you already narrow down the results to 231,000. Now type in 'second hand wedding dresses in Nevada'.. it goes down to 28,000..... You see the picture?

So if you sold second hand wedding dresses in Nevada, then look at using this as your main keyphrase set up. Place that in your page title and you stand more chance of getting to page one than just using 'wedding dresses'