PDA

View Full Version : JOOMLA Resources



Vasili
12-19-2007, 02:59 AM
Trying to make it easier (and to trim the redundant questions), I thought it would be helpful to list many of the new and improved resources for JOOMLA, one of the most robust website foundations available, which is FREE for VodaHost customers and loadable via the Fantastico! utility in each Control Panel.

Joomla has so many integrated functions already included or easily added that is just makes sense to have a go with using it! With a built-in shopping cart with numerous configurations, forums, classifieds, blogs, interactive modules, and a seemingkly endless list of plug-ins available, I think you will find Joomla most accommodating indeed!

OFFICIAL JOOMLA WEBSITE (http://www.joomla.com) This is the place to start to learn all what can be done.

JOOMLA SUPPORT FORUMS (http://forum.joomla.org) The is THE place to find all the answers to your questions, from installation to design.

JOOMLANCER (http://www.joomlancers.com/index.php) The Joomla marketplace, where you can post your project to have a Pro bid on it to make everything perfect for you.

JOOMLA USER MANUAL (http://joomlacode.org/gf/download/docmanfileversion/664/17471/1.5_Installation_Manual_version_0.5.pdf) For those of you who prefer to print out a User Manual, this is the latest Official PDF release.
If you want to purchase a comprehensive Manual (which contributes to Joomla evolution and charity also), select this link (http://www.joomla.org/component/option,com_banners/task,click/bid,5/).


When it comes to templates, there are so many available for free that when you get there, it is simple to re-format any of them yourself, so I would not even suggest buying one at all. If you ever get stuck, get with one of the many Pro's in Joomlancers to do your job at extremely affordable rates .... you'll see! http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon12.gif

john777
02-13-2008, 06:22 AM
I am intrested in this ..
anyone on bv using it? ..if so may I see your site..
Thanks John

Vasili
02-15-2008, 02:01 AM
John!
Simply go to the Official Site via the link above and browse the many different applications people have used Joomla as solutions! Find inspiration, and imagine how you can use it to fulfill your requirements.....

Hosting here at VH is "ipso facto"!

Trivium
03-05-2008, 01:32 AM
joomla has upgraded to 1.5,i would like to install it but am only offered an older version.Can voda plz update the auto install to 1.5

Vasili
03-05-2008, 10:39 AM
joomla has upgraded to 1.5,i would like to install it but am only offered an older version.Can voda plz update the auto install to 1.5Your name says it all...LOL

Since Joomla is Open Source and you can download freely from the home site, why don't you simply install the newest stable version 1.5 manually according to the very detailed video Tutorials and printable Manual????

Trivium
03-05-2008, 12:00 PM
i have downloaded it but am kinda confused as to how to install it to vodahost,any help would be appreciated

Vasili
03-05-2008, 08:43 PM
You will need to properly prepare yourself, so not only will you be capable of doing an install correctly but once you understand the process you will be better able to even use the tool itself: there are basic conmputer precepts that build upon one another, so your learning curve directly dictates your skill set.

I would use the links in the first post in this thread to explore the Joomla forum to read up on all the various aspects of installation that have cause many others frustration, so you will be able to not make the same mistakes.

I would suggest that you then READ until you understand the clear instructions on the Official website on how to download and install it....and if you have a technical "emergency" to register with and submit a ticket to their Technical Support for a solution to your unique issue.

And, like any product downloaded and meant to be installed, once you un-zip the file you will find a READ ME and another ".txt" file that contains the full set of instructions: follow them precisely and in sequence.

You will need to install both the operational template files with all the syles and elements in your public_html/ directory as well as properly set up and install to your MySql Database.

If you really mess up, simply post a job in Joomlancers to have a pro install it for you (probably around $30-50).

You will find out (maybe too late) that there are far more free templates and add-ons for version 1.0.14 than there are for 1.5.x, and far more "pros" to rely upon to bail you out also. To me, having to pay 3x as much for a smaller selection of templates and to have less referential resources to guide me is not worth the little difference between versions 1 and 1.5, but then that is my opinion. Maybe you saw something in 1.5 that you simply required, I don't know...

You really need to follow the directions supplied, and to expect more assistance from the Joomla resources than here in VodaTalk...the manual install is not a VodaHost issue, is it? http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon11.gif

.

Trivium
03-07-2008, 01:17 PM
tyvm for your reply,
I have limited experience and am just learning alot of this stuff.I have put together a site with 1x and am satisfied so far.My only concern and main reason for wanting 1.5 is security.If you feel i'll be ok then i will take your word for it,however i could use your help in telling me if i need to do anything about my reg-globals settings. My site is http://placidplace.net/ohtresbeau/ once again ty,i am very new to all of this but am having fun so far.

Vasili
03-08-2008, 04:00 AM
Just here to help out a bit, you know.....but I am quite glad you are having FUN (the most important ingedient in the whole internet thing anyway!).

What about the "globals"?? Are you talking about the footers and stuff? If you want to remove them, that's easy: copy down a copy of the "index" file, and using Notebook, open it and edit out the footers (like "Joomla this" and "designed by this person") and then FTP it back up....it automatically overwrites the copy on the server.....other than than, "globals" like navigation and "Content" vs. "info" pages (etc.) are done in the AdminPanel.

If you refer to the global "registration" settings (security), I would spend a few hours scanning the Contributions sectiuon, looking for specific add-ons that make sense to enhance the process that you are focusing on. They, too, are easily added, and can do much to allay your concerns! http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon12.gif

Trivium
03-10-2008, 02:04 AM
hiya,this is what i ws refering to
Following PHP Server Settings are not optimal for Security and it is recommended to change them:

PHP register_globals setting is `ON` instead of `OFF`Please check the Official Joomla! Server Security post (http://www.joomla.org/security10) for more information.
I have refered to the post but just wanna make sure my server,you,settings are correct for security


also,i would like to say tyvm again for the kind responces,im newb

Vasili
03-10-2008, 07:58 AM
VodaHost operates and maintains server security above the standards mentioned ..... please remember to seek detailed Support and Discussion in the Official Joomla Forums and not be dependant on VodaTalk!

navaldesign
03-10-2008, 07:14 PM
This is a common problem with shared hosting, some people need register_globals on, and some others need it of.
Solution:

You need to create a local php.ini that will overide the default php ini and will set register_globals to off, in your Joomla folder. To do this, please copy the following code. Open Notepad, paste the code, and Save As (select File type: All Files) modify_php_ini.php .

Now upload this file to your Joomla folder. Open your browser, and type in the address bar:

http://www.yourdomain.com/joomla_folder/modify_php_ini.php .

As soon as you do so, the script will read the default php.ini file, it will modify the register_globals value to OFF, and will copy the entire, modified file, in your Joomla folder, thus setting register_globals Off ONLY for the specific folder.

Code:

<!-- /* SCRIPT NAME: modify_php_ini.php */ -->
<?php
// Put all the php.ini parameters you want to change below. One per line.
// Follow the example format $parm[] = "parameter = value";
$parm[] = "register_globals = Off";
$parm[] = "session.use_trans_sid = 0";
// full unix path - location of the default php.ini file at your host
// you can determine the location of the default file using phpinfo()
$defaultPath = '/usr/local/lib/php.ini';
// full unix path - location where you want your custom php.ini file
//$customPath = "/path/php.ini";
$customPath = "php.ini";
// nothing should change below this line.
if (file_exists($defaultPath)) {
$contents = file_get_contents($defaultPath);
$contents .= "\n\n; MODIFIED THE FOLLOWING USER PARAMETERS:\n\n";
foreach ($parm as $value) $contents .= $value . " \n";
if (file_put_contents($customPath,$contents)) {
if (chmod($customPath,0600)) $message = "<b>PHP.INI File modified and copied.</b>";
else $message = "PROCCESS ERROR - Failed to update php.ini.";
} else {
$message = "PROCCESS ERROR - Failed to write php.ini file.";
}
} else {
$message = "PROCCESS ERROR - php.ini file not found.";
}
echo $message;
?>

theblackbubble
06-26-2008, 11:32 AM
Hi
The changes to the php.ini file seem to have worked and created a local ini file in the Joomla folder.

How does Joomla see these changes as my system info suggests register_globals is still 'on'?

site thefc.retailmotorlaw.co.uk

Many thanks

navaldesign
06-26-2008, 11:42 AM
If register_globals have been turned to off, it would seem improbable that Joomla still sees them as ON. Are you sure you made everything ok ? Run phpinfo in the Joomla folder to make sure.

Steve S.
06-27-2008, 10:02 PM
There should be a link with the message to the Joomla Forums; click on that. I'm still running 1.13 and I think I read in their forum that admin can show the error message even though there's no problem.

Steve

navaldesign
06-27-2008, 10:11 PM
If the php.ini file has been created and register_globals is still on, the problam is that your server settings turn the php.ini file permissions to 755 instead of the correct 644. Check it. If ANYTHING else than 644, make it 644.

alze
08-20-2008, 03:09 AM
this is great info but it still doesn't tell me how to upgrade from 1.0 to 1.5 through cpanel.

alain

please send message to alain@quantumprofits.net thanks.

Vasili
08-20-2008, 09:48 PM
Alain -- you cannot "upgrade" through your VodaHsot cPanel, you need to install manually if you want to use a different version that is provided by Fantastico! (which is pretty clear from the beginning, even on the installation confirmation page in cP).

Use this link (http://www.joomla.org/download.html) download Joomla 1.5.6. ... which you can then manually install following the instructions and guides available here (http://www.joomla.org/about-joomla/getting-started.html).

If you visited the Joomla Home Page above you would already be aware of these resources!

simplybrowne
09-15-2008, 02:37 PM
Hello Vasili,

I have just installed joomla to one of my addon domains. How do I get started with using it.

Vasili
09-16-2008, 01:58 AM
Use the overwhelming resources (http://www.joomla.org/about-joomla/getting-started.html) that guide you every step of the way to using Joomla successfully!

These "Beginner User Manuals (http://docs.joomla.org/Beginners)" should prove to be really handy too, even though not listed in the first post in this thread ....

Vasili
09-16-2008, 03:02 AM
Replying to "SimplyBrowne" got me thinking to back when I discovered so many differing resources within the Joomla Community that is got difficult to always know where to go to find the basic solutions, so I thought I would present them here, knowing that these would be what every VodaHost peer would need to deal with from the get-go, especially if installing via Fantastico!

First, HERE (http://downloads.joomlacode.org/docmanfileversion/1/7/4/17471/1.5_Installation_Manual_version_0.5.pdf) is the definitive Installation Documents for Joomla 1.0.15 and 1.5 (although titled for 1.5, every item holds true for 1.0.15).

Fantastico! will install 1.0.15 which is just as good as 1.5 (if not arguably better), and which allows more templates and add-on's to be installed from the beginning. Although the buzz surrounds 1.5, there simply is not enough bugs fixed nor enough additional options built for it yet, so unless you have a big wallet, stick to 1.0.15 to find more freebies, functional add-on's, and look-and-feel options available.

If you installed Joomla via Fantastico!, you will immediately note the default Main page displaying a warning that your Global Permissions are set to "On" and need to be turned off (this is an error caused not from simply being installed via Fantastico! but due to being installed on a shared server, of which your account most lkely is -- unless you have paid VodaHost for a Dedicated IP account).
http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon4.gif Contrary to the advice given above by General Navaldesign, the errors are not specifically solveable simply by re-setting permissions --- you need to establish permissions and the associated commands by repairing/writing a "missing" file to permanently correct the issue as detailed on page 37 & 38 of the Installation Guide above.
http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon2.gif Of the 2 different methods mentioned to correcting the problem, and after many Joomla/VH/Fantastico! installations, I find performing the procedure on page 38 much simpler and more stable of a fix altogether: it is simply using NotePad to create a one-line code file and copying that same file to a few locations within your Joomla root folder system. Essentially, you will create a new php.ini file with the following line of Code (note that you will need to use a "space" and then the first letter of the line, and include everything shown here in orange) : " register_globals = "Off" ". This new php.ini file is then copied to the joomla_root/ and the joomla_root/administrator/ directories as well as within all folders that contain a .php file (I remember there being maybe 5 areas total).

* This is only about 10-15 minutes time required, but it is imperative that it be done precisely in order to get your Fantastico! installation to work properly.

The rest is pretty simple, even if you try to wing it and not read any of the esay-to-follow intros I've listed above. You should have a nice looking and functional website within the first hour or two if you do read up first, and within a day or so if you don't!

Good Luck! http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/images/icons/icon12.gif

navaldesign
09-16-2008, 10:40 AM
Some things really make me wonder.



(this is an error caused not from simply being installed via Fantastico! but due to being installed on a shared server, of which your account most lkely is -- unless you have paid VodaHost for a Dedicated IP account).


register_globals on or off has nothing to do with shared hosting or dedicated IP addresses. It is the system administrator choice to set the value to ON or OFF in the php.ini file. Talking about VH servers, some of them have it on be default, and some have it off.




Contrary to the advice given above by General Navaldesign, the errors are not specifically solveable simply by re-setting permissions --- you need to establish permissions and the associated commands by repairing/writing a "missing" file to permanently correct the issue as detailed on page 37 & 38 of the Installation Guide above

This is totally wrong, or you have not correctly understood what i said. What i CLEARLY stated is that IF the local php.ini file was correctly created BUT if has no effect to the value of register_globals, it can ONLY mean that this file is not accessible by the system, which can only occur if the it has no correct permissions.
That is what i stated and no more. So i don't see what was wrong in my post.



you will create a new php.ini file with the following line of Code (note that you will need to use a "space" and then the first letter of the line, and include everything shown here in orange) : " register_globals = "Off" ".

Not true!!!

With MANY servers, a one line local php.ini file, will result in OTHER settings of the original file being ignored! Thus creating other issues.

The script that i posted above, will, instead, do something else: It will COPY the entire original php.ini file (thus preserving all the other settings) and will simply add a line (the line that you also posted) at the end. This way all other settings remain as your system Admin has set them, and register_globals is set to off.

Vasili
09-16-2008, 10:48 AM
Sorry, George, but using a "diagnostic + injector" script (also mentioned in the Official Joomla Installation Manual linked above) is not a total solution, and I merely echoed what is written and what works with the fact files themselves are missing. Did you look at the documentation?

navaldesign
09-16-2008, 10:54 AM
What would be the "diagnostic" script ?

The one i posted is NOT a diagnostic script. It is a script that creates a local php.ini file, with register globals set to off.
Further more, it can also set other settings to the desired value.

And yes, i looked at the documentation page 37 and 38 .
Both solutions are applicable (htaccess file or local php.ini file) with VH servers, BUT the way the php.ini file should be created (according to their instructons) is wrong.

Vasili
09-16-2008, 11:01 AM
Some things really make me wonder..

Funny, it works perfectly for me for the past 11 installations, whereas all the previous VodaTalk "solutions" would not, and is exactly why I bothered to share my experience to help pave a clearer path to the many Fantastico! installations VH clients depend on.

And, it is rather hard to understand why the referenced instructions - pgs. 38, 39 - that come directly from the Official Joomla Website are "incorrect" .... why else would they be there, but to follow and learn from??