No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello everyone.

I am new to this web page business. I don't know what a domain name is or if I have an account ID.

I am 77 years of age, live in Lancashire England, and befuddled by the terminology used in creating web pages. Although I have been using computers for over 20 years, they have been used mainly for collecting and storing information on local history, and more recently (5 years) all the information on the men who took the Kings Shilling 1914-1918, in my patch of Lancashire, some 14216 men, plus all the information on the ""Accrington Pals".

I have seen a web site that is ideal for what I want to do, burnleyinthegreatwar.

How was it made, I once emailed the owner, but never received a reply.

All the information I have on these World War One soldiers, is on my oldest computer, the OS is Dos 6.2, and the files are in WordStar 6, and Dbase4.

Many thanks.
    Walter Holmes.

Re: New Member

Hi Walter! & welcome,
    If you mean this site http://burnleyinthegreatwar.info , then this can be done with Bluevoda, which will be quite easy but quite a bit of impute time. Personally! For the amount of info you have to put into the site, & as an alternative. I would look at some sort of database. This will make things a lot easier for looking up info when finished & will also be able to look up info in different ways. IE: By rank/age/name/dates & so on. (This is assuming its set up this way to begin with)
    Not to sure on compatibilities, but if you have a database? it maybe also be possible to transfer the info in a mater of a few hours once a program has been made.
    Another alternative is something like the free jalbum (Photo album) & using the profiler. Try this link & click on an images for an idea on how it works. There are many ways to set this up in the looks department, so don’t be put off with the black look.