PDA

View Full Version : Error 12029 Anything other than Firewall issue?



Thumpmonkey
06-26-2008, 06:02 PM
I've been getting this Error 12029 ever since updating to BV 10.1. I've added BV to my accepted lists in my Firewall, and I've went as far as to shut down my firewall. I've rebooted several times and confirmed that the settings stay put.

I've opened a support ticket, however the only response I'm getting from support is to add BV to my firewall and virus scan then reboot.

Does anyone have any other ideas, if not, is there a way to go back to BV 9, because this was never an issue with that version.

Thank you for any help you can give.

Karen Mac
06-26-2008, 10:30 PM
Try adding your site to the trusted list in IE 7. Ive seen 7 cause similar headaches. Its may be that bv is ok, it might be your site being blocked. Also in explorer - internet settings..advanced settings .. if you are on high speed and running a modem/router make sure you have the passive firewall thing checked off. I forget the exact wording on that. You will know it when u see it.

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-27-2008, 01:02 AM
Karen,

Thank you for the advise. I went in and added my website to E7 Trusted sites, then disabled the "Use Passive FTP(for firewall and DSL modem compatibility)" (I think this is what you were referring to) in the Advanced settings. I then Applied, OKed, closed out E7 and re-booted.

I tried to publish again, but got the same response. Error 12029. If you or anyone else has any other ideas I'm all ears. I didn't have any problems publishing at all until after I updated to BV 10.1.

Thank you for your time.

Karen Mac
06-27-2008, 02:28 AM
Thump

I meant that you wanted to ENABLE it if thats how you connect. Alot of modems have routers built in as added firewall protection. Sorry for the bad wording. I should be more careful when im tired. In the end you still get the firewall error.

Can you ftp your site? With other than bv? If not.. put in a support ticket and ask them to check if THEIR firewall has blocked you in case of too many attempts at access. That can happen.. have inadverdantly done it myself.

Also.. you can ask your isp to reset your ip.. see if that changes anything.

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-28-2008, 08:03 AM
Well, it was originally enabled, so I went ahead and enabled it back. clicked apply and OK, closed out of E7, then re-booted. I then re-tried to publish, but got the same response.

Is there a setting that the BV10 upgrade changes, because I didn't have this issue before the upgrade, and I had a firewall enabled at that time. Logically speaking it's as if the upgrade either changed a setting somewhere, or there's something different in the way it's trying to connect to the Internet. Right now I have no firewall running.

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Thumpmonkey
06-28-2008, 08:28 AM
when you say "ftp my site", do you mean log into my cpanel? I am able to do that.

Vasili
06-28-2008, 08:40 AM
No, she was referring to verifying your ability to test from within BV if you could "upload" a sample file or even an image to your public_html/ directory using the FTP Manager/Tool in Blue Voda itself.

This would help to define the extent of BV itself making connection, or whether or not it is a connection issue entirely......

Thumpmonkey
06-28-2008, 03:14 PM
Ahh...I just tried the "Connect" button in BV FTP manager, and it immediately gave me a "cannot connect" response. It doesn't seem like it even tried to connect.

Karen Mac
06-28-2008, 04:56 PM
Are you absoulutely POSITVE you are connecting to the correct server? That youve selected the server numbers in the drop down .. with the correct password etc..?

Some servers have changed.. so double check those numbers.

Contact your isp to reset your dns and ip.. you can also try going to a command prompt.. typing in

ipconfig/flushdns
unplug your modem and reboot

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 12:51 AM
I verified all my log in info with Support. My Server IP is 74.86.118.21. I was thinking there might have been a change there myself, but as per the response to my support ticket, they assured me the IP is correct, and also reaffirmed my user name and password that I am using. I both keyed them in, and I copied and paste.

I've been working on this issue for about 3 weeks now, and nothing seems to be working. The thing that sucks is that I know it's going to be something really stupid, and there's a box somewhere that needs to be checked or unchecked.

I'm running Windows XP Pro. I am also on a different wireless connection since I first started this nightmare.

Thank you for all your help Karen, and if you or anyone else have any other ideas, I would greatly appreciate it.

LadyEye
06-29-2008, 01:06 AM
Hi .. are you connected via a router .. ? Ok, I see you are ..

Contact them and ask them to change their settings, sorry I forget which it was but I had to do something similarly myself and once they changed that variable I was fine ..

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 01:10 AM
I was at the other location, but here it's a DSL modem with built in wireless.

LadyEye
06-29-2008, 01:14 AM
Can you try connecting from another computer? Has anyone else tried?

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 01:34 AM
You mean try uploading BV files from another PC? Unfortunately I don't have another PC I can use.

I can connect to the Internet via Fire Fox, Internet Explorer, and AOL without a problem, however BV itself doesn't want to connect at all. It doesn't even look like it thinks about it when I press "Connect" in the FTP Manager, and immediatly I get "Cannot Connect."

Karen Mac
06-29-2008, 04:37 AM
This may sound really stupid.. but .. redownload and install bv again. Might be a bad download or a file got corrupted somehow.

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 07:52 AM
Thanks Karen. Upon your advise, I went and downloaded the BV setup program again, and reinstalled. I then rebooted, and tried again... Same response... I then backed up my pages, uninstalled BV, re-downloaded, reinstalled again, rebooted, and retried. same response.

I tried again to connect to FTP manager, and again, an immediate "Cannot connect" response without even trying. If it came up any faster it would have come up before I pressed the OK to connect.

Thanks for the advise though.

Karen Mac
06-29-2008, 03:07 PM
Call and Kill your ISP have them reset your modem and your ip on their end.

Karen

zuriatman
06-29-2008, 04:27 PM
Hi,

I think this article from Knowledgebase should answer the originator's
question on "Error 12029"

12029 Errorhttp://www.vodasupport.com/themes/client_default/space.gif
SolutionA 12029 error is a firewall issue error. This means that one or more firewalls is
blocking your attempt to publish with BlueVoda. Please follow the below steps:

97% of the time this can be attributed to your Windows XP Firewall Please follow
the following steps...

1) Go to your computers control panel
2) Click on widows firewall
3) Click on exceptions
4) Click on add programs
5) Add BlueVoda to your list of programs
6) Press ok
7) Reboot your computer

You have now successfully added BlueVoda to your safe programs list.
You should not have this problem again. If the problem persists. Your
computer might have a secondary firewall from Norton or MacAfee.
You will also have to BlueVoda to their safe programs list.

Also if you are working from an office or you are using your companies
computer or internet connection. You company probably has some type
of network firewall in place.

Please contact your companies system administrator for instructions.

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 04:45 PM
Zuriatman,

As mentioned earlier I've tried these steps several times to the letter. This is obviously one of those 3% times that it doesn't work on. Your exact post is the only help I've gotten from support, and this is why I turned to the board, because the only help support is providing is a copy and paste response as you did. There is another solution that they apparently don't know about.

Karen Mac
06-29-2008, 06:06 PM
Thump

Ask your isp what ports they use to allow ftp. Theyve either blocked your port.. or youve been blocked from your own server.

As i said.. put in a support ticket to voda to see if your ip is in their firewall as blocked. If not.. its on your isp end most likely in your router and it will require a reset to fix it.

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 07:37 PM
I will try it, but I've tried publishing using 2 different ISP's, Mediacom and now Quest, and as mentioned earlier it was working fine with BV version 9. Also I don't think it's even making it to the ISP since it gives me an immediate "cannot connect" error. without even trying to connect.

I've cleared the temp internet files, and cookies several times as well. I will put in a support ticket to find out if by some chance they have blocked me from my port though.

I'll post the results.

Karen Mac
06-29-2008, 10:10 PM
How are you connecting to the internet?

Karen

Thumpmonkey
06-29-2008, 10:36 PM
I use a laptop with a wireless modem. The actual connection coming into the house is going into a modem with a wireless router built in. Before, it was Mediacom and that was a cable modem with a wireless router attached.

As for actually connecting to the Internet... I can use AOL, firefox or Internet explorer. My default browser is Internet Explorer.

Karen Mac
06-30-2008, 12:29 AM
Ok.. i would wager its in your WIRELESS ROUTER or your network setting. Which is why you need to talk with your isp. The router acts as a firewall, and can keep you from connecting. Its in your network settings or how u connect to the router itself.. or the router settings.

Karen