Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• grief from the off.....help!!!

hi,
    i am new to all this, but am trying to make 2 simple? websites...sjs-artandsoul.com, and gemporium.biz.
    i've spent days going round in circles, reading tutorials, watching vids, but i can't even get two simple things sorted out...
    i had played with a homepage, published it, and it viewed ok- on both url addresses(sjs and gem).
    confident i'd made a connection i redid the page (it's only got 5 pics and 2 tables on it- no major quantity), but it would not change on the url.
    i've had a ticket, the guy's told me to change gem to an addon, so i have.
    how do i now get my page to publish to gem.biz, and not sjs? because now all i see is a blank page with "index of..."
    this is all suppose to be super easy...i'm not thick- i have a fair few exams under my belt, but all this is really getting me down, and i feel like an idiot, despite the tutorials nothings going right.
    is there anyone who can make reasonable sense of my problem, and offer some help? before i throw the pc in the bin!!!
    thanks
    sharon
    cheers muchly,
    Sharon Simmons

www.gemporium.biz for funky artphotos
    www.gemporiumtm.etsy.com for funky jewellery

Re: grief from the off.....help!!!

Hi, if sjs is your main site & your have published its pages to public_html, this is good.
    Now when you created the add on site you should have a folder in your cpanel called gemporium? So you would publish this sites pages to public_html/gemporium/
    Remember to have 2 folders on your home machine to seperate the sites. IE: you will have 2 index pages & would naturally not want to override each of them.
    Regards Chris.

Collectables, Collecting, collectors-info.com

www.chrismorris.co.uk

House build project

Comment

hi, thanks for that...i think it's sorted now...there's just so much to take in, it gets overwhelming.

thankyou,
      sharon
      cheers muchly,
      Sharon Simmons