PDA

View Full Version : And I thought I was doing so well...



sharon s
07-27-2008, 11:40 AM
hi,
hope someone can answer this one....I managed to get my site looking half reasonable,(for a COMPLETE novice and pc illiterate).
pics were up, links were working...everything worked...fantastic! and unexpected!

but I continued to develop pages etc, and when I checked today the sites up and working...but no pics!!!

i have since resaved each page- all show properly on preview- and re-published each page, but the changes aren't happening- still no pics.

www.gemporium.biz (http://www.gemporium.biz)

anyone know what the issue is....and how to rectify it?

is it simply a matter of time for new publishing to show?


also, when it it published,i see the pic files go into html files(via control panel), are these updated each time as well? or does it still pull the pics from my pc files? ( i only ask coz i moved folders todays ago, but have republished and previewed several times since then, and would have thought it would have accepted new links??)

hope you can help,
sharon

Marincky
07-27-2008, 11:42 AM
Sharon,

Rename your images, don't have any gaps in the names. seperate words with an underscore _

Try that, it might be the cause.

The pictures DO go onto your server, but you still need to keep them on your pc. Every time you move them, when you open up your builder you will have to repoint all your images again, so try not to move them too often.

sharon s
07-27-2008, 12:04 PM
hi,
yes i found that originally when i moved the folder,so i did repoint once, but it's where it should be now so no more moving...
i'll have a go with the renaming, hopefully it'll work...beback again if it doesn't...
fingers crossed
thanks
sharon

sharon s
07-27-2008, 03:28 PM
hi,
no sorry, that hasn't done it....
all my pics have underscores now, and i worked on one page to make sure i'd done everything, resaved,republished, but still nothing...not even the text that automatically comes up in bv text boxes!
now i'm stumped...

sharon

Karen Mac
07-27-2008, 03:35 PM
You didnt change them all .. dandelions still shows 20% in the spaces. You also have them all as bmp which is a windows format.. you need to load up a photo editor and batch them all over to .jpg or .gif

Karen

sharon s
07-27-2008, 05:40 PM
hi,
thanks for that...
just been through them, only the cart buttons were bitmaps,and the dandelions on h/page.all the rest are jpegs already, and i've triple checked, none have spaces.
is it possible that the publishing button isn't working right and the changes aren't being made?
if all my pages had been saved, and were all working right, i can't work out why that would suddenly change, when all i had done was republish.
i read in one of the other threads that each time you publish a page it's supposed to overwrite anything before it...so why hasn't it?? it's not publishing what i see perfectly well in preview.
if on my pc all the pics are jpegs, with no spaces, why isn't that being transferred?

i'm back to pulling my hair out, it's beyound my logic,
any ideas??

sharon

zuriatman
07-28-2008, 08:34 AM
Hi,

Since you created the gallery using a non BV program or software or template, I think the glitch is in the program you used. Are you using
Html or pHp?

sharon s
07-28-2008, 09:12 AM
hi,
i know nothing about sitebuilding, so i am using the bogstandard bv website builder, the only external thing is gallery, and i'm not using it at all, just haven't removed it.
everything added in has been added through the bv builder,pics,links,paypal etc.
it all worked fine 3 days ago...

thanks
sharon

CarbonTerry
07-29-2008, 07:15 AM
Have you enabled hotlink protection? That will keep the images from showing.
Hold down your Ctrl key and click on the "Refresh" icon to clear your cache.