PDA

View Full Version : Tell a friend button



Confused in Dublin
01-29-2006, 12:13 PM
I Want to add a (Tell a friend) submit button to my site so that people can refer friends to the site in general or to a specific posting.

My Questions: Can this be done ? How?

Any help appreciated

Confused in Dublin

kad
01-29-2006, 11:29 PM
go to http://www.vodahost.com/library.htm yall see it download...have a nice one .kad

adonairc
01-30-2006, 04:33 AM
Hi! In the library you can find the image files to put a link to the "Tell friend" page but if what you want is the code of a script that do that go:

http://www.bignosebird.com/carchive/birdcast.shtml

When a visitor makes click on the "tell a friend" button goes to this cgi script, and can fill in the fields the names and mails of the people he wants to advice about the site. It's free, easy configurable and works ok in voda.

Hope this helps.

Confused in Dublin
01-30-2006, 05:30 PM
Hi Guys
Thank for the tips. I will give these suggestions a try.

DaveK
Confused(bothered and bewildered) in Dublin

KJay_23
01-30-2006, 06:57 PM
Ok guys, I know this is probably a really ridiculous question, but I have the "Tell A Friend" buttons downloaded from BV... now what? Do they need to be hyperlinked to something, or are they already scripted to do the deed? lol

Thanks!
Kellie

Confused in Dublin
01-30-2006, 09:05 PM
Interesting question kelly, I will be watching this space for an answer that hopefully does not involve customising a script. Hope we both strike it lucky.

DaveK
Confused in Dublin

KJay_23
01-31-2006, 01:54 AM
You and me both Dave, lol... however, I've been playing with the buttons, and will be uploading to my site tonight... I'll let ya know if it works, and if it does, what I did! :)

Kellie

racefan20
01-31-2006, 02:17 AM
Ok guys, I know this is probably a really ridiculous question, but I have the "Tell A Friend" buttons downloaded from BV... now what? Do they need to be hyperlinked to something, or are they already scripted to do the deed? lol

Thanks!
Kellie

You need a script linked to the button.

KJay_23
01-31-2006, 04:14 AM
Okie dokie... any ideas where can I find the script I need? And I suppose I should ask now, rather than later... is linking the script and button in the hyperlinking options, or is there more involved?

Any help is really appreciated :)

Kellie

adonairc
01-31-2006, 03:56 PM
One script you can use is:

http://www.bignosebird.com/carchive/birdcast.shtml

Read my previous message.

Ado.

KJay_23
01-31-2006, 04:48 PM
Thank you very much Ado... I totally missed that post before!

Kellie :)

adonairc
01-31-2006, 06:20 PM
Welcome, good luck with the configuration of the script. =)