PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop gallery



proactivator
08-16-2008, 10:39 AM
I have created a web photo gallery in photoshop and it looks excellent. It consists of a folder containing 5 files. How do I load this into my website? Thanks.

CarbonTerry
08-17-2008, 04:32 AM
You will ned to use the Blue FTP.
Open your BV web builder: Tools/FTP Manager
Here's (http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/saving-naming-previewing-publishing/9366-how-use-blueftp.html) the complete tutorial for the FTP

proactivator
08-17-2008, 08:49 AM
Thanks carbon terry. Is there a particular place in my site side folders to where I should upload the gallery folder when I use FTP? How do constuct a page that calls the photo gallery into that page. Sorry for being thick.

CarbonTerry
08-17-2008, 02:46 PM
The files can go into the public_html folder.
You link would then be www.yourwebsite.com/whatthenameofthefileis.whatevertheextensionis (http://www.yourwebsite.com/whatthenameofthefileis.whatevertheextensionis).
Or you could create a folder in the public_html folder named (for example) webgallery.
The link would then be www.yourwebsite.com/webgallery/whatthenameofthefileis.whatevertheextensionis (http://www.yourwebsite.com/webgallery/whatthenameofthefileis.whatevertheextensionis).

proactivator
08-17-2008, 06:37 PM
Thanks, Carbon Terry.

proactivator
11-06-2008, 04:36 PM
Right, I have been mulling this over for a while. Have created a photoshop gallery and have made some changes to customise it to my satisfaction. The PS gallery consists of a folder containing 6 sub-folders. Can I upload the whole folder into my public html in one go. One of the sub folders is an index page. Will this create any conflicts with my home page which is, of course, also called index.

The PS gallery uses an I-frame to contain the thumbnail images. Is it possible to load the PS gallery into an I-frame on my gallery page? I guess what I am asking is it possible to have an I-frame within an I frame?

zuriatman
11-06-2008, 09:33 PM
Hi,

From Photoshop remember to use the "Save for the web" function as .html

navaldesign
11-07-2008, 06:37 AM
I frame in I frame is quite possible.

There is no issue with SE, they simply will NOT index the i frame content as it is not actually presen in the page.

proactivator
11-07-2008, 08:12 AM
The reason I wanted to to load the photoshop gallery into an I-frame is so that I can keep a constant look to my pages with the header, navigation, design elements etc in place. If can do it in a more "logical" way then help would be much appreciated. Thanks, Naval and Zuriatman.

proactivator
11-08-2008, 10:26 AM
I have uploaded my photoshop gallery and linked it into an I-frame in the gallery page of the site http://www.timchadsey.co.uk (http://www.timchadsey.co.uk/) and it is just what I want when viewed in ie and opera: however, when seen in firefox some of the thumbnails do not load correctly although the links from the placeholders still call up their large images. Any suggestions as how to correct?
Now, with the help of much more knowledgeable people than me in the forums, that I have taken the plunge to include a PS gallery in my site I shall do so in the future in other sites because the automate photo function in PS saves probably hours of work. Once again a big thank you to all of those who helped.
James.

zuriatman
11-08-2008, 06:28 PM
Hi James,

interested in testing out something new?

Check this website...... (http://www.flashpageflip.com)