PDA

View Full Version : How do I make text link like a button



Alia
12-29-2008, 08:48 PM
I would like to have plain text (with mouseover text colour) link/jump to another page like a button. How do I do that?

Karen Mac
12-29-2008, 09:04 PM
You would set this in your page styles. It gives you the options of the links changing colors, right click page properties, background tab. OR you could add a java script or css to your page.

Karen

davidundalicia
12-29-2008, 09:11 PM
See step by step tutorial
linking pages using Text or Images here: (http://mybluevodaspace.com/forums/index.php?topic=16.0)

Alia
01-05-2009, 10:51 PM
See step by step tutorial
linking pages using Text or Images here: (http://mybluevodaspace.com/forums/index.php?topic=16.0)

Thank you for this link. I've done it just as it said, but am I correct in thinking that I cannot check if the linking works unless I go live? Since I have a free blogger page standing in at my domain name till I get this website done, I don't want to go live on the Vodahost site until it is ready.

Is there any way to check if the linking works/is done correctly without going live?

D'son
01-05-2009, 11:24 PM
No there is no way of checking the links unless the pages you are linking to are already published. If you are linking to pages or sites that are published then the links will work.

Alia
01-06-2009, 12:25 AM
No there is no way of checking the links unless the pages you are linking to are already published. If you are linking to pages or sites that are published then the links will work.

Ok. Well, I'll just go along doing what I'm doing till I'm at a point where I can publish. Thanks!

Tom Finley
01-06-2009, 12:47 AM
Don't know if this is relevant to what you are doing, but you might think about publishing a test page to try everything out. That way you can learn how it all works "live". When it's all to your satisfaction, delete the test page from the server--no one will know it ever existed.

davidundalicia
01-06-2009, 12:51 AM
And following on from tom's good advise you could also password protect the whole site whereby ONLY YOU would have access.

Alia
01-06-2009, 01:24 AM
How would I do that?

Tom Finley
01-06-2009, 01:47 AM
If you mean the password protect suggestion, it's here:

http://www.vodahost.com/demowolf/x3/cpanel-x3-protect.html

If you mean the test page, just make a new page in BlueVoda and publish it. A name like "testpage" would work!