PDA

View Full Version : offering a download in Word format



dovidshmuel
01-20-2009, 08:09 PM
I just saw a website (The No Cussing Club) that offers downloads both in PDF format and in Microsoft Word format. I also want to offer downloads on my site as Microsoft Word format. How do I go about doing it? Thanks.

D'son
01-20-2009, 08:13 PM
You would upload (either through ftp manager or your c-panel) the word document. Then link to it from where ever you are offfing the down loads, it would be in the following format
www. yoursite.com/document.doc

dovidshmuel
01-20-2009, 08:17 PM
Thanks for the quick and clear reply!

D'son
01-20-2009, 09:36 PM
No problem, one thing to keep in mind, if you are offering the down load in only Word format, many people do not have Word so they would not be able to open it.

LadyEye
01-20-2009, 09:43 PM
yes D'son is right .. you might consider downloading the free pdf converter available at www.primopdf.com

then upload to your website as a pdf in the same way ..

also .. your pdf can't be rewritten so easily ..

dovidshmuel
01-20-2009, 11:35 PM
Thank you both for your advice. LadyEye: I downloaded PrimoPDF as you suggested but its manual tells me to
1. From the document-authoring program, choose File>Print.
2. Select the PrimoPDF printer from the list of available printers and click OK.
When I do that I get the error message "Active Directory Domain Services is currently unavailable." Can you tell me what I'm doing wrong?

LadyEye
01-21-2009, 01:19 AM
hmm ... well that must be coming from something else perhaps .. not sure what is happening there .. but

I just redownloaded and installed and used it myself .. so its all working

you open your word document then file > print> then choose create pdf .. this is how it should go for you ..

perhaps try rebooting your computer and see if things straighten out ..
not sure what you are seeing ..

dovidshmuel
01-21-2009, 01:29 AM
Thanks for responding. I'm using Word 2007, so when I open my document in Word 2007, there is no "file" button on which to click. I click on the "Office button" in the top left corner, which opens a drop-down menu on which "print" is located. If I click on that, I get the same print dialogue window that opens when I type Ctrl-O. In that dialogue window, there is nowhere to choose "create pdf." What am I doing wrong?

LadyEye
01-21-2009, 01:44 AM
no .. in that dialogue window is where you will choose the printer .. so that window look for primo pdf to appear, click on that icon, once you click on that icon a box will appear belonging to primo and that is when you will choose create pdf .. then the pdf will open, it takes a few secs or so, and then you save that as you like and where you like ..

dovidshmuel
01-21-2009, 01:59 AM
I'm sorry to be so much trouble and thank you for answering. I found the place where I can choose PrimoPDF (in the "Name" window at the top of the print dialogue window). But when I choose PrimoPDF, nothing happens. Under the "Name" section, "Status:" says "idle", "Type:" says "PrimoPDF", "Where:" says "PrimoPort" and "Comment:" is empty (I hope you know what I'm refering to). But nothing else happens even after several minutes. Should I just forget about it?

Tom Finley
01-21-2009, 02:05 AM
It only takes a split second to convert a typical doc file to pdf. Do you know where the pdf file would end up on your hard drive? I use cutePDF all the time, works the same way (but I haven't tried it with Word 2007)

LadyEye
01-21-2009, 02:10 AM
Well, send me your doc .. and ill convert it for you and send it back .. that will ease the pressure off of you for now .. while we get this working for you ..

there should be a print after you choose primopdf in your list of available printers .. press print .. then primo should open up ..

Contact me with your document (http://www.angies-cyberscripts.com/quote.html). Upload the document on the form. tks

dovidshmuel
01-21-2009, 02:22 AM
Okay! I figured it out with the last two comments. I had to press the Okay button to start the printing process, then they ask me for a location and a name for the file. Thanks for all your help and sorry I'm so thick headed.

LadyEye
01-21-2009, 02:32 AM
Well that's just great news! Now you have urself a pdf converter .. and even better, you know how to use it .. wtg ..