Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Domain name "Point" it versus "transfer" -Question

Hi
    I read that if I have my existing domain presently registered with another host, there is no need to transfer, just "point it" to VH as my new hosting company.

So my question is what is the difference and please answer in the context of the following? My existing host is closing down (you know who!), and will no longer exist from 28/2/09. So if the domain is simply "pointed", is it pointed from my old host or is it pointed from what I think we call the registrar (custodian of all domains)?

Re: Domain name "Point" it versus "transfer" -Question

My advice, given the closing down info, would be to transfer your domain to vodahost to avoid any bloodshed in the future...................
    this will then be situated/pointed at the VH servers.
    Have fun
    Regards..... David

Step by Step Visual Tutorials for the complete beginner
    Newbies / Beginners Forum
    FREE Membership Login Scripts: - Meta Tags Analyzer
    My Social Networking Site - Free Contact Forms
    Finished your New website!! Now get it noticed Here:

Comment

Thanks for that, but you do say "situated/pointed at" as if the same thing. I thought transfer and pointed at were different actions.
      How shall I put this? As if transfer is picking it up and physically moving it whereas pointing at is a dogleg. ie. it is still with them but any contact is re-routed to VH.
      Am I barking up the wrong tree? (seeing as I called it a dogleg!)
      Tony

Comment

TRANSFER AND POINTED ARE DIFFERENT ... YES you are right ..

Hi .. transferring your domain from your existing domain registrar to voda host means that you will pay voda host and receive your registration details and renewals from voda host as opposed to your current domain registrar.