PDA

View Full Version : Banners



kad
02-20-2006, 12:28 PM
can someone tell me how to make a ad Banner that i can give to people or that visiters to my site can cut an paste or /an get the html code and place it onto there websites , i believe i need both the html code & the cut an paste ,because some of my website visiters have myspace.com websites an they have to have html codes to put banners etc. on there website ... and also how do you make the banners do all the little tricks like rotate etc.

Watdaflip
02-20-2006, 04:00 PM
Heres the html you will need (with a few edits)

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>

You will need to make the image a gif in order for it to have animation. You will need a good image program, such as photoshop. If you don't want to spend money on a program, try a program called The Gimp, its free and just as powerful a program. (www.gimp.org)

kad
02-21-2006, 09:22 AM
http://www.win1000forpictures.com/7745657.gif (http://www.bluevoda.com/)

kad
02-21-2006, 01:43 PM
Heres the html you will need (with a few edits)

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>

You will need to make the image a gif in order for it to have animation. You will need a good image program, such as photoshop. If you don't want to spend money on a program, try a program called The Gimp, its free and just as powerful a program. (www.gimp.org) (http://www.gimp.org)) i just would like to have a picture image banner just plan (not) with all the animations an stuff,.............. so that some one can come to my site and get the code an put it onto there website ,...............And then when one of (their visiters) click on my banner it will take them to my website ,....something like this girls banner picture (just click it) http://myspace-615.vo.llnwd.net/00256/51/63/256593615_l.jpg (http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/Ms_Candi_Cotton/) i got it off of my space here is her code also for that picture banner : ..... <a href="<A href="http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/Ms_Candi_Cotton/"><img">http://tv.groups.yahoo.com/group/Ms_Candi_Cotton/"><img src="http://myspace-615.vo.llnwd.net/00256/51/63/256593615_l.jpg" alt="Link to this page"></a>
.................................................. ..( But the only thing that i would like (EXTRA) for my Banner is that i would like to have 3 pictures (ROTATING ) between the 3 ,like as if these 3 where togather :

kad
02-21-2006, 01:54 PM
and Watdaflip what are those (few edits) would i have to do to the codes that you gave me up top for the banner ,so that even myspace.com users can also use them the codes on their websites ,and also the rest of the internet, (what to do and How to do it)????????http://www.win1000forpictures.com/7756931.gif (http://www.bluevoda.com/)http://www.win1000forpictures.com/7745657.gif (http://www.bluevoda.com/)http://www.win1000forpictures.com/7756907.gif (http://www.bluevoda.com/)

Watdaflip
02-21-2006, 03:36 PM
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>

Change the links... www.yoursite.com needs to be your actual domain, and make sure the image location on your site is correct also. You need to have full link (http://)

kad
02-21-2006, 04:59 PM
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>

Change the links... www.yoursite.com (http://www.yoursite.com) needs to be your actual domain, and make sure the image location on your site is correct also. You need to have full link (http://) watdaflip i would like to thank you for your help ,but you will have to explain to me in (detail ) better for me to understand how it works ,an fuctions,an operates i understand what goes in the bold place i put here

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>
......But what i dont understand is how will the code know what banner or picture etc. that i would like for it to use,And how would i know what name for the picture to put in the code (1) do i have to upload the picture some where specail before it will work?(2) do i have to name the picture a certain name,for the code to reconigize it or something like that ? (3) Or do the banner have to be on mysite before it will work on some one else site? (I just dont get it, the part about the image ,that is used, in the code, that makes the banner it self ) ( How & where) do the image work it self into the code ?

kad
02-22-2006, 04:06 AM
watdaflip i would like to thank you for your help ,but you will have to explain to me in (detail ) better for me to understand how it works ,an fuctions,an operates i understand what goes in the bold place i put here

<a href="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image/gif" border="0" width="image_width" height="image_height"></a>
......But what i dont understand is how will the code know what banner or picture etc. that i would like for it to use,And how would i know what name for the picture to put in the code (1) do i have to upload the picture some where specail before it will work?(2) do i have to name the picture a certain name,for the code to reconigize it or something like that ? (3) Or do the banner have to be on mysite before it will work on some one else site? (I just dont get it, the part about the image ,that is used, in the code, that makes the banner it self ) ( How & where) do the image work it self into the code ? still waiting on your help watdaflip

Watdaflip
02-22-2006, 04:09 AM
1) The image needs to be uploaded to your website, it doesn't have to be anywhere specific, just in your public_html (And you need to know the location). It can be in a location like... www.yoursite.com/image.jpg (http://www.yoursite.com/image.jpg), or www.yoursite.com/banners/image.jpg (http://www.yoursite.com/banners/image.jpg), wherever you wish.

2) You can name it whatever you want, just make sure the name of the file is the same name as in the image src link, example:
You make an image, save it as banner_1.jpg, upload it to your root directory, the link would then be in the image tag <img src="http://www.yoursite.com/banner_1.jpg">

3) For it to work on someone elses site, you need to have the image on your site, or they have to upload it to thiers. (Usually sites that have a banner link back to them host the images on their site (So it can be changed, and so you arn't using other bandwidth to draw traffic to your site)

Heres an explaination of the code

<a hef="http://www.yoursite.com">Text Link</a>

In this example, it would create a text link, anything between the <> & </a> brackets is what will show up to be clicked on (The output). It can be text or images. So if you want an image, you replace the text and make it like this


<a hef="http://www.yoursite.com"><img src="http://www.yoursite.com/image.jpg"></a>

Instead of having text it has a link. The link unlike the <a> tag, the <img> tag doesn't have to be closed with a </img> (closing bracket) because it is now outputting anything like the <a> tag

Sorry if that was confusing, ive never been really that good at explaining.

Basically, make sure that in <a href=""> the href = the hyperlink, where you want the visitor to go when the link is clicked. And in <img src=""> the src = the location of the image on your site.


As far as having 3 images that rotate (I assume you mean like 3 different images, so each time you go to the webpage, it won't be the same old banner) the site that has the link to yours will need to have a script to change it up. Be in javascript or php.

If you mean you want a banner that every 5 or 10 or whatever interval of seconds the image changes, then you can make a gif and use the existing html code I gave you.

Hope that helps, if you need more clerification just tell me, sorry again im not very good at explainations

kad
02-22-2006, 04:43 AM
Thank you very kindly Mr.Watdaflip i'll give it a try ...

kad
02-22-2006, 11:13 AM
(you did a wonderful job of explaining that, thanks watdaflip ) ,yes i would like to make a banner, out of 3 different pictures, that change every few seconds, to the next one, out of the 3 ,back an forth between each one of the 3 ,like if i was to put these 3 banners pictures togather :http://myspace-407.vo.llnwd.net/00506/70/46/506206407_m.jpghttp://myspace-392.vo.llnwd.net/00154/29/35/154215392_l.jpghttp://images.paxed.com/photos/1979/1075131.jpg(but if they all where the same size pictures to make a banner with)............I believe this is the same thing you where saying here >>>>>>>>>>>>>>If you mean you want a banner that every 5 or 10 or whatever interval of seconds the image changes, then you can make a gif and use the existing html code I gave you. ...........................But i dont know how to do that and what do you mean by (make a gif and use the existing html code ) that you gave me???

Watdaflip
02-23-2006, 12:10 AM
When I said make a gif and use the existing html code I meant to make a gif image (gif is a different file format like .bmp, .jpg, .png). By "use the existing html code, I was saying to use the html we have been discussing, I dind't want to confuse that with the javascript or php code I said that would be needed to rotate different images on page loads.

If you want to have the image rotate images every couple of seconds you have to make a gif, or animated images. It will have 3 frames, one with each image, and it will cycle through the frames based on the time you set them to. You will need a program, such as photoshop to do this, there are some free ones out there you can make a gif with such as The Gimp.

I just did a google search and found this one too, might be worth a try
http://www.creabit.com/gif/
http://www.ulead.com/ga/runme.htm
http://www.blumentals.net/egifan/

Most or all are just trials, but they should fit your needs

kad
02-23-2006, 04:54 AM
When I said make a gif and use the existing html code I meant to make a gif image (gif is a different file format like .bmp, .jpg, .png). By "use the existing html code, I was saying to use the html we have been discussing, I dind't want to confuse that with the javascript or php code I said that would be needed to rotate different images on page loads.

If you want to have the image rotate images every couple of seconds you have to make a gif, or animated images. It will have 3 frames, one with each image, and it will cycle through the frames based on the time you set them to. You will need a program, such as photoshop to do this, there are some free ones out there you can make a gif with such as The Gimp.

I just did a google search and found this one too, might be worth a try
http://www.creabit.com/gif/
http://www.ulead.com/ga/runme.htm
http://www.blumentals.net/egifan/

Most or all are just trials, but they should fit your needs i already have the pictures and text that i would like to use for my banners,...........But i will try the programs if you say so............ but what if my pictures , that i would like to use are ( not gif ) already ?,......what if they are one of the other formats that you named up top (.bmp, .jpg, .png), can i still use them?..... and do i still need the program like photoshop to do what am trying to do to make the banner rotate ever few sec. ? ............................thanks again

Watdaflip
02-23-2006, 03:52 PM
It depends.

If you are using a program like photoshop, you can just open the 3 images, and copy and past them into one, each on its own frame, and saving it as a gif. You need some program that can handle gif's with frames (MS paint wont work)

Example:
You have your 3 images.. lets say
image_1.bmp
image_2.jpg
image_3.jpg

You will need to make a new image, say
banner.gif

You need to open banner.gif, create 3 frames. Select the first frame, and paste image_1.bmp into that frame. Select the second frame, paste image_2.jpg into the second frame. Select the third frame, and paste image_3.jpg into that frame. Then you will either (depending on the program) set the amount of time each frame will display before going to the next one. Or the program might have you save the file, and then pop up a dialog box asking if you want to merge the layers, or saves as animation, if you select animation, it will then ask you the time to wait before the frame switched to the next.