PDA

View Full Version : H tags



CarbonTerry
02-17-2009, 09:50 PM
Hello,
Are H tags necessary for good SEO??
If yes, can h1, h2, h6 be used without using h3, h4, h5 (i.e.)
I have been looking at the source code for a competitors website that ranks slightly higher than mine.
He does not use H tags and I do.

Karen Mac
02-17-2009, 10:16 PM
Yes...you can do that.. And Id have to compare what hes doing than what you are doing...to give you an answer as to why his ranking is better than yours.. H tags wouldnt be the only reason.

Karen

CarbonTerry
02-17-2009, 10:37 PM
Thanks Karen,
The website is for a prospective customer.
Doing a search for "roofing St Louis" he comes up on page one along with his competitor.
A search for "roofing in St Louis" and he is on page 2 while his competitor stays high on page one.
Neither website uses H tags.
I need to make suggestions to improve ranking.
I thought that the addition of H tags may help.
Also some changes to keywords and a change of the page title to begin with "Roofing blah blah blah"
Thanks as always for your help.