PDA

View Full Version : Help With Error checking? (I think)



Girlonthehill
03-04-2006, 03:53 PM
Hi,

Problem: some clown is abusing the contact form on my website and sending me loads of nonsense messages.

Question: Is there a way I can customise the simple form I use (got it from the forum months ago) to, at least, make sure users put an email address in the email field etc.

I don't really know anything about forms and the only way I can explain what I mean is by using the term 'mask' as you would use in database design. Eg. you can only put numbers in a number field. I think (by reading old forum threads) that it's called error checking?

I hope someone can make sense of this and offer some assistance. I am willing to learn but don't really know where to start. Thank you.

navaldesign
03-04-2006, 07:36 PM
Hi Amanda, yes, you can put error checking in your form, but this will not save you, as email error checking can only "see" ig the email field value looks like true, it can't really verify the email. If you wish we can put IP address monitoring in your script, and after he submits one or two more messages, we can bann he's IP address so he wont bother you any more

Girlonthehill
03-04-2006, 08:51 PM
That would be fantastic, it sounds like the perfect solution. How do I do that then? I still have some of the emails in my delete box should thay prove useful. Thank you so much for your help it's greatly appreciated.

navaldesign
03-04-2006, 10:14 PM
That would be fantastic, it sounds like the perfect solution. How do I do that then? I still have some of the emails in my delete box should thay prove useful. Thank you so much for your help it's greatly appreciated.

Hi again, no, the old emails won't do anything. We need to install a new script for your form processing, have him (her) send emails, so as to find his / her IP address, then implement in the script his IP address and block him. I need the URL of your form in order to prepare the necessary script. Please upload

Girlonthehill
03-04-2006, 11:26 PM
Hi Amanda, the first thing to do is change your "FEEDBACK.PHP" with a new script that will capture his IP. Then ban him. Please contct me privately: http://www.navaldesign.info/feedback13.html. (Sorry, i edited your own post instead of replying.)

navaldesign
03-05-2006, 07:54 AM
Please read your own post above

Girlonthehill
03-05-2006, 01:53 PM
Please read your own post above

Thank you G. Have complied and forwarded said script. Love your thank you page by the way - very slick.

navaldesign
03-05-2006, 03:16 PM
Hi Amanda, you have mail. Also check your form as i have reproduced here: http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/contact.html The mail with the info you will submit will get to you. Try also nit typing the email or an email like value: you will get an error message. Check your mail and let me know

Girlonthehill
03-05-2006, 05:49 PM
Hi Amanda, you have mail. Also check your form as i have reproduced here: http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/contact.html The mail with the info you will submit will get to you. Try also nit typing the email or an email like value: you will get an error message. Check your mail and let me know

Yes, it works sweetly. Thank you G. The extra bits you've added are great too. I have answered your email by the way :o) Took a while as I was absorbed in creativity - sorry :o)

navaldesign
03-05-2006, 08:17 PM
Hi Amanda, you have mail. let me know. Thanks

Girlonthehill
03-05-2006, 08:26 PM
Hi Amanda, you have mail. let me know. Thanks

Thank you G, I'll start now.... :o)

Girlonthehill
03-05-2006, 09:06 PM
Good evening G, erm... don't know what I've done but am temporarily unable to get to my site! My browser reports that it cannot be found! :oO

The tests I have completed so far are working brilliantly but the Card Type is being left blank - I've followed your instructions and have checked spelling etc. I'll keep trying....

Girlonthehill
03-06-2006, 10:30 AM
Good morning G,

I'm sort of stuck in limbo now until I can see my site. I'll let you know when it's sorted. Thanks :o)

navaldesign
03-06-2006, 10:47 AM
However, it's up and running. Make sure to refresh the browser

Girlonthehill
03-06-2006, 11:08 AM
However, it's up and running. Make sure to refresh the browser

I've reset my router and pc and it seems to have solved the problem. Hurrah.

Girlonthehill
03-06-2006, 12:09 PM
Thank you for all your help G, it's greatly appreciated.

This thread can be closed now.