PDA

View Full Version : Problems with naviguator bar!! Help



limebrook1
02-25-2006, 11:53 AM
Having finally sorted out the mouse over image on my navigation menu bar on my home page, I now find the mouse over image I choose has disappeared and has been replaced by the default BV one.

All I did was to make one minor change to the page (without touching the nav bar!) and republish it.

I am certain this must be a bug in the software - my nav bars are all over the place over the site. I didn't have this problem with the last version! Can you take a look?

page to look at is www.limebrook.com/index.html (http://www.limebrook.com/index.html)

Thanks
Trish

Girlonthehill
02-25-2006, 12:00 PM
Yup. But it looks like just your index page. The forum button is OK Trish. It is very strange - all these probs you're having >:o( Sorry I can't suggest anything but re-doing the buttons. Maybe one of the guys will have a cure? Good luck.

limebrook1
02-25-2006, 12:30 PM
I hope they have an answer - I am tearing my hair out here! I'll look like Racefan soon!

navaldesign
02-25-2006, 12:52 PM
I hope they have an answer - I am tearing my hair out here! I'll look like Racefan soon!

Well actually Race now has hair (in his forum). He's confusing me. As your menu bar does. Can't understand why it does what it does. It has been doing something similar in my site, but with other images, i usually solved the problem re-publishing. But in your case it is becoming an attitude!

VodaHost
02-25-2006, 01:25 PM
Does the problem exist in preview mode?

limebrook1
02-25-2006, 06:16 PM
Just checked the index page in preview (not having touched a thing!) and the menu bar is perfect - all mouse over images as I want them! Not the case when published though.

I'll have to check out Race's hair!

racefan20
02-25-2006, 06:22 PM
Well actually Race now has hair (in his forum). He's confusing me.

That's a pic of Tony Stewart, bro. LOL

limebrook1
02-25-2006, 07:13 PM
Race - love your hair style. But can we concentrate on my problem in this forum please??

LOL

racefan20
02-25-2006, 07:42 PM
Race - love your hair style. But can we concentrate on my problem in this forum please??

LOL

Navaldesign started it!

limebrook1
02-25-2006, 07:50 PM
Children, children please! Play nicely!

VodaHost
02-25-2006, 08:20 PM
You probably have some type of code conflict, Log into file manager and delete the page from the server and republish it.

limebrook1
02-25-2006, 08:27 PM
I'll do that *****, thanks, but this problem is appearing on other pages on my site too. It seems to be when I update old pages. Could it be a code conflict between the different versions of BV? If so, do I need to delete and republish every page with this problem?

Cheers

VodaHost
02-25-2006, 11:48 PM
Yes, this is most likely a code conflict between version. You only need to update problematic pages.

alasdair
02-26-2006, 11:00 PM
I had exactly the same problem. Found the only cure was to delete nav bars, re-set thm and re-publish. Everything fine now.

VodaHost
02-27-2006, 06:47 PM
I had exactly the same problem. Found the only cure was to delete nav bars, re-set thm and re-publish. Everything fine now.

That will work every time!

uk01
03-06-2006, 01:33 PM
Sorry I still have problems with my naviguator bar. I can't change the appearance of the buttons in the "style property" . As soon as I go to "style property" everything is blocked and I have to use "Ctrl-Alt-Delete"
I checked my computer and I have 1,4 Go of space so I think that's not the problem. Everything is almost ready except that !! And If I can't resolve this problem, I can't publish and open my domain!!!

Can you help me? Thank you!!!

Other thing, I can't find my previous messages I sent on the Forum.

Girlonthehill
03-06-2006, 05:46 PM
Hi, don't know if you have the same propblem as me - because there are so many styles to choose from it takes quite a while for them to load up - try waiting for a little bit longer. Sorry if this doesn't help.

uk01
03-06-2006, 09:27 PM
Thank you for your help!! But even if I wait for longer, it doesn't work!! I don't understand the problem. Of course it's my first website I want to built but I did so many things relatively easily
I realy don't know how to resolve this problem with the navigation bar!!!
Can you tell me if there is another way to change the style of the button? Via another file etc....

Thank you!

navaldesign
03-06-2006, 10:26 PM
Thank you for your help!! But even if I wait for longer, it doesn't work!! I don't understand the problem. Of course it's my first website I want to built but I did so many things relatively easily
I realy don't know how to resolve this problem with the navigation bar!!!
Can you tell me if there is another way to change the style of the button? Via another file etc....

Thank you!

Another member who had the same problem has discovered it was a problem of computer resources: he had installed some program really "hungry" for memory. Check with task manager to see if this is your case too.

uk01
03-07-2006, 10:52 PM
Thank you for your help but I still have 1,4GO. I imagine it's enough for the navigation bar, no?
Regarding the manager task, what is it exactly? where I can find it? In the control panel? Sorry but I am French and the english vocabulary for the computer is not very familiar for me!!
Anyway, thank you very much, I hope you will find and resolve my problem!

navaldesign
03-08-2006, 06:23 AM
1,4 Gb of disk space (?) is really poor. It won't work with that. Windows XP (if this is your OS) will rarely function well if you have less than 8 - 9 Gb of disk space available. Seems quite impossible to me that you have only 1,4 Gd free on disk. Task Manager is a windows program wich comes with all windows versions. It pops up by pressing Ctrl+Alt+del only once. In the window that pops up you may monitor your applications, processes, and also Memory and Cpu usage. Try this to see the conditions of your system. If you have few memory, little disk space and / or high percentage of CPU usage, the Style editing of the nav bar may block your system.

uk01
03-08-2006, 03:23 PM
Thank you!
Yes, 1,4 go!! But my computer is 6 years old!!! So it's a lot of this kind of computer!
Nevertheless I m on Window XP.
If you think it's not enough to create a website, may be I have to transfer on my husband computer (he bought it last year) no???

Thank you for the explanation regarding the manager task. I'm going to try and I let you know.

uk01
03-08-2006, 03:41 PM
I tryed ctrl/alt/delete There is many programs but I haven't found monitor application, process, memory and CPU usage!


So I have been in the system (in Control panel) and they said my computer is programmed to maximise the performance and there is 53% of space free. That' s the only information I got!! Sorry!

limebrook1
03-08-2006, 08:22 PM
Can't believe this! Sorted out my home page (http://www.limebrook.com/index.html), all was well for a while, updated once, fine, updated twice, fine. Updated yesterday and the blue voda default nav buttons back on mouse over!

There MUST be a gremlin in the system. Is it only me?

Trish