PDA

View Full Version : Pub;Shananigans!



Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 05:14 AM
Good day.

I am working on a new site. I've published my new pages. They've all published successfully. Only when I go to view them - the text on the navigation buttons is mixed up. The wrong labels are appearing on nav buttons. I cleared my cache, my tracks, cookies. It is not a cache problem. I deleted the subdirectory and all its files in my CP. I then published my correct pages again. The same thing is happening.

I go to my new homepage for the first time. I navigate to another page then return to hompage - the button labels have changed! I have checked and double, and multi checked. Something is amiss. It is not just happening on one page either. I remember Alison (Cakes with a difference) having the same problem last week. Any idea how to correct this? PLEASE. URL - www.remembermydate.com (http://www.remembermydate.com)

navaldesign
03-13-2006, 06:35 AM
Hi Amanda, it looks ok to me. No button text changed when changing pages and coming back. Just two buttons in your home page having the same text: the second and the third one are both: Post a card.

for the rest it is quite ok. Beatiful site! I'd just adjust the banner to have the same wisth as the rest of the page. It is a bit wider than the rest.

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 06:41 AM
Hi Amanda, it looks ok to me. No button text changed when changing pages and coming back. Just two buttons in your home page having the same text: the second and the third one are both: Post a card.

for the rest it is quite ok. Beatiful site! I'd just adjust the banner to have the same wisth as the rest of the page. It is a bit wider than the rest.

Thank you G, Ok the nav bar with two buttons the same? - On my BV page - They are not like that. They are 110% correct. That duplication thing is indicative of the problem. You would have seen that the actual links (when hovering) are as they should be. Somehow the names on the buttons are getting mixed up. Honestly I have checked my original pages a million times - they are correct. I'm wondering whether there is a bug in the updated BV version. As I've mentioned earlier the problem wasn't even solved by deleting the subdomain directory and starting again.

navaldesign
03-13-2006, 06:49 AM
Would you mind sending me the original BV page? use http://www.navaldesign.info/feedback13.html

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 06:54 AM
Would you mind sending me the original BV page? use http://www.navaldesign.info/feedback13.html

Thank you. It's on its way. (Ignore the banner - I'm working on it.)

navaldesign
03-13-2006, 07:02 AM
Got it. I'll be back to you

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 07:09 AM
Got it. I'll be back to you

Thank you. Knock me down with a feather. I've changed the banner, as you suggested, re-published and it's perfect now!

I'm going to try the same with all the other pages. Fingers crossed G, that it was just a temporary ghost in the machine.

navaldesign
03-13-2006, 07:30 AM
I still get two identical buttons. I didn't find anything wrong in your page code, apart from a Paypal frame that, wen clicked, opens a popup with Paypal info. It is in a frame, and since BV doesn't support frames, could be the cause of the problem. Have a look at the Paypal code. The first part,

<!-- PayPal Logo --><table border="0" cellpadding="10" cellspacing="0" align="center"><tr><td align="center"></td></tr>
<tr><td align="center"><a href="#" onclick="javascript:window.open('https://www.paypal.com/uk/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/popup/OLCWhatIsPayPal-outside','olcwhatispaypal','toolbar=no, location=no, directories=no, status=no, menubar=no, scrollbars=yes, resizable=no, width=400, height=350');"><img src="https://www.paypal.com/en_GB/i/logo/PayPal_mark_180x113.gif" border="0" alt="Acceptance Mark"></a></td></tr></table><!-- PayPal Logo --><A href="<A href="https://www.paypal.com/uk/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/popup/OLCWhatIsPayPal-outside"><IMG">https://www.paypal.com/uk/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/popup/OLCWhatIsPayPal-outside"><IMG src="PayPal_mark_180x113.gif" alt="" align="top" border="0" width="180" height="113" style="position:absolute;left:729px;top:691px;width:180px ;height:113px;z-index:11"></A>

causes a Paypal Aceptance Mark. You can't see it because it is under your banner. In BV, take the banner off and preview: you will see it. Might be the source of the problem
Be back in 35 mins

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 07:36 AM
Thank you. Yes that acceptance mark thingy - it's on all my index pages (3 sites) but has never caused a problem before. I just ignore it. I've changed the banner on all my pages and republished. I'm going to test them. Fingers crossed. I'll report back in a few minutes.

navaldesign
03-13-2006, 07:39 AM
Now it's ok !!

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 07:49 AM
No it's not! I thought it was too, but I've just been back through and it's still happening. The top nav button on home page should read 'Samples' instead it says 'Home Page'. I've also adjusted the page width on every page to match the re-sized banner. All pages are showing the latest update time (bottom left) yet the page width still remains as the old pages. Naval - I'm getting balder by the minute. This is so strange. Thanks for your help - don't worry about it - you must have loads of your own stuff to do. Maybe ***** or Pablo will read this and offer a golden nugget of wisdom. Thanks again my friend. :o)

VodaHost
03-13-2006, 10:19 AM
You are having some type of conflict...Try the below....

1) Login to the server via BlueFTP and delete all traces of the page from your public_html.

2) Republish the page.

If the above does not work, redo the page.

Girlonthehill
03-13-2006, 06:06 PM
You are having some type of conflict...Try the below....

1) Login to the server via BlueFTP and delete all traces of the page from your public_html.

2) Republish the page.

If the above does not work, redo the page.

Oki doki. Thanks *****. I'll try that again. Also special thanks to Naval - for all your help :o)

Girlonthehill
03-14-2006, 05:17 PM
You are having some type of conflict...Try the below....

1) Login to the server via BlueFTP and delete all traces of the page from your public_html.

2) Republish the page.

If the above does not work, redo the page.

Hi ***** and Hi Naval (& Gandalf the Wizard if you can make it....) Lol.

Did 1) above. Left it for a full day before I created the sub-dir again.

Skipped 2) and tooki the opportunity to completely start from scratch and re-make new pages - 58 of them!

I have just published. It would seem that I am still encouintering a problem. Button names are not as published on all main pages except the home page. Also pages are showing at a different width than I set them.

What can I change to stop this happening? URL: www.remembermydate.com (http://www.remembermydate.com)

Thanks guys...

Girlonthehill
03-14-2006, 07:40 PM
Ok. I am acting on advice, from Naval, and trying an i-frame. This may solve the problem. I will report back - in case anyone else comes across this problem.....

Girlonthehill
03-14-2006, 09:19 PM
Hi. Naval - you have mail :o)

I'm so nearly there - I can almost taste it.....

Girlonthehill
03-14-2006, 10:37 PM
Hi. Naval - you have mail :o)

I'm so nearly there - I can almost taste it.....

Ok I've just search the forums and found this previous post of yours, Naval, where you give very thorough instructions for using an i-frame. Have followed these instructions and I'm still getting a error 404.

i-frame www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/nav_bar_frame.html (http://www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/nav_bar_frame.html)

practice page www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/2index.html (http://www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/2index.html)

Mmmmmmm. ?????????? I'm now properly stuck.

navaldesign
03-15-2006, 05:11 AM
Ok I've just search the forums and found this previous post of yours, Naval, where you give very thorough instructions for using an i-frame. Have followed these instructions and I'm still getting a error 404.

i-frame www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/nav_bar_frame.html (http://www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/nav_bar_frame.html)

practice page www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/2index.html (http://www.remembermydate.girlonthehill.co.uk/2index.html)

Mmmmmmm. ?????????? I'm now properly stuck.

Amanda, you have an https://.... in the frame link. Take it off. Se also

http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/2index.html and http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/menubar.html The mouse over doesn't work.(On purpose)

Girlonthehill
03-15-2006, 08:03 AM
Amanda, you have an https://.... in the frame link. Take it off. Se also

http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/2index.html and http://www.navaldesign.info/Amanda/menubar.html The mouse over doesn't work.(On purpose)

Thank you so much Naval! The 's' was a big problem - well spotted.
The i-frame has worked perfectly as you said it would.

IF ANYONE EXPERIENCES A SIMILAR PROBLEM - THIS LINK, BY SIR NAVALDESIGN, GIVES STEP-BY-STEP INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW TO USE I-FRAMES. THEY ROCK!

http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/bluevoda-tips-tricks-shortcuts/4528-menubar-i-frame.html?highlight=i-frames

Girlonthehill
03-16-2006, 05:19 AM
New site is up and running now. Thanks to Naval and the i-frames. (That's got the ring of a 60's rock band about it...)

Off to totally rehash site No.1. now with, guess what? Yeah you got it - i-frames! I'll be back.... but not on this thread ;o)