PDA

View Full Version : Can I import CSS into BlueVoda?



sarlea
10-08-2009, 11:46 AM
I have built a web page using Dreamweaver (trial version) and would like to import it into BlueVoda. Although I can import the HTML file, there seems to be no way of importing the CSS file so that I can use BlueVoda correctly, i.e. as a WYSIWYG editor. Is it at all possible?

Thanks

Collectors-info
10-08-2009, 12:32 PM
Place the CSS file in the "Between the head tag" of your BV page under "Page properties"
Either by direct css link to the css file on your server or placing the whole file's content in the head area of each page.

sarlea
10-08-2009, 02:21 PM
I guess you mean the "Page HTML" rather than "Page Properties". I included a link to my CSS file, but there seems to be a lot more other stuff that BlueVoda strips out of the HTML related to the CSS.

Since I'm developing the web site for a university assignment (where I have to code the HTML and CSS) I guess I'll have to bite the bullet and stick with Dreamweaver, though I've used BlueVoda in the past and found it easier to use.

navaldesign
10-09-2009, 10:21 AM
You can lik your css file or add the entire css code in Between Head of the page HTML of each page as Chris suggested.
Then you can add, in each element's HTML, Inside Tag, the class of the element.

The only thing that you can't control this way is the page background color and centering, and that's because BV adds them AFTER your css reference so they are overwritten by BV's settings.

jimchicago
10-13-2009, 07:05 PM
I'm trying to use this CSS Image Gallery script (from DynamicDrive) on a BV page:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/csslibrary/item/css-image-gallery/#thumb
(note that the page doesn't include instructions for exactly how to implement the script)

I see (on the page linked above) that I need to pick up some CSS code and then some HTML code. But because I've never "done CSS" in BV or any other web design program, I'm confused:

- Do I need to create a CSS file in order to use this script? If so, how do I do that?

- Do I need to create the thumbnail of each larger image I want to display via this script?

- If I put the CSS code in the "Between Head Tag" section of BV's "Page HTML" window (as the earlier posts here seem to indicate), in which section do I put the HTML code?

- Do I need to create "an absolutely positioned container holding the enlarged image, anchored on the page by another container with position set to relative"?

Hope I'm not asking too much here. Thank you.

navaldesign
10-13-2009, 08:08 PM
Simply copy the css code in your page HTML, Between Head section.

Drag a HTML box in your page and paste the HTML code after you have changed the images paths to point to your own images.

jimchicago
10-13-2009, 09:58 PM
OK, good, but I'm still wondering if I have to create a thumbnail for each image and upload them to the site's directory (along with the .jpeg of the full-size image to be shown).

Looking at the HTML code for the first photo in the gallery that's used as an example on dynamicdrive.com, my guess is that I not only have to create the thumbnail, but enter its width and height in the code. Here is that code for the first picture:

<a class="thumbnail" href="#thumb"><img src="media/tree_thumb.jpg" width="100px" height="66px" border="0" /><span><img src="media/tree.jpg" />

What do you think? Also, it doesn't seem like this code really specifies a "path" for the image (as you mentioned). That's why I assume it will work as long as the images are uploaded to the right directory in my File Manager. True?

navaldesign
10-13-2009, 10:09 PM
You don't need to create thumbs, the script resizes them (just as BV does, by assigning a smaller size)

Please note that the script assumes that the images aspect ratio is 100/66 (WxH)

The path as is is media/imagename.jpg :

<a class="thumbnail" href="#thumb"><img src="media/tree_thumb.jpg" width="100px" height="66px" border="0" /><span><img src="media/tree.jpg" />


If the images are in the same folder it should be simply:
<img src="imagename.jpg" (in both locations in the same line)

jimchicago
10-14-2009, 06:47 AM
Thanks again, Naval! I've made some progress, but as you can see at this page, only the first and third of my four images in the gallery are showing. The full-size dimensions of the last three images there are 600x400, and the code looks identical for each image, so I can't imagine why the second and fourth ones won't appear:
http://www.joiedesfleurs.com/index3.html

But I bet you can tell me . . . :)

jimchicago
10-14-2009, 06:58 AM
Never mind, I just figured out what was wrong: I had uploaded the images to the wrong folder in File Manager. D'oh! Thanks again for all your help, Naval.

JillianH
11-11-2009, 02:02 AM
Following with above type questions. Please help me in the how to. My website is a real estate site http://www.bahamahomes.info. I need to add/import the listing pages created through Jade Property Suite, a real estate software, to my already existing website created in BV. I successfully uploaded the files to my acct on the server.
But now the question is HOW do I link the "Listings" page (through the SEARCH button on my index page) to the listing page/s in my server's acct.
I checked the "Listings" page, page source and this is what it says:
after <meta.....
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="jade_category.css"/>
<title>listings</title>
Will greatly appreciate your comments/help