PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a good iFrame example



JDN
04-11-2010, 01:19 PM
Hello BV experts,

I used to make several web sites in Frontpage earlier, but now I found Bluevoda and I'm impressed !

There's one thing however I can't find out how to do this in BV, and that is how to use frames.

What I want for example is a button menu on the left of the screen, that is always visible. When the user clicks a button, the page should be loaded into the frame that is right beside the buttons.
Of course I can put the button menu on every page in my web site, but I don't want the menu disappear when the user clicks a button.

I've read a lot of documentation and I've seen several tutorial videos about BV (including the iFrame tutorial), but I haven't seen an example of how to make an always visible menu. All examples show a button menu that disappears when you click a button, that is recreated on the new page that is loaded.

Can anyone please help me with this issue?

Thanks,
JDN

DarrenC
04-11-2010, 05:32 PM
Here is an example http://www.imperialrfc.org.uk/player_profiles.php

Click on the players names. the only thing that changes is the content in the IFrame

JDN
04-12-2010, 08:02 AM
Darren,I can see this works, nice result. But how can you set this up in BV? I cannot find a good tutorial how to do this.JDN

DarrenC
04-12-2010, 11:22 AM
I don't think there is a specific BV tutorial for this topic, but Iframes have been discussed here many times here.

I found this thread for you where David is illustrating thumbnail links, where as my example is text links, doesn't matter, same principle.

http://www.vodahost.com/vodatalk/general-support-issues/55485-iframe-inline-frames-dummies.html

I hope it helps

Syllied
04-13-2010, 06:29 AM
Here is another example http://www.sadada.com/wedding/kyla_girls.html . yeah it is the same principle as in the thread giving above by DarrenC. My only other advice would be to make the iframe and the pages that are to be shown in it, the same size and thus prevent the user from scrolling which can be quite annoying.

zuriatman
04-13-2010, 07:58 AM
You can also use your std page. Save it as a template.

Open the template when you want to create a new page
with all the headers and menu including the links intact.

JDN
04-13-2010, 06:12 PM
I did the trick.

Thanks all for the feedback.

JDN