PDA

View Full Version : Moving Subdomain to its own URL?



Eides
06-01-2010, 07:33 PM
Hi!

I just opened a new hosting account with VodaHost. The URL is www.bptradeshow.com - the temportary Webpage URL is: http://75.126.104.139/~bptrades/.

I also have another website: www.benefitplace.biz hosted by VodaHost. I want to move the pages on the subdomian: www.benefitplace.biz/tradeshow.php to the new website: www.bptradeshow.com.

How do I most efficiently do this?

Please help!

Thanks, Phil

Marincky
06-01-2010, 11:35 PM
Firstly, you didn't need to purchase a new account but.. too late now...

You can host as many sites as you like on one account as long as they belong to you.

Just republish the site to the new domain, make sure all the links point to the new domain pages too then delete the old pages off the server so you don't have a duplicate site,

Eides
06-02-2010, 12:51 AM
Thanks for the Input! However I am new to this process!

When you say to "Just republish the site to the new domain", I have questions.

First - I was given a "Temporary Webpage URL". Should I wait to publish & how will I know when www.bptradeshow.com is up and running?

Second - Do I publish page by page - I have about 80 pages in this domain.

Third - When I go to the "Publish Web Page" box, Do I replace and enter the
New Server IP, Username & Password? Do I leave the Folder as"public_html and the Files: "Publish all Files"?

Last - Is there anything else I should know?

Thanks

Phil

Marincky
06-02-2010, 12:55 AM
Thanks for the Input! However I am new to this process!

When you say to "Just republish the site to the new domain", I have questions.

First - I was given a "Temporary Webpage URL". Should I wait to publish & how will I know when www.bptradeshow.com is up and running?

It looks like this domain is ready to publish to. So when your site is ready publish it using the details given to you in your welcome email. Ensure your home page is entitled index all lower case.

Second - Do I publish page by page - I have about 80 pages in this domain.

Yes

Third - When I go to the "Publish Web Page" box, Do I replace and enter the
New Server IP, Username & Password? Do I leave the Folder as"public_html and the Files: "Publish all Files"?

YES

Last - Is there anything else I should know?

That England are very unlikely to win the World cup? I dunno.. what else would you like to know.. ask away : - )

Thanks

Phil

You're welcome.

Eides
06-02-2010, 07:28 PM
I'm Back!

When I attempted to publish the 1st of the www.benefitplace.biz pages to www.bptradeshow.com the "Publish Web Page" box drop down does not have the code that VodaHost sent to me for the domain: 75.126.104.139 and does not allow me to type in the new code?

What is my next move?

Thanks,

Phil

Marincky
06-02-2010, 07:34 PM
Download the latest version (http://www.vodasupport.com/index.php?_m=downloads&_a=viewdownload&downloaditemid=1) of the builder

DarrenC
06-02-2010, 07:35 PM
I'm Back!

When I attempted to publish the 1st of the www.benefitplace.biz (http://www.benefitplace.biz) pages to www.bptradeshow.com (http://www.bptradeshow.com) the "Publish Web Page" box drop down does not have the code that VodaHost sent to me for the domain: 75.126.104.139 and does not allow me to type in the new code?

What is my next move?

Thanks,

Phil


Download a fresh copy of BV. It will be updated to include all the current IP addresses.

Marincky
06-02-2010, 07:36 PM
You're too slow Darren ; - )

DarrenC
06-02-2010, 07:39 PM
You're too slow Darren ; - )

Hahaha I know Master

Regards
Grasshopper

Eides
06-02-2010, 07:52 PM
You're Both Quick!

Where do I go to find the download for the new version?

Thanks Again!

Phil

Marincky
06-02-2010, 07:52 PM
I gave you the link in my post above ; - )